We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Long-ish Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable Long-ish Stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had almost a week to spend in Portsmouth at a technical event, so I knew choosing where I stayed would be a little more important than the usual one or two night stint. Overall, this place was a really good choice, and I would recommend it to just about any traveler (until something much better comes along).

The room itself was nice. I had a room overlooking the interior circle, so nothing special, but not too bad either. Staff were really nice and put forth a genuine interest in how my day was going. I had only two issues during the whole stay. Twice, my key stopped opening my room. Big deal--I had to call the front desk, and they were up promptly. The other issue involved the valet: there was an automated service to call for your car, and it was a bit sporadic. If you choose to valet, just call the desk and they'll take better care of you than the phone system will.

In particular, two ladies at the club level made an outstanding impression on me: Christine and Rachel were both stars at making people feel welcome. If I had more TripAdvisor pins, I would have given out two here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Lawrence H,

Thank you so much for your review and for recognizing our Sheraton Club staff for their exceptional service. We are sorry the texting service didn't work as planned while you were here. It is a relatively new system for us, so we are still working out the kinks.

We do hope you'll be back soon and thank you again for your comments.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    359
    180
    59
    38
See reviews for
280
421
34
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

just completed a one night stay here and that was hard to come by as the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Persistence paid off as did points as they were getting $379/night here. Not surprising given how full the town was, but this property, while better than expected, is not a nearly $400/night property.

It is, however, a hard to find one. Use the hotel's address and not what Google Maps throws up, otherwise you'll be driving in circles. Once we got there and parked (valet, $18, we just wanted to be done with driving. Self park is $15), we didn't touch the car until we left. They're one of an increasing number of properties where you can text for your car, and it was ready by the time we checked out. It's the perfect location for exploring downtown as you're a quick walk to Congress Street and Market Square.

Check in went smoothly and our room was nice. No train noises to contend with and the bathroom was nice. Loved the makeup mirror. Staff was good and the restaurant served a good breakfast. It & Riverwatch Lounge had nice views of the bridges to Maine. The hotel was a little crowded and chaotic due to a wedding, but we weren't really bothered by them. Fitness center is small but in good order and pool looked to be good. Odd quirk that they don't have vending machines for drinks in the ice rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors. There is, however, a small shop adjacent to the front desk with snacks.

PSA: The main (brick) building has only two elevators serving it and only one of which goes to the club level. If you're able bodied and not laden down with suitcases, take the steps.

I'd stay here or one of the other chains (Hilton Garden Inn, Courtyard by Marriott) right downtown if I came back to Portsmouth, but I wouldn't pay the peak rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Carinanne C,

Thank you so much for your comments. We're so sorry that you had difficulty finding the place. With our address on Market Street and our entrance being on Russell Street, we can certainly understand the confusion. We are happy to hear that overall your visit was a positive one and that you would come back to see us.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We came to attend a family wedding and EVERYONE was staying here. So, we booked 3 rooms, one for us/separate rooms for our adult kids.

6:15pm Friday check-in was nightmare. Already running late for 6:15 rehearsal dinner which I told clerk at check in. Got to rooms to discover we received passkeys to only 2 rooms. Called down and were told someone would be up right away. After 15 minutes, my husband bounced down stairwell to retrieve keys. He returned five minutes later and we’re in our room. Ten minutes later clerk arrives with keys to our room! Absolutely clueless front desk operations.

Valet? As we unloaded car we contemplated using valet when a valet jumped into car next to us and turned key on already running engine. Loud metal grinding noise determined our decision: no.

Room:
- Towels: thin, cheap low quality.
- Phone: filthy, circa 2005?
- Dust under glass sheeting covering desk is disgusting. Removing heavy glass sheeting and thoroughly cleaning should be part of monthly “special” cleaning. Appears glass underside has not been cleaned in months/years.

Restaurant: Only visited for breakfast. Should be presented as buffet only. Too short-staffed to handle off-the-menu orders.

Never again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Katie_MV,

We are truly sorry to hear that you were so disappointed by your visit. We care deeply about the feedback we receive from our guests and always strive to provide them with the best possible service before, during and after their stay. We would love to speak to you more about your concerns if you have the time. If you would be willing to email us directly, please contact hstradling@sheratonportsmouth.com. Hopi is our Director of Operations and would love to speak to you more about your visit.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster Park, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The staff at the Sheraton are all fabulous! They are so accommodating. They are all eager to meet your every need. From the front desk, to the housekeeping, to the parking attendants, they were all wonderful. They went above and beyond. This is the fourth time we visited this hotel and we have always had this same great experience. In particular I would like to mention Inki and Vivian. They work on the Sheraton Club floor and they made us feel right at home. They remembered us from past visits and made us feel like we must come back again to see them. There were many other staff members who helped us and were very gracious. Some of them were Melody, Linnus and Grayson.

Room Tip: Ask for harborview and the club floor has bigger rooms. Club floor is more expensive, but it includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Richard J,

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took in recognizing our team. We are so pleased to hear you'll be back again and we look forward to welcoming you then.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. I came and didn't like my room placement, and they upgraded me to a nicer suit (granted the original room was the runt of the hotel, but nonetheless great service on the upgrade). Then I got back from a night out and asked the desk man Nathan if they had any of the delicious chocolate cookie treats they were handing out at check in and he went and digged through a closet to find me one. He's the best and the candy is the best. Five stars.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mike G,

Thank you so much for your comments and for recognizing Nate for taking such great care of you. We look forward to your next visit to Portsmouth.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Many of the staff were particularly helpful. At the front desk ask for Alexandra Carr. Alexandra was always eager to help with any questions or issues that we had. Alexandra knows the area and helped us throughout our stay. Many of the staff were also very helpful and eager to please including the bell hops, maids and bartender. The bartender was particularly helpful when an enthusiastic patron spilled a drink on me, the bartender had my jacked dry cleaned and then the manager brought it to my room the next day. All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. We will return!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Greg D,

Thank you so much for the great review. We're so happy to hear so many of our team members stood out and we hope we'll have a chance to see you again, soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It was a nice touch to contacted prior by the hotel to receive a welcome as a SPG guest. Check in is always smooth and restaurant suggestions where welcome. The hotel is a short walk into Portsmouth, which is a wonderful harbor town. I would return for future visits.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MyFriendsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear MyFriendsFoodie,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. Please come see us again soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing