We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Spent the night for a wedding and had a pleasant stay. We arrived early because the wedding was at 3:00 which is the same time as check-in. Early check-in could not be guaranteed, but when we arrived and asked to do so the staff didn't even blink and proceeded to check us in as quickly as one could want. The clerk was as nice and polite as could be. The same went for check-out. The room was very nice. The breakfast buffet left a bit to be desired. It was not crowded at all. Most food items being heated weren't that hot. The eggs were not very good, nor was the french toast and the coffee was warm and that took a while to get a new one which was a bit warmer. We only ate there for convenience of being in the hotel. For the price we paid for breakfast we would have fared better in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear gringomike,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We have shared your breakfast comments with our Chef and appreciate the chance to improve the breakfast experience moving forward.

Have a happy New Year!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is an awful hotel. The security is dismal. There are no safes in the rooms and they have minimal video coverage and no personnel, even though there is access from many areas to the public at all hours. Beyond the lack of security and out-dated systems they have rooms above all the reception rooms, creating a loud and obnoxious stay. I will absolutely NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the center, middle and ends! Avoid all the rooms. Stay at the other hotels literally on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OceanME26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear OceanME26,

We are very sorry to hear you feel this way. Please let us assure you that we are very concerned and would love to speak to you more about your specific concerns.

While not all of our rooms have in-room safes, we do offer safety deposit boxes at the front desk. Additionally, we do have security in the evening hours/overnight and many security cameras in public areas.

We are truly sorry that you were impacted by noise during your visit, and again we would very much appreciate if there is a specific incident you would like to share directly with us, please reach out to Suzanne at sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com. We are very sorry that you felt unsafe, but assure you our guests' safety is of the utmost importance to us.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a decent stay at this hotel. Room was clean and plenty of fresh towels, especially if I decided to skip housekeeping for their green initiatives program, which gives you a $5 voucher to use in their restaurants. The heating system was not that great, as the heater was not controlled by the thermostat, rather adjusted by temperature knobs on the unit itself. It was rather loud and turn on and off intermittently, interrupting my sleep on a few nights. Parking is $15 in their lot, or $18 for valet. Does not provide free breakfast but tuere are local restaurants within a quick 3-5 min walk. Provides a fridge, but no microwave. They provide free starbucks coffee or tazo tea in the lobby in the morning.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Jellydoboy,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. While breakfast isn't included in our standard rates, we do offer it in the restaurant as well as on Sheraton Club for guests who choose that option. We hope you'll give it a try next time!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here recently with a friend who up visiting from Florida. It was a weekday stay, so the hotel was not busy. We got good, prompt service from all the staff, who were friendly and helpful. The TV was hard to figure-out how to work, but one phone call to the front desk corrected that. The free wifi was also initially confusing, but was easy to access after one call to the front desk. Beds and pillows were clean and comfortable, and room itself, and bathroom, were spacious and fully-equipped. One morning we ate breakfast at the in-house restaurant, and used coupons against the tab which we'd received for not having our room unnecessarily serviced each day. For breakfast, we had a nice table along the window overlooking the Piscataqua River. My friend really liked her generous portion of lox with bagel chips and cream cheese. My "hashtag eggs" breakfast was also good. We've stayed at the Harborside before, and will again. Our only complaint really was that they now make you pay for parking across the street in the outdoor hotel lot at $15.00/day. The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to downtown Portsmouth, and we walked everywhere, never having to use the car at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear James,

Thank you so much for your great comments. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. While we understand paying for parking can sometimes be a surprise when visiting Portsmouth, we do use an outside service and try to keep the cost comparable to the other parking options in town. We hope you understand and we look forward to seeing you again.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I had a recent stay at the Sheraton Harborside. We travel with our small dog and they accommodated us with a room just off the lobby staircase for easy access to the outside. Unfortunately we were awakened in the night by some noisy housekeeping. We informed Nathan the night manager. He immediately apologized, corrected the problem and offered us complimentary breakfast. On checking out, we accidentally left one of our bags in the parking area. We called later that day and a very courteous manager delivered it to us in Connecticut in 48 hours. The hotel is good but the staff is amazing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Bernard,

Thank you so much for the great compliments to our staff. We will be sure to share your review, especially with Nathan. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to Portsmouth again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We rented one of the townhouses for our four day stay in Portsmouth and we were very pleased with our Sheraton experience. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. We had two bedrooms with a king and queen - we had a two year old with us and I was told there was a folding twin for him. But when we arrived the bed was in the downstairs closet. The hotel offered to bring it upstairs but I felt it would have made the bedrooms too crowded. So I made a "nest" for my grandson in the large walk-in upstairs. The hotel sent over extra blankets and I padded the walls with pillows. He was thrilled to have his own space. The bedrooms have dressers and closets with ample space for longer stays. I loved all the hangers in the closet as most places only give a few. The kitchen has a microwave, large refrigerator and oven. The basics are there - plates, bowls, drinking glasses and wine glasses, flatware sauté pan, and two pots. I called the front desk when I realized there were no forks and I barely hung up the phone when someone was at the door delivering them! The two floor townhouse has a spacious living room and dining room. Although one of the bedrooms faces the street it was very quiet at night. The location couldn't have been better. We were able to walk into town and along the waterfront with our toddler. The only time we went to the main building was to swim - towels were provided and the changing room were clean and convenient. We will stay here again when we're in the area.

Room Tip: I didn't see any wheelchair accessibility All the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Ruby,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit in our townhouses. Thank you so much for sharing your comments.

While the townhouses are not accessible we do offer accessible accommodations in the main hotel.

We do hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went 2 nights in October. All of the staff, the Manager, the Waitress, the Valet, and Maid Service went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. There is plenty of activities to keep you busy in the area. Great shopping for the holidays, antique shops close by, restaurants and brew pubs. The food and service at the Sheraton was exceptional. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crumps2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Crumps2013,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Please come back and see us again soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $125 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing