We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty”

The River House Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The River House is located along the scenic Piscataqua River. We offer indoor seating and a variety of outdoor seating including a cocktail deck, all with excellent views of Portsmouth's busy waterway. Our menu includes of a variety of classic dishes from land and sea including our award winning seafood chowder. Our scenic views, friendly service and local cuisine are a "Cant Miss" for Portsmouth, NH.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lunched at The River House on Oct. 19. Ate outside on the deck, where the heaters were good and not
too hot. The Seafood Chowder is indeed first class. We had two lobster rolls and one fish & chips,
all really good. Excellent service.
Only odd thing is the view of the city's huge salt/sand pile on the river. Nice view if you
look down the river in the other direction.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    326
    117
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The River House owner and service staff were exceptional. The chowder (chowdah) was wonderful. The Price was extremely reasonalble for dinner. My wife was riding her scooter due to MS. The owner opened an additional door and then placed a temporary ramp from the sidewalk to the door. This was very acommodating and has made me want to go back the next time we are in the beautiful Harbor City of Portsmouth, NH

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KBerkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We decided to eat here after walking up and down Bow Street reading menus posted in windows and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed a local tap beer and the seafood chowder, which was amazing. The lobster roll was fantastic. I wish I did not live so far away!!! On top of it all, our waitress was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife took her parents, who were visiting from the Midwest, to the River House recently. My wife and I now live in the area and we have gone to the River House a few times before, and she loved it, so she figured it would be a nice place to take her family. Each previous visit, she has ordered the broiled haddock sandwich and enjoyed it. She ordered the same thing this time around, but when it was brought out, she noticed a terrible smell. Unsure what the smell was, she took a bite of the sandwich and it tasted rotten. Her family all took a whiff, and noticed the same thing. Obviously, this does not create a good experience, but these things happen. What made it a terrible experience for her was the treatment she received afterward. My wife, who has never in her life returned a food item, called the waitress over. The waitress then proceeded to grab the manager on duty. He then spoke to the chef, who swore up and down the fish had to be fresh and that it must be my wife who was in the wrong. The manager on duty then relayed this message to my wife. He treated her as though she must not know how fish is prepared. He asked what the fish tasted like, and not wanting to create a scene, she tried to say quietly that it tasted "rank." She chose the term rank because she thought it seemed far more diplomatic than "like a dead mouse," which was her initial comparison. Seemingly unsatisfied, the manager on duty and waitress begrudgingly took her order for a salad, which was included on the bill, to replace the sandwhich she could not eat. They did take the sandwich off the bill, but they made it out be somewhat of a big deal. The wait staff checked on her repeatedly afterward, which is nice, but made her feel incredibly uncomfortable in the way they do so, as though she was a difficult customer. It was, after all, just a salad at that point. The whole situation made her feel like she was a demanding, difficult person for returning an item that was obviously not fresh. She is the least difficult and demanding person I have met, so to make her feel this way says something about the "service" she received. In my opinion, this is not the first tWe had liked to go here in the past, but this experience, combined with some previous treatment has convinced me that we will never go here again. We are young, but we are not sloppy, rude or second-class citizens. To be treated as such is insulting. There are plenty of great restaurants in Portsmouth. I won't waste my time here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejay1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always Good at The River House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We eat here quite often. The Riverhouse is always reliable and has good basic New England food and reasonable prices. It's our staple in Portsmouth....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlygoodnewsonfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing