We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”
Review of Cava

Cava
Ranked #14 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cava is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Just a brief walk from the Portsmouth Parking Garage and the Ladd street access. We are located in the middle of quaint Commercial Alley. The walking alley way is home to several small businesses and Cava's Vertical Garden. Dine under the Northeasts only outdoor living wall. Cava is the dream of two long time friends John Akar and Gregg Sessler. Together they combined their years of experience in the restaurant business to build Cava. Featuring two wine bars, one on the street level, and one in our Wine Cave. John offers a diverse always changing selection of international wines to be paired with Chef Sessler's modern and classic Mediterranean cuisine. Chef Sessler uses only the freshest seasonal products available to create his innovative menus. Join Chef Sessler and his team at the Chef's Table for dinner and a show. *Cava accepts reservations for parties of 4 or more for our dining tables. *Cava accepts reservations for parties of 4 and under at our Chefs Table.*If you are a party under four people and are not interested in the Chef's Table, all seating is based on a first come first serve basis.*During Restaurant Week Cava will accept reservations for all seating, including our bar seating, for parties of two or more.*For Valentine's Day and New Years Eve, Cava will be accepting reservations for all seating, including our bar seating, for parties of two or more.*It is always a good idea if you are a party of four or more, or if you would like to sit at the Chef's Table to make a reservation in advance Cava.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had read reviews from tripadvisor and were looking forward to meal. We order set meal from menu which was 7 entrees. Each one got better They had great imagination and taste. We would go back in a heart beat Make sure you try and get the chef's table I would have loved to see how he made some of the dishes, One of the best meals we have ever had

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    70
    32
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All compliments, but, I left hungry, $100 later.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service is superb. The flavor of the food is divine. We ate inside both times we dined here, once downstairs, once upstairs. Downstairs was a little less loud, which I preferred, but upstairs has an attractive vibrant energy. They accommodated my gluten free need seamlessly. We ordered the fix priced tasting menu both times, and just let them bring the food without us having to make decisions. It's a lovely way to eat here. Two of us, one cocktail, and price fixed dinner for two, and it was $100. No wine. And, I left hungry. I will go back again because my husband just swoons with every little course. But, I may bring a snack in the car for the ride home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C-girl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Their European-feel terrace is a great spot for a glass of wine and an appetizer for 2.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to enjoy a glass of wine with an appetizer. Portions are small so it is a nice place to try appetizers or dessert. The terrace is located in a small alleyway making it feel like you are at a European restaurant. Great for a couple or party of 4. I would definitely go back to enjoy the outdoor terrace on a nice evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Need some larger plates”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Food and service at Cava was excellent. Our group all felt that we needed an opportunity to each have a full serving of food AND the tapas plates. The food was so good but we really needed more, and the prices prevented us from ordering what would really have sated us

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAFSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We left hungry...”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I did not share the same degree of enthusiasm for Cava as prior reviewers. I get that it is a tapas restaurant, but it was expensive and the portions were extremely small. Dinner was about $250 for three people, with one bottle of wine ($30 range) and one glass of port. My husband and 17 year old son left hungry. The food was tasty, but the overall experience was disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cava also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Cava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing