We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveler rating
691
412
206
66
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
412
206
66
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelself parkingshops and restaurantshotel staffvalet servicenew hampshiredowntown areaindoor poolchristineinkyharboursidestarwoodtownhouseconferenceloungeelevatorwedding
Filter
Updating list...
1,114 - 1,119 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Loved this hotel for a one night getaway to beautiful Portsmouth. The location is walking distance to shopping and many great choices for dining and entertainment. The room, with a view of the port, was clean and had comfortable beds with luxurious linens and, our package included a delicious breakfast. Thank you to Phil and all of the staff for a wonderful stay, this was our second visit and we're already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eln107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Eln107,

We are so pleased to hear what a great time you had during your recent visits with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that Phil made such a great impression and we will certainly be recognizing his job well done.

We look forward to your next visit and if there is anything we can do to make it extra memorable, please let us know.

Warmly,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I am a Starwood platinum member and have been frequenting the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel for the last decade. We are from the Boston area and try to visit every couple of months. Portsmouth itself has great restaurants, music at night and is a few minutes from the Kittery, ME outlets. This hotel is just a few steps away from the center of town, so once we arrive we don't need our car to get around. The cozy club lounge on the 5th floor has been one of our favorites over the years (though it was closed for a while, and we stopped coming while that was the case). Vivian is always there are has been welcoming on each of our return visits. We look forward to seeing her and having our eggs and bacon in the lounge each morning. The hotel rooms are modest in size (unless you get a suite upgrade, which we often do) but we spend so little time there that it hardly matters. Every time we stay here we go for a swim in the warm indoor pool followed by a trip to the sauna. In all the years we've been coming we've only once seen anyone else in the pool or sauna (not crowded in the least). We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area - we would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We suggest upgrading to the club floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

we paid about $300/night for a room at the Sheraton Portsmouth in August 2011. Very overpriced. The mattress was uncomfortable - we both rolled toward the middle of the bed (and we are thin!). Room decor was average and bathroom was dated and worn. would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pylorusArlington_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear pylorusArlington,

We are deeply sorry to hear you felt this way about your August 2011 stay. We would have very much liked to speak with you at that time so we could have better understood what was going on with your stay.

If you would feel comfortable contacting the hotel directly so that we could address the concerns you had with your specific room, we would be pleased to hear from you. In the meantime, we would like to assure you that we are continuously taking steps to improve our hotel and service. Since your stay, we've renovated our lobby, added the Link@Sheraton by Microsoft and have had two of our four public restrooms renovated (the other two are being done now). We care deeply about our guest's experiences while with us and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This Hotel provided a very nice romantic getaway for my wife and I.
The hotel itself is very clean and well kept, Victorian plush without being ostentatious. The location is literally steps from the downtown shopping and dining area, but it feels much more separated.
The restaurant and cozy upstairs bar quite exceeded expectations. The menu gives a creative nod to comfort food. After a delicious quick meal at check-in, we were left looking forward to breakfast the next day. Our server at both meals, Marcia, was a delight. She was efficient and courteous, there when we needed and her and not there when we didn't. A very nice chat with her at the end of the meal provided us with some great suggestions of alternative activities in the area.
Portsmouth is only about an hour north of Boston, so we will gladly make this our home when we need to slow down for a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aj-Chillguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

No extra fee for dog, as other places in Portsmouth charge. Great location!!! We walked everywhere in town. I personally had a great view (rm 318); sorry to hear other people don't like the port view -- it is called "Portsmouth" for a reason . . . .

Clean room, comfy bed. The check-in was great. There was a little bag of doggie poop bags with my dog's name waiting in my room for me! Very nice touch. Total room, including parking across the street, was $199. I think that's a good value for the quality of the room and the location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews