We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Remodeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for three nights at the Portsmouth Sheraton. Rooms need to be remodeled---they seem tired. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We are SPG memebers and our room had a good view, with snipet views of the water. Housekeeping was eager to make sure we had what we needed for a comfortable stay. Restaurant was average---we had both a lunch and breakfast there. You will find better food elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear RozzyW,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit. We certainly appreciate any opportunity to improve our hotel. We are happy to share we just finished a renovation to our third floor and are working on continuous improvements to the hotel. We were very pleased to hear our staff made a nice impression and so we hope to see you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel! Justin at the desk was very helpful, Vivian in the Club Room goes out and beyond in her job! Greg took great care of us with room service and Sandra made our event go very smoothly

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Deb M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our staff. We are happy to hear that you had so many team members make such a great impression. We hope you come back and see us again very soon.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton for a quick, last minute, 1 night, get away with my husband before summer is over. We booked a room at the Club level, based on recommendations here, and were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, complete with mini bar, full kitchen and fireplace. We also decided to self park and were able to extend our parking through the afternoon after check out so we could stay in town a bit longer, without worrying about parking.

Pros:
Upgrade
Service at Hotel
Location
View of rooftops downtown
Bose stereo in living room
Fireplace

Cons:
Place could have used a thorough dusting (one magazine I picked up left an imprint on the sofa table)
There was some random noise that went on periodically all night - we think it was a low battery on a smoke alarm in hallway but it was a bit distracting

Overall, this was the perfect place to use as our home base to visit the beauty of downtown Portsmouth on a beautiful August night. We will def be back!

Room Tip: Definitely pick Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVaughnMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear JVaughnMartin,

Thank you so much! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Please come back again soon.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have just returned from two nights at the Sheraton Portsmouth and I would recommend it and would certainly return, I can see that some people would feel a little like me though not most. I knew when I booked several months ago that it would be a busy weekend and the Starwood website did indeed show it was full but Expedia showed availability so I booked it straight away. I seemed to recall something about 'complimentary breakfast' and when I mentioned it on checking in I was told 'not for Expedia bookings', making me feel like a second class citizen. Moreover, when I asked where we could get breakfast I was sort of told 'around the corner by the side of the hotel' which I didn't understand, making us feel that 'breakfast was not for us' at the hotel. One of our rooms was ready but the other wasn't so we were told that as check-in wasn't until 3 p.m.we should come back at 3 for the second room. We returned at 3:15 p.m. and were told the room still wasn't ready and we should go to the bar for 'complimentary drinks'. Now we were there on business and I therefore said 'drinks are not what is required a ROOM is what is required'. This got the senior person to allocate a (I guess 'non Expedia room') room. So beware if you book at this hotel through Expedia you will get second class treatment.
Having said that, the room was very nice (though the light over the shower was out and the sink flooded the floor when you pulled up the plug - but hey, it's an Expedia booking), the two breakfasts we had were delicious and the staff were helpful - except when checking in Expedia bookings!!!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank voyeurnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Voyeurnyc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your experience and we are so pleased to hear you will stay with us again in the future.

We want to express our sincere apologies for the way you were made to feel like a second class guest. This is not at all the way our team should have treated you and we will be using your comments as an opportunity for training. We truly appreciate that you brought this concern to our attention.

Next time you come to Portsmouth, please contact Suzanne at sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com and she will be happy to personally handle your reservation details.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Well, to start, we were asked if we needed a cart for out luggage (do we need a cart?) Um, what happened to taking our luggage to our room. Ok, so we stood at the front desk for 15 minutes to check in as there was only one person at the desk and nobody was at the Starwood preferred desk. They were very nice once we made out way to the front of line, but a little more of a Holiday Inn feel to us. So we schlepped out luggage to our room on the cart and got to a very basic type of room. Not a $300 plus room.
We usually stay at a smaller boutique hotel, or a Westin if we have to stay at a big name hotel, but this was a last minute getaway so we thought we'd try the mainstream hotel, and that's exactly what we got. Window air conditioner was dated and loud, but bed was comfy. Bathrooms need some updating and paint as well. The Ale house inn will be on our radar next visit, but with more advanced planning.

Room Tip: Top concierge level with a Harbor view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybysts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Flybysts,

Thank you very much for providing us with some great feedback. We would like to apologize that you didn't receive the exceptional service that we have a reputation for providing. We are using your comments as a training opportunity with our team and to improve the first impression our guests receive when checking in with us.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to Portsmouth and thank you again for taking the time to help us improve.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We checked in with priceline, the Sheraton accommodated our pets with an upgrade.!!! A very nice condo, staff was fantastic, really nice spot for pets, which is important to us. Dinner from the restaurant was great!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Peggy,

We're so glad you enjoyed it. Please visit us again the next time you're in Portsmouth!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great Staff, great views of the harbor and perfect location. The restaurant is consistantly outstanding, the bar staff is friendly and courteous to guests, going out of their way to recommend the best night spots. The hotel and gym are immaculate and kept up to date. The location alone, a short walk to anywhere in "downtown" Portsmouth, and price make this THE place to stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giaabruzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Giaabruzzi,

Thank you so much! We are so appreciative of your great comments. Let us know next time you're in town. We look forward to seeing you!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
523 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $126 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing