We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location in Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Location in Portsmouth”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is fairly new and located downtown within walking distance of city shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom was huge. The hotel is very busy on weekends..lots of weddings and tourists. Parking is in the gated, open lot across the street and is 75 cents an hour to a max of $18 per day....pay by credit card only to exit. The lot was nearly full when we arrived. We had to call the front desk so the gate could be raised to let us in. Breakfast is very good but was very crowded on Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlingerlandsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    143
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
147
184
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spokane, washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

While traveling through New England with our elderly in-laws, we stayed at Residence Inns and were really pleased. This property seemed a little expensive but we had had great experiences at other Residence Inn's so we stayed. This is a good hotel for people traveling together because you can pay less for a one bedroom suite than reserving 2 rooms, and still have some privacy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1witchywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for all kinds of downtown Portsmouth activities. We went here for a girls weekend. We parked the car and were able to walk to many restaurants, shops, museums, art galleries and even the spa! The rooms are nice, clean and have everything you need. The breakfast the next morning was crowded, but quite adequate. The rates were good too. The location of this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: One side overlooks the harbor from high rooms, the other overlooks a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at his hotel on a Friday night with my 2 young daughters. Requested a quiet room as I had read reviews that this hotel can be noisy. I was woken at midnight by drunken wedding guests running up and down the halls. Was then kept up for hours by noise-- wedding guests were out on the sidewalk yelling. We were on the 4th floor with the windows closed and it was that noisy. You can also hear people talking through the room vents. This hotel allows dogs so be careful if you are sensitive to barking etc. the hotel staff tried to keep these guests quiet but it didn't work. At 1 pt the police were called as a wedding guest was trying to get into a rm that wasn't his. The rooms are really nice and the location is great. But you need to be prepared that this hotel has lots of
lweddings, parties etc. staff apologetic but that's about all. We'll stay at the Hilton next time. Just as nice and quiet!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecaptiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just stayed at the Residence Inn for a family wedding that was taking place at the North Church, and then the venu which was attached to the hotel. The hotel was amazing in every way. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was way better than a standared bagel and oatmeal breakfast, with hot foods. Just what you need after a long night. The staff at the front desk was wonderful and there was even fresh baked cookies there each afternoon. The lobby bar made for a great space for a nightcap with the family, and had a nice relaxing feeling. The Rooms... BEAUTIFUL. They were beyond clean, and each had a wonderful kitchen. The kitchens were stocked with all the needs, including a wine opener, which was a must. The bathrooms were large, and the showers were spotless. I called housekeeping to request some towels, as the groomsmen were usuing my room to get dressed for the wedding in. Not only did I recieve clean towels, but shampos and other things as well. The bed was made fresh, and it was very comfortable. As I work in a luxury hotel myself, I know what kind of hard work goes into a resort. What amazed me was that the housekeeping staff, Rebecca, left a personal note wishing us well and to let her know if we needed anythying. It is the small things like that, which can really make your stay wonderful. The wedding went amazing, and it was nice to only have to walk next door for the event. I highly reccomed this hotel to anybody looking for an amazing relazing weekend.

Room Tip: Bring lots of snacks, as there is an amazing kitchen in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight. It was perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was informative and welcoming. Restaurants and shops were within walking distance in this quaint town. The free breakfast buffet offered by the hotel was a great way to start the day and offered both hearty breakfast items as well as low fat items. Be prepared to pay for parking unless you are lucky to get one of the free parking places found on the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Residence Inn in downtown Portsmouth. The reviews were right! The staff at this hotel is fantastic in every way. Sarah gave us a warm greeting and helped us get oriented. Matt poured great drinks in the Lobby Bar. Our room was spacious and well appointed. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TednSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing