We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here and had a really good stay. Despite being the scene of a wedding and a high school reunion reception staff were attentive and prompt and valet staff were exceptionally good.

Room was spacious and well appointed, bar was well served and stocked a range of drinks and the pool was accessible and refreshing.

Only slight negatives were that we were in room 521 which was opposite the club level suite so had to put up with the banging of the door late at night and early in the morning. Also we happened to go into the lounge in the evening to find a group of locusts had eaten everything and left with arms full of all the soft drinks in the fridge.

Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Maritchi,

We can't thank you enough for your great comments and taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear all of the goodies were taken from the lounge. Please feel free to call down to our help desk for items on demand for Sheraton Club if that should occur on your next trip to Portsmouth.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    365
    180
    59
    38
See reviews for
281
427
35
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Sheraton was perfect. If you need a room block in NH, book here.

We booked our room block for our off-site wedding in the spring for Sept 28-30. The Sheraton required us to guarantee 10/50 of the rooms for a $500 deposit which was very easy for us to book. Katryn Treamer, Social Catering Sales Manager, was very helpful and communicated our needs to the Front Desk staff so our day went very smooth.

We booked the Ports Of Call suites, which Katryn recommend and got us reserved in the perfect room for us. This room was critical for us. It had 2 bedrooms, with 2 exits, so the groom could enter and exit without seeing the bride. The suite is out-dated, but it is perfect for us since it had a kitchen, balcony and living room. We were able to order PeaPod for breakfast items and they delivered right to the room. The front desk also called us before they sent up our hair, makeup and photographer. The balcony had wobbly stones, but we were only out there for pictures and fresh air.

The hotel bar was very popular after the wedding and since the Patriots were on, they did get a good amount of business from our guests. They also had good pizza which everyone ordered and enjoyed. Hotel security was also helpful to get our guests back to their rooms when they needed to go.

Overall, great service, location and value.

Room Tip: If you are getting married, book the Ports-of-call suites. They may look outdated, but they have 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julezpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Julezpower,

Thanks for choosing us for your guests on such a special occasion. We know how important it is that your guests enjoy themselves on an important day and we're so glad to hear we did just that. We hope you'll come back and see us again for a weekend away.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is jammed into a small area shared by another hotel. But the overall experience was great. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Downtown is just around the block. Easy walking. The room was great. Didn't have a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ward J,

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience overall! We are a very easy walk to downtown and due to our horseshoe shape, unfortunately, not all of our rooms have a view. We hope to have another chance to welcome you and please let us know you're coming so we can put a request for your preferred view on the reservation.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is my second stay here. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location. You can walk to downtown. Ate breakfast twice in the resturant. Do not pass up the lobster omlet. Stayed on the third floor was was recently remodled. Room was clean ans spacous, and as always the king bed was very very comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Amos,

We're so happy that you've enjoyed your visits with us and are very happy that you had a chance to experience one of our newly renovated rooms. Please come see us again!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a terrific 2-night stay at the Sheraton Portsmouth in early October 2013.

I'm Lifetime Platinum, so we got upgraded to a lovely Club Floor suite. No views, but great room and right across the hall from the Club Room.

Christine, the gracious evening Hostess of the Club Room, is an absolute delight! Warm, friendly, a high service orientation, she was lovely and extremely helpful in planning activities in and around the area, and even heading up to Jackson, NH when we left.

Our room had been recently updated, and it was a nicely appointed 2-room suite. We were told by the front desk that the entire 3rd Floor has also been updated. So, if you are concerned about room conditions, either request the 3rd Floor, or get a Club Floor room.

The Sheraton is extremely well located, right on the harbor and just a short walk to Market Square with it shops, restaurants, and bars.

Net Net Net, the Starwood Lifetime Platinum recommends the Sheraton Harborside Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for updated rooms on 3rd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikie376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mikie376,

Thanks so much. We are so glad you enjoyed it and we hope you make the trip again soon!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After reading the very mixed reviews for this hotel, I was worried, but everything about our stay was perfect. The 3rd floor room, the service, from beginning to end, the decor, cleanliness, location, everything was excellent. Would go back in a minute!

The one aspect we were shocked by was the pool. In a dingy, dark room, no attraction to it at all. Looked creepy, we all thought!

Room Tip: Third floor has been renovated. Even though we were over the front entrance, we heard no noise, ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Vermont Travelers,

Thanks so much for your great comments. We are so glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your next visit to Portsmouth.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a well-appointed clean room. The A/C was noisy and kept me from getting a good night's sleep. The hotel has a small fitness center, so I was able to get a work out in, and that was nice. What I liked most about this hotel is its location. You can walk to all the restaurants and shops downtown which was very convenient. I was surprised we had to pay for parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d2aviators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear D2Aviators,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the great dining and shopping that Portsmouth has to offer. We hope you visit us again soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing