We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel with outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel with outstanding service”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This conveniently located hotel just steps from Market Street and the main bustle of the town was a wonderful find. Upon arrival, we were granted a room three hours earlier than check in time and received warm baked chocolate cookies. Parking was adjacent to the hotel in a municipal lot that was very reasonable for a 24 hour stay. Complimentary breakfast was plentiful and the dining area was very relaxing with oversized chairs and windows looking out at the Portsmouth bridge. Room was above average with crips white sheets and a comfortable king sized bed. Bathroom was oversized and all amenities were brand new. Sitting area in room was pleasing with 2 t.v.s in the room

A must stay when in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Request Bridge side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooneSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    145
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
148
188
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were so pleasantly surprised by the room at this hotel. We spent just one night and wished we were staying longer. The bed was so comfortable. We had everything we needed. The front desk staff was wonderful, friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We recently stayed at this downtown location to attend a wedding nearby. The hotel looks and feels brand new. The lobby was beautiful and the front desk service was super friendly and very efficient. The room was as outstanding as the lobby. Modern, clean and well appointed.
The thing that stood out was the service and the friendliness of all of the staff. It started the minute we checked in at the front desk and every time we happened upon a hotel employee we were greeted with a smile and they were always very courteous. Excellent staff!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredspwds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Everything about this hotel was A1 and a very accomodating staff. The breakfast was excellent for what one would expect at these kind of buffets.
My only qualm was the water pressure. They had those water savers in the faucet and it restricted the flow terribly. Hard to even rinse one's toothbrush. Otherwise, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinlady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Me and My Husband arrived on a Friday night staying for two days. (We ended up checking out Saturday afternoon). Let me start off with the nice things, the ouside of this hotel was very nice. We both loved that it had a kitchen even thought there was no stove. The water pressure however was very low, it made it kind of difficult to wash the dishes very good. One of the pans that i took out to use was not washed very good, i believe the person before us must have made spaghetti. I was very dissapointed that this was a new hotel and they didn't have a hot tub. oh and let me not leave out the most annoying thing that happened to us during our stay. Around 430am the alarm clock started going off. I got so scared, i was thinking it might have been the person before us but wouldn't they have had to turn it off? It made me think that someone purposely did it. Thanks for waking me up at 430am Residence Inn. I heard knocking on doors around noon as if someone was going around knocking on ever single door. Turns out it was a housekeeping Manager, even though its noon i don't think the noise should be too loud. Is this hotel a waterfront? I didn't see anything that would make it a waterfront. Outside my windows i seen buildings and parking lots. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone i know. i have stayed at the Hillton which is right next to the Residence Inn and i would recommend them instead. Their staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysFamily1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with all of your feedback. We are continuously looking for ways to proactively improve the experiences that our guests have here. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconveniences you encountered with regards to the guest room kitchen and water pressure. As a LEED certified hotel, the property was built with many water saving features and although they are great for the environment, they are not always the most user friendly ie. The sink aerators. We are currently looking in to an alternative that will be more user friendly as well as earth friendly. We were especially disheartened to hear that you were woken up by the alarm clock at 4:30am. The housekeepers should be checking them upon check out to make sure the alarm is deactivated. We will definitely make this a priority training topic in our daily meetings. Unfortunately, the Housekeeping Manager knocking on doors at noon time could not be avoided as it is that person’s responsibility to make sure rooms are vacant at checkout time. Again, we are terribly sorry about any inconveniences this caused you. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please contact me directly if you are ever returning to the area and I will personally ensure that your experience is above and beyond your expectations. Thanks again for all of your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jay Finney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and it was fantastic. We stayed in a king suite and the room was great... Nice little kitchen area, full size refrigerator, dishwasher... Pull-out couch... Flat screen TV...

Things got a little rowdy in one of the rooms down the hall from us on Saturday night, but the staff took care of it.

Location was perfect for wandering into Downtown Portsmouth for food/drinks/shopping... Also a short drive to the Kittery Outlet Stores.

If you need a good laugh, head to the pool and read rule #4! :) (If management is reading this... you REALLY need to put up a new pool rules sign and have someone proofread it this time).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Just stayed two nights for the UNH Spring Football game and had a wonderful time. The location in downtown near all of the dining is what makes this hotel. Plus all the conveniences of the Residence Inn brand. My only worry was the $15 per day parking rate. This is actually a pay by hour street level lot which maxes out at $15 per parking stay. Lobby & breakfast area was very upscale. All staff we met were very friendly & helpful!!!! Will definitely return......so long as I get a good rate!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing