We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in a wonderful seaside city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Sheraton is situated in the heart of Portsmouth and within easy walking distance of Congress street, the waterfront, and a wide array of pubs and restaurants. I was at a conference there and the number of small breakout rooms and little nooks to gather and talk made it ideal for a conference. The food was excellent also.

Room Tip: For the best view request the 4th floor looking east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear BBrodie,

Thank you so much! We hope you have a chance to visit us again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for my brothers wedding. They were supposed to make sure to block off several rooms for friends and family however failed to do so. Some family ended up at another hotel due to what the management referred to as miscommunication/misunderstanding. Either way we got a king suit which was very comfortable and clean. But for the price I expected more. The elevator took forever, and to make matters worse, parking at this hotel is a complete pain in the behind. Probably won't stay here again as we will find something in the area just as average but half the price.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PhantomFatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Phantom Fat Guy,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us. Without knowing the details of your specific event, we can't comment on the reservation confusion, however, we are truly sorry if that was the case! We're pleased you enjoyed your suite but are very sorry to hear that you found your experience average at best.

We strive to provide every guest and warm welcome and an easy stay. Our parking is available with two options to overnight guests: self parking for $15 and valet for $18 with full in and out access. We would love to hear how we could improve this experience and make it better moving forward. If you would be willing to send your suggestions to Jonah at jonah@unifiedparkingpartners.com we will be more than happy to revisit how we can make the process more seamless for our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another shot.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been wanting to stay at this hotel since I was a student at UNH 20 years ago. It is a beautiful looking hotel, has a great location, a beautiful lobby and a truly wonderful staff. However, for the price the rooms (in my opinion) are dumpy. The room had a smell when we walked in (smelled like BO quite frankly), the bathroom was very outdated, as were the rooms. It looked more like a motel than a hotel where you would pay over 300 a night. As nice as everything else was, not having a nice room really put a damper on the experience and I was sorry I spent the money. I also found the rooms not protected from noise - you could hear everything. As lovely as it looks and as nice as the staff was to us, based on the rooms, I would not return. I see someone else posted that we should have asked for a renovated room - the hotel was booked with 2 weddings so that was not an option but I wish they would give a much fairer discount for the poor quality of the rooms. I really hope they made enough upgrades to the new rooms as they definitely did not seem worthy of the rest of the hotel. Know parking will cost you 15-18 a day. (I would give the staff a 5 of 5; the hotel appearance outside and in the lobby a 5/5 but the rooms (for the price) were definitely a 1.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxiebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear RoxieBay,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are truly thankful for your very honest and helpful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the staff and the public space and can certainly understand the importance of the room meeting those same standards. Please know we are actively working to improve all areas of the hotel, but it does take time. We recently did complete a renovation to one floor of guestrooms and are scheduling more updates in the near future.

We hope that based on the care of our staff and the positive aspects of your experience you will reconsider giving us another opportunity as we continue to update our hotel. Please feel free to reach out to Suzanne and sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com and she'd be happy to make arrangements for you to try one of our newly renovated rooms.

With warmest regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We at the Sheraton for two days it is a central, clean and well staffed hotel. they have a great maintained pool. The staff helped us with the 2 day tour of Portsmouth both with local visits and restaurants. the only thing I was not happy with was the rooms service breakfast, though the breakfast looked excellent the taste was not so inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased to hear overall what a great experience you had while visiting us. We would also love to hear your specific feedback as to how we could improve our room service breakfast. If you are willing, please contact Chef Garth at glyndes@sheratonportsmouth.com with more information.

We thank you for the chance to improve and for taking the time to share your comments.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a beautiful king room overlooking the harbor. Sheraton lived up to our expectations, the staff were always courteous and helpful, nothing was a trouble. Bathroom well equipped and well lit. Would not hesitate to recommend to other travelers. The hotel is also well positioned for great restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon in Oct. 2013. Check in process was made simple thanks to the lovely lady at the desk, Ryan. She got us checked in without any fuss. We went to our room (one of the Townhouses) but weren't satisfied with it. We went back to the desk and she was able to get us into a regular King room. It was much better than the Townhouse in my opinion...

We went out for a bit and came back to the nicest hand written EVER from Ryan! She congratulated us on the wedding and wished us the best. We kept the note. ;)

It is an older property and could use some updates, but the staff is super friendly and they make up for any shortcomings.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Bryan,

Thank you very much for spending such an important time with us and for your great comments. We love being able to recognize our excellent associates, like Ryan and we're so happy when a guest gives us that opportunity in such a public forum. We hope to see you back in Portsmouth for your many wedding anniversaries to come.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stay here on business travel every two to three weeks. A couple of things are worth noting:

The hotel is undergoing a long series of renovations -- not every floor is complete. Ask for one of the renovated rooms. The rooms that are complete are great - comfortable, well-appointed. They have a nice touch with pillows: both firmer and softer, and that's pretty rare in hotels these days.

The staff is professional and very welcoming - again, not something you find everywhere, especially in New England! And it should, since Portsmouth is a bit of a restaurant town.

For a little bit extra, you can also ask for Club level -- that puts you on the top floor and the amenities are better in the rooms, and a nice dedicated lounge at the end of the hall.

I enjoy my stays there very much and don't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room, and ask for a decent view or the courtyard if the industrial vibe on the one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for your loyalty - we're so pleased to hear you stay with us when you're in town and we are even more thrilled to hear that we have your recommendation. We are happy to hear that you've noticed the improvements we're making and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $117 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing