We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude People - and a bit of a Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wow. We had been here about 3 year earlier - things have changed, and not for the better. Check-in was really long. Only one person at the counter, and easily a 10 minute wait - as there were issues with the customer in front of us. Would have been nice to call for more help.

The room was pretty dumpy. Duct tape (really) holding the heating/AC unit in place. Bathroom was just old and beat up.

We'd also had a request, and got put in touch with the Guest Services Manager. She couldn't have been ruder - or spouted more "policy" if she tried. It was almost like "We have your money - now shut up and leave".

So really what do you have? Location. The good news for our future visits is that the Residence Inn and the Hilton Garden have "location" too. Certainly the people can be no worse. And the properties will be newer.

For the money, this was one of the worst values we've experienced in years.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear dukefan2331,
Thank you very much for providing us with constructive feedback from your recent visit with us. I am happy to see you have stayed with us in the past and did have a good experience. I can tell you we did go through some transition recently as businesses will but we have a core group of mangers and associates that truly care and are passionate about service. This has given us a platform in changing times to build upon and continue to grow to provide the best experience for our guests.

We have renovated our lobby and we are strategically moving into some of our rooms as well. If you have the chance to visit again we would love to have you back for another chance to show you more than words. More than managers and associates we are all guests and customers here at some time and we take your feedback seriously.

We do truly appreciate your time,

With Warm Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great location..overpriced self parking, which is in an unsecured lot across the street..dirty bed linens (totally grossed us)..did I mention great location? The service is pretty nice a well, but there is a lot of things that need to be updated before the rate matches the quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Copley25,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We have spoken as a management team about the issues and are very sorry that you had this experience. Our Parking is competitive to the Portsmouth downtown area and the parking lot lever has been repaired, a key is needed upon departure. There has been follow up to your bedding issue and we have rectified the bedding issues with re-training and our annual purchasing of new linens.

It truly is appreciated that you would take the time to help us continue to improve
We hope to see you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've never had such a personal touch of awareness beyond themselves as I received over the past few days from Justin Pelletier to my housekeeper Holli. While talking with Justin I casually mentioned that I was going to go grab a beverage from nearby and without hesitation he said let me get that for you. Which wasn't a big deal but I was at my booth alone at a convention in the hotel at the time. His doing that one small thing allowed me to stay at my booth to talk with clients and potential clients while I still got my beverage.
The next day upon returning to my room in the afternoon, I noticed a hand written note on my bed. It was from my housekeeper and it read, " Mr. Soandso, I hope you are enjoying your stay. Please let us know if you need anythihng. safe travels when you leave. Your housekeeper Holli.
It's these little things that mean a lot to me and so many others whether they realize it or not that will make me try and return sooner than later to stay at this hotel.
Thank you so much Justin, Holli and those involved with hiring & training these special individuals.
Sincerely,
Brian

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a one night stay to visit Portsmouth. Good points were very comfortable bed and excellent coffee from in-room machine. However, the bathroom was small and smelly. The smell was located to a mouldy shower curtain. The swimming facilities were very poor - the water was murky and the changing facilities comprised an old chair and a few wall hooks. The sauna was rough with a naked bulb as lighting. Parking was plentiful but not cheap. In summary, we felt that this hotel was charging considerably more than the quality of accommodation on offer would justify.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel gives you all the extra touches. Fresh waterw/ fruit in the lobby to a club floor that keeps the club room stacked with coffee, juices, water and fresh fruit. The complimentary breakfast is just like home with a most wonderful hostess Vivian. I have seen her run and heat up a muffin for someone just because they wanted it. Last but not least the beds are the most comfortable of any I have found. Everyone is greeted as family and who wouldn't want to go back. Oh and they have a fitness center full of equipment in working order open 24/7. Great!

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Smyrtue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked a room on the Club level. The included breakfast was scrambled eggs and undercooked sausage. Dirty dishes were piled up in a corner. Everyone had to search drawers for utensils and there was one Keurig machine with a few coffee pods. The toilet rocked on the floor. The air conditioner did not sufficiently cool the room to the requested temperature on the thermostat. The location of the hotel is excellent and the housekeeping is great. But Portsmouth is a wonderful destination!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank satisfiedcustomer141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

At $246 for the AAA rate, I've had larger rooms in Manhattan for this price. The manager has replied to a previous post ("Not worth the rate") that their rates are competitive, but the truth of the matter is that there is not much competition (nearby hotels), so I bit the bullet and chose this hotel due to its location.

We were two family members in a 2 double-bed room, and the armchair for the desk totally blocks the T-shaped aisle for the person on the far bed to get to the bathroom. There is no other place to move that chair without blocking your path. That's how small the room is. We were also surprised that the only way to get to Market Street (along the back side of the building) was via a staircase (or walking completely around the block), which was hard to manage for my elderly father.

The staff is nice. The location is great. But if you're looking for good value, it's not here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bravaencore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $140 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing