We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveler rating
703
418
208
67
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
418
208
67
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level self parking shops and restaurants per day valet service new hampshire downtown area indoor pool christine inky harbourside starwood conference lounge elevator condo appetizers
Filter
Updating list...
1,189 - 1,194 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night for my sister's bachelorette party. Our request for adjoining rooms was granted. The rooms were comfy, clean and spacious. The bathroom had tons of counter space and lighting. The location of the hotel is perfect for a girls weekend. Plenty of restaurants, bars and clubs within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and i stayed at this hotel over the Columbus day weekend. The hotel and rooms are clean and well maintained, but, even though we are gold members and we stayed at the club floor, the rooms are very small. It was called a "suite" but it it smaller than your regular "Hamptons in". Also, the breakfast at the club level, is nothing to brag about. They have the basics, but, nothing more than any free breakfast ant any chain motor in. The hotel is old, the elevators are old and it shows its age. The Concierge doubles as the valet parking person and its was not easy locating him for either getting my car, or inquiring about the area attractions.
The bed is very comfortable, but, over all, in either service or anemities, nothing stands out in my mind

Room tip: Higher floors have better view
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobkarpNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear bobkarpNewJersey,
Thank you very much for your time in consideration in reviewing your recent stay at our property. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to share your experience and it is through these reviews and other feedback tools that we are able to improve our guest satisfaction level.

Many apologies that you did not receive the outstanding impression that we strive to provide to each and every guest. Our club level is designed to give guests a more private room along with the amenities such as deluxe continental breakfast and the personalized service the club attendant provides and we are disappointed to hear this fell short for you. We will certainly review how we can improve this experience moving forward.

Primarily, we are disappointed that the service you experienced did not prove exceptional during your stay and we would appreciate another opportunity to show you what a dedicated and caring staff we have. Please do give us another opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Again, we thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We came to NH from Florida for a family wedding. We had reserved a 2 bedroom suite and it did not disappoint. Other family members had also reserved the same and we got to see several others. They were all very similar. Large, well decorated and clean. Check in was easy. Reagan at the desk was awesome. She had worked with us to secure hair and makeup options for family members and great places to see and eat in downtown Portsmouth. We got there early to take a family tour of the Red Hook Brewery and she called us when our room was ready.
The condo (that is what it felt like) was completely furnished with a complete kitchen and we were able to have a sibling family meal with kids (while the wedding party was at a nearby place for the rehearsal dinner). We really enjoyed this. The 12 noon checkout the morning after the wedding was great for those who do not rise early after the fun.
Other family stayed at the Marriott (which is next door), but they agreed that we got a great deal.
Finally, some family stayed in the main building and all agreed that the Sheraton lived up to its brand........A great stay overall.

Room tip: You will not see the water due to the huge salt mountains, but downtown Portsmouth makes up for it.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed for three days for a sales meeting. Nice property, elevators worked fine and the front desk people were helpful. You can either park in an underground garage for a daily charge or park free across the street in a gated lot.
I felt that $185.00 per nite during the week along with the State of NH 9% tax makes this property too expensive for what you get. You are paying for location and if lucky, a view. If you do not mind the cost and want a great location then you will enjoy this property.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you like Starwoods properties, I suggest you get an American Express Starwoods card, the points add up fast and you get free rooms.
Front entrance is difficult to find, looks like a parking lot and it not well marked.
I asked if any upgrades were available and was not told about Club rooms, maybe they were full. Did not eat at hotel.
This location was fine, yes a little dated, but clean and attractive. One of my pet peeves is no fan in bathroom. Charging for parking is low class, especially when you have to park across the street. The check in clerk was kind enough to ask me if I had AAA, which did reduce my parking fee. But otherwise, for free, it was terrific. The bedding is luxurious and white, the mattresses are very comfortable and it was quiet.

Room tip: There are only 5 floors, upper 2 floors are the Club rooms, NICE
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhatchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews