We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Studio Suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding Studio Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is one of the best studio suite of all the Marriott i have ever stayed before. Overall, it is impecablly clean, rooms are very cozy and roomy, friendly staff, and the best part is that they have FREE breakfast, FREE happy hours food, and FREE internet in your room. It is also centrally located with walking distant to shops and restaurants. The front desk staff is also outstanding and I must mention that the person who attend the Breakfast room is also extremely attendtive...outstanding service. Only one bad thing is that they have limited cable channels (no food TV network channel). But I will stay here again!

Room Tip: all rooms are the same, a studio suite equipped with full size fridge, dish washing machine and stov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedynikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    139
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
144
179
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at this hotel in late December 2011, to rejuvenate after a busy Christmas season.

The rooms are HUGE and very well-appointed. Also exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Fantastic bed and linen, beautiful large windows, everything you could possibly need in the kitchen area and a modern, well-decorated and functioning bath.

It was very quiet at night, and we slept well.

We walked the Portsmouth downtown while there (twice), went into many quaint shops, and enjoyed several local restaurants (great seafood!) It also has easy access to the beach and to Kittery, Maine, for lots of outlet shopping.

The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They are pleased to welcome pets! (Treats!) They have warm, fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon! There are appetizers set out in the front lounge area in the evenings (on weekdays, I believe), and a VERY well-planned and stocked breakfast. It is a FULL breakfast-hot and cold; eggs, sausage or bacon, make-your-own waffles, bagels, danish, fruit cups, yogurt, oatmeal, cereals, juices... All with plenty available and followed by AMAZING coffee!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone-there were older folks there, families with young children and couples like us with dogs in tow.

We will stay there again for a relaxing and fun time on the New Hampshire seacoast!

Room Tip: I always choose a higher floor and a room away from the elevator and this worked well in this situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONGOLDENPOND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury,CT
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

!This was our 3rd stay at this Residence inn. When visiting Portsmouth in the 
past, we have chosen the Wentworth for it's views but this Marriott offers a perfectly situated option with spacious and very reasonably priced studios and suites. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms and furnishings are in excellent shape. The hotel is decorated in beautiful bright shades of blue and green complimented by photos of notable sights around town. 
The one bedroom suites offer a separate bedroom, apartment sized cooking facilities, micro, fridge, dishwasher. I could easily spend a week here! They are well laid out, cheery with ALOT of space. Views are city..there might be some river/ water views on one side of the building but nothing great.
Included in the  room price is a hot breakfast including scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage,  and assorted breads, bagels and muffins. There is a 24 hr coffee station.
Parking is offered in the public lot across the street at $ 0.75/ hr or metered street parking. 
Portsmouth is a pretty walkable city in the downtown area and this hotel is a great location to work from. many restaurants and shops are located nearby . Great choice for a great location in Portsmouth!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I was a bit hesitant at first to book this hotel because it was so much more expensive than the suburban Courtyard and Residence Inn. I wanted to be within walking distance to the downtown area so I decided to book two rooms for my family. The property is very sleek and modern. The front desk people were friendly and helpful. One of my rooms smelled a bit like cigarette smoke but the other room was fine. The rooms were clean, spacious and well decorated. We had a drink at the bar and found the place to be warm despite the large space. The breakfast the next morning was definitely satisfying and the eating area quite beautiful. The hotel was just off the city square and only a three minute walk to all of the shops. It was an easy drive to the Kittery Outlets. The only thing I did no like was the paid parking across the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Location is in walking distance to all the shops; plus it is easy access to I-95. The decor was wonderfully decorated to the environment. Lovely blue/green hues to reflect the waterside that is nearby. Will return to this property without a doubt! Book a stay; you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmuch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Room included kitchenette. Bed was very firm, loved it. Bathroom was large and clean. The room overall was very clean, it's a newer property and it shows. Very good experience. Breakfast is included and served buffet style. Good selection of healthier items such as wheat muffins, oatmeal and cereal. They also serve eggs, potatoes, bacon and waffles. Once a week there is a free happy hour in the lobby. The staff members are very friendly. Check-in and out was super-fast. The location is great, you can walk to all the downtown shops and restaurants. Parking is $12 a day in the lot adjacent to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again. I stayed five nights.

Room Tip: I selected a room on a higher floor facing the rear of the building to avoid street noises but the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlsruhe_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

The friendly welcome at this smart hotel makes you feel right at home and our suite was very spacious and well equipped with a kitchen area, lounge, bedroom and large clean bathroom. We even had two large flat screen televisions! The location is also ideal for exploring Portsmouth with the town centre and harbour only several minutes walk away. Parking is also easy with a pay car park opposite the hotel entrance. The public rooms were spacious and comfortable and the buffet breakfast facilities and choice were good. We will definitely stay here again if we re-visit Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing