We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid no nonsense property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solid no nonsense property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

If traveling through New England and find yourself in the quaint town of Portsmouth, you could do worse than the Sheraton. Though there are lovely B&Bs in the area, with it being centered off the main street you cannot beat the property's location. You will not find large plastic red penguins strewn randomly across the hotel or other kitschy items. Instead you will discover a property that wins you over though its consistency, charm, and cleanliness, very much like the locale in which it is situated.

You my want to eschew the offered valet parking as there is ample parking in the circle and at an adjacent lot. I typcially don't mind walking a little further to my car especially if it means saving over ten dollars a day. With the new valet system, one was unsure why you would use it when there are nearby spots. That said, all of the valets and bellhops were courteous and professional to the point where you felt bad to not utilize their services.

Room Tip: Get higher room away from elevator (typical). If possible, the waterfront views are a nice sight to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_dimaggio25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Portsmouth and we look forward to seeing you again!

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    351
    179
    57
    38
See reviews for
272
415
34
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester NH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Over the past year restaurant food quality in the Harborside Louge, upstairs, has been steadily declining. Dishes arrive undercooked (hamburgers) soups luke warm and Chowder contains overcooked pieces of fish. New items are rarely added to the menu. Recently, background music was added. This music is annoying and adds nothing to the whole experience. And, of course, eating at the Sheraton is not inexpensive.This overall decline in quality at the Sheraton is a shame because the physical "plant" of the hotel is first-rate and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Have not stayed overnight so can't rate rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear about some of your recent experiences and would appreciate the chance to connect with you in person. If it is convenient for you please feel free to connect with us directly so that we can remedy your concerns.

We appreciate the chance to win back your trust.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff was excellent and going out of there way to be helpful. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Club Level is great worth the upgrade. The room views are either the courtyard or the waterfront, so try and get the waterfront. I have stayed at the hotel several times and found it to be consistent. I would certainly recommend the Sheraton Portsmouth to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Club Level was a great experience, worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Samuel,

Thank you so much! We're so glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to your next visit.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I think i just found the best hotel in Portsmouth NH. I rolled into town with just over 200 people for a three day event. I found the entire staff go out of there way to make you part of there family and caters to your every need until you check back out. Every staff member remembered my name, amazing. Carlos and Dan you should be proud of your entire team who went well beyond the call of duty for us, your team exceeded my highest expectations.

So in closing next time anyone is in Portsmouth and looking for what I can say is the best hotel team in the North east stay at the Sheraton Harborside Hotel in Portsmouth NH and don't forget to have who I think is a incredible chef cook you up a great fish and scallop plate. Incredible !!!!

Room Tip: Grab a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank you so much! We are so thrilled you feel that way and we look forward to seeing your group again next year. It was a pleasure hosting your event.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We’ve been to this hotel countless, countless of time. Until our last visit it was one of our go to hotel in Portsmouth.
Firstly everything is now much more expensive; the explanation that was given to us the hotel is under new management… We don’t mind paying but give us service

Upon check in they gave away our club floor room, plus give us two doubles when we reserved for a king. Finally after complaining the manger gave us access to another room much smaller room, no real apology, no voucher, and no nothing. In addition the staff that we encounter was borderline rude. On top of that we could not get access to club floor that night and the next morning like we always do, again hotel new management…

We usually get top notch service from all SPG properties. Overall extremely disappointed with the hotel new management and services, no regards to SPG members and would hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLDAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear MandLD,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations on your most recent visit with us. We are embarrassed by the way that your concerns were addressed while you were in the hotel and will be certainly using your experience as a learning opportunity with our team.

As we are sure you know from your previous visits and reading our other reviews, this was the exception rather than the rule with our team. We are consistently striving to go above and beyond for our guests and we have a reputation for being very service oriented, warm and friendly and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in person so that we can find out more about what went wrong in this instance. If you are willing, please reach out to Suzanne at sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com to discuss your stay in more detail.

We know that we’ve let you down this time, but hope that based on your extensive positive stays here that you will give us another chance. Again, we thank you for helping us improve.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Pulled off the highway and made a reservation online. Amazing and sweet front desk agent had us rolling in the aisles with her banter and then she upgraded us to the club floor. It was the handicapped room but what the hell, I could use a grab bar every now and then. Great views, nice club floor amenities and room service was good. Parking was a little expensive but I choose the easier, more expensive option so I can't complain. Stay here. Then go shopping in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: club floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cunard1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Cunard1953,

We are so glad you followed your whim! Thanks for staying with us and thank you even more for your great comments. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have to thank Christina at the Sheraton in Portsmouth, New Hampshire for all her help in guiding us to gastronomic bliss.
You see she gave us great tips…there was Jumpin’ Jays for $1.00 oysters/Tuesdays, followed by a yummy din din at Ristorante Massimo.
We could not possibly eat at all her suggestions, but there is always next trip!
She is a terrific asset for Sheraton/SPG. We encourage you to give her a raise ASAP!
We look forward to returning when it has had it's "facelift."

Room Tip: Hopefully after the facelift this will be a superior property for business travel. Proximity to cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danalovestotravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Dana,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the dining delights that Portsmouth has to offer. We will certainly commend Christina for her recommendations. We look forward to your next visit too!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing