We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed here for a night a few weeks ago!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We stayed here for a night a few weeks ago!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well, let me start with a great reception!! An excellent room!! Even more excellent drinks at their bar!!! And then an excellent good bye!!
This hotel has it all together!! Great service from everyone we encountered!!
We will go back again soon!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Tracy B,

Thank you so much! We're happy you enjoyed your time with us.

See you soon!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    350
    178
    56
    37
See reviews for
272
411
34
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional service! Personalized and professional women working at front desk. Rooms were decent. Poor water pressure and shower heads in the shower. Nice small exercise room with mediocre pool, no hot tub. Awesome bar area that is great for reading in the afternoon and reading a book or a newspaper while overlooking the river/harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trpolakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Trpolakowski,

Thank you so much for alerting us to the shower heads. We will review with our team and see what we can do to solve the water pressure issue, or minimize it for future guests.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to seeing you again.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Generally we vacation in the Jackson area of NH but after visiting Portsmouth in June 2012 on business, we decided to return to the area over President's weekend. Because of its proximity to the harbor, we picked the Sheraton Harborside Hotel. We were able to get a great price for the club level. Although check-in was at 3:00 we arrived in the area at 11:00 and immediately contacted the hotel to ascertain if we could check in early. They informed us that we could check in any time after 12:00. Upon checking in I requested a harbor view room. I was informed that there was none available but upon further checking, the girl at the front desk was able to accommodate us. The room was spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the harbor. Breakfast in the club lounge was provided every morning and was delicious. The host in the club lounge, Vivian, was the best! Not only was she extremely professional, she was friendly and eager to accommodate your needs. It was quite evident that she loved her job and she did not hesitate to tell us that. The room attendants, Anna and Inky, were also very professional and eager to please. Upon our return every afternoon, our room was clean and orderly. We even received a thank you note the first day of our stay for the tip we left, along with an adorable towel animal crafted by Anna. The only downside is that you have to pay for onsite parking and the club lounge is quite small...I was expecting a "real" lounge on that level with a bar where you could hang out in the evening. Overall, this is a great hotel within walking distance of everything and we will definitely be returning. Frank & Diane from NJ

Room Tip: Definitely club level with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Frank and Diane,

Thanks for making a visit from NJ! We're so glad you spent your long weekend with us and thank you for mentioning some of our great team members.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I went up to Portsmouth for an overnight get away from the kids. We took our Puggle with us. We were greeted at the door with doggie water bowls and a treat from the bell hop. Very clean hotel with great atmosphere. Parking is a bit tricky, as there is no free parking but for only one night it was ok. Otherwise we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Having a pet it was great to be on the 2nd floor next to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjllspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jjllspon,

We love dogs here in Portsmouth and understand what an important part of the family they are. We're so glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay and are also very happy to hear we made your Puggle feel welcome.

We certainly understand how being a small city, paying for parking can be a little surprising, but with the limited spaces downtown we do charge to protect our spots for our guests and visitors. Self parking is $12 per night and valet is $17. You will find that this is on par with the other parking charges for downtown spaces and hotels. Thank you for your understanding of the limited parking in the city.

We look forward to welcoming your whole family back again soon.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were planning a couples getaway without the kids and our grand plans were impacted by Blizzard Nemo of 2013. We decided to make the trip the following weekend WITH the kids and we were very happy we did. The Hull Suite was fantastic - I recommend it to anyone travelling with kids - the room is probably 1800 square feet, 2 bedrooms, a galley kitchen and office. We had such a great time - we had pre-purchased lift tickets for Saturday, but if we hadn't we would've stayed in the room all day - it was sad to leave.

There are a couple of key features about the Sheraton Harborside:

1) Location - my wife and I took an hour+ stroll around Portsmouth and we never felt more than a short walk from the Sheraton - it's right in the middle of everything! With parking on-site - its easy to find and easy to check-in / check-out. If you're going to Portsmouth, I don't think you can do better than this location. Views of the water / ships from our room too!

2) Staff - reminded me of what you'd expect from a hotel experience of yesteryear. I travel a lot for work and I felt that this staff was a far cut above from what I encounter on the road. Especially the folks mentioned below.

A couple of shoutouts to individual staff members- Suzanne Roberge was fantastic during our trip planning and I probably emailed her 15 times (some Nemo related, etc.) - she was always responsive - sometimes unbelievably responsive and always on the ball. She provided us with a couple snacks upon arrival that were so special - we felt like VIPs!

Additionally Vivian Stamelos in the club level lounge - fantastic. She was hustling the whole time we were there - clearing our table, offering assistance. Super sweet woman and its no surprise that she wins many awards for her great work. SPG should clone Vivian for all of their locations!

Room Tip: Hull Suite - so worth it when you are travelling with kids. Real privacy for parents with your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_rock_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear K_Rock_43,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are sorry to hear that Nemo impacted your plans but are so glad it didn't stop you from coming to see us.

Please feel free to email Suzanne for your next visit too and don't forget to say hello to Vivian. She'll be happy to see you.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I would just like to take this opportunity to thank Nathan at the front desk. My family and I had a bit of a problem on our first visit, but Nathan made sure that this time everything was just perfect. What a welcoming atmosphere and very clean hotel. Nathan made sure that this visit was memorable and second to none. Thank you Nathan and we will surely be visiting you again in the very near future. If anyone is thinking of visiting Portsmouth, NH, overnight, I would absolutely pick the Sheraton. All my friends will be!!! Thank you Nathan!

Gary, Nicole and family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Gary D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize one of our team members. It means so much to them and to us to hear about a job well done.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This past weekend my wife and daughters (3) were on a girls getaway weekend at the Sheraton Portsmouth. Three people were exceptional with taking care of my family's needs, they were Emily, Nathan and John. These three individuals were kinder than necessary and provided service that my wife said was second to none. I beleive that these employees make the facitily what it is ....great. Thank you again

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Paul M,

Thank you so much! We're glad to hear it was a successful girls weekend and hope they bring you along next time!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing