We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, amenities, and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
laconia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, amenities, and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here over a weekend to celebrate my Wife's birthday. The staff was VERY helpful to fulfill the 'surprise' aspect of the stay, as they helped me arrange to have the kids and grandkids waiting for us in the lower level restaurant for Sunday brunch...and my Wife didn't know they would all be there! She was very surprised, and thrilled to have the family join us for the meal.
Front desk manager Micah Craft also sent up a bottle of wine to the room, and was extremely thorough in following through on any request I made to make my Wife's weekend special. Our interaction with the entire staff was positive. Professionals at making you feel welcome!
Great location, walking distance to downtown, and a wonderful view of the ocean from the room. Clean and organized hotel complex. Parking is a little tight, but we ventured out on foot most of the time anyway, so it wasn't a big deal.
Our first time visiting Portsmouth for a short stay, and we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Club floor is well worth the extra upcharge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbsbyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Mbsbyahoo,

Thank you so much for spending such a special family occasion with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed it and we hope to see you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    350
    178
    56
    37
See reviews for
272
411
34
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I go to Portsmouth about once every 6 - 8 weeks and the Sheraton Portsmouth is the preferred property of my company! The recent renovations have made staying here a pleasant experience.
BUT, the Harborside Dining room is where fabulous comes in!!! No need to travel far, the food is wonderful right there in the hotel. Though the plan is to discontinue the lobster raviolli, Chef Larry - after a special request from Steph - made me some of the best I have ever had!!! Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Coni S,

Thank you so much! We are so pleased to hear it and we look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

From the personalized valet service, to the warm welcome at the front desk, the clean and newly renovated guest room - my stay was just perfect. The view from my room was beautiful. It was a short, but perfect stay. Cannot wait for the summer... view of the water... & the short and pleasant walk to the restaurants and attractions... #perfect! Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ers22,

Thank you so much! We're so pleased that you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Portsmouth is a fun quick get-away anytime of year. The Sheraton makes it easy to check-in, park and forget your car, and troll the city for the weekend. Plenty of nearby shops, pubs and restaurants were convenient even over the bitter-cold weekend we made it our destination.

The hotel is warm and attractive but generally unremarkable. The staff were efficient in resolving a reservation problem and we were on our way. We found no reason to hang around, the facilities were not inviting enough to compete with the many options within a 15 minute radius by foot. Even the Club-level Lounge was dark just minutes before it was scheduled to open for the manager's reception. Hey, the rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable - all the conditions for a restful night sleep. So in the end are you really there to hang-out in the hotel?

At check-out both us and the other couple we were with had been charged about $50 each for drinks we never had, the error was quickly corrected and we were on our way. The friendly staff and their true customer focus makes this a fine place to drop your shopping, hit Portsmouth (and beyond) and leave relaxed and satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truerode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Truerode,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are disappointed that you walked away not feeling overly impressed with our hotel but are pleased to hear that overall your visit was pleasant. We hope you'll make us your home base on your next trip to Portsmouth as well and that we can make your visit exceptional.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Staff and location are the best things about it. The rooms are so loud. The heater cycles every few minutes and sounds like a jet engine firing up. You can liteally here the neighbors conversations. Makes for a difficult night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skidmarx69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Skidmarx69,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our staff did such a great job and truly sorry to hear about the noise issues that you encountered. We are in process of replacing some of the older HVAC units in the guest rooms and hope that will alleviate the issues you encountered.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family enjoyed an extended stay at the Portsmouth Sheraton while work was done on our home. The staff was extremely helpful as we spent three weeks with them. In particular, Alexandra at the front desk was extremely friendly and would always go the extra mile to make our stay better. On her own initiative, Alexandra had the kitchen make a delicious birthday treat for my daughter, who loves to be pampered.

We decided to spend a little extra money to have access to Sheraton's club room - what a great decision!

Most mornings, a warm,caring woman named Vivian made us feel right at home and ensured that we had a healthy breakfast and snacks for the day. Vivian learned all of our names and took excellent care of us. Vivian is unfailingly friendly and happy.

At night, Christine manages the club and goes about her job with energy and hospitality. Like Vivian, she learned our names and made us feel right at home, making sure we were well fed and had everything that we needed.

The valets were very helpful, particularly Evan, who helped us with our cars and travel details.

We give the Sheraton and its staff our best recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Chris,

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to recognize our amazing staff. We hope to see you again very soon.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Sheraton harborside in Portsmouth nh. We went valentines weekend. We walked in the hotel and it was like walking into a palace, we were greeted at the front desk with welcomes and smiles. We went to the room opened up the door and wow very modern so clean it was amazing. So we napped for a bit went out to downtown for dinner and some dancing. The next morning we went to the club level and had breakfast as we arrived we were greeted by a wonderful woman named Vivian she was very courteous and friendly. We had asked Vivian for advise on where to go in Portsmouth she was amazing and very knowledgeable with the city I felt like she was a friend that we knew a long time. We are definitely coming back and looking forward to seeing Vivian again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondaman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Hondaman1972,

We are so happy to hear what a great visit you had and how welcomed Vivian made you feel. Thank you for sharing!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing