We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service, our go-to for sushi.”
Review of Shio

Shio
Ranked #55 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent food, excellent service, our go-to for sushi.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our go-to sushi place on the Seacoast. I can only comment on the sushi -- we haven't ordered anything else -- but after at least a dozen dinners, Shio holds the crown. The sushi is fresh and consistent. The specials are amazing. I would recommend a reservation on busy nights, but the wait is usually under 30 minutes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnp442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    35
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
327 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Really good sushi”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch on a Friday afternoon. The place was starting to get busy. They have really good lunch specials. I got 2 spicy tuna rolls and they were the best I have ever had. Better than Haru in Boston, which I thought to be very good. The tuna shashimi was amzing. I would have paid double for sushi this good. I had to ask for extra ginger. The service was great. I could see how this place would be very busy on weekends. It's in a plaza, so parking is free and easy. If you are thinking about checking this place, you should... You won't be let down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbum1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“still the best japanese restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

For the last few years we visit Shio on a regular basis. Quality is always very consistent and high. Service is extremely friendly and helpfull. Shio just has the best fish in the region.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sreviewnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sushi for 2”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After hearing about Shio on New Hampshire Chronicle this summer I couldn’t wait to try it out. This past weekend was my first visit to Shio and I can assure you it wont be the last.

The restaurant was pretty busy when we got there (it was 6:30 on a Friday night, next time I would make reservations) but we were quickly helped and seated at the sushi bar. The sushi bar was actually pretty cool to sit and my boyfriend and I were both pretty interested in watching the various techniques to the sushi making process. We ordered the Sushi for 2 and it was excellent a nice assortment of 18 pieces of sushi and two rolls. I’m not sure what kind of rolls came with out plate but they were delicious. I would have eaten a plate full of just those.

The servers we very friendly and attentive. The restaurant had a really nice atmosphere. I will without a doubt go back and have already told some of my friends and family that they need to try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crs00602958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tempura was excellent”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were on a road trip and driving by the restaurant around 2 p.m. so we decided to check it out. It looked nice and clean so, ok, in we went. The service is excellent: very courteous and extremely attentive. My shrimp and vegetable tempura arrived and it was very good, crispy and light. The vegetables consisted of broccoli, carrot and zucchini. I did not taste the sushi which looked very colorful and fresh, but my family liked what they ordered. The price range seemed very reasonable. Parking is easy because it's in a mall. Easy access for disabled people. Bathroom spotless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancineMiddlecozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shio also viewed

 
Newington, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Shio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing