We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I spent a Sunday night here. Our room was lovely, very clean with a nice view. We especially liked the design of the lobby and the staircase so we could easily walk up to the second floor without having to always use the elevator. Location in Portsmouth is great and we spent two lovely days there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night for my sister's bachelorette party. Our request for adjoining rooms was granted. The rooms were comfy, clean and spacious. The bathroom had tons of counter space and lighting. The location of the hotel is perfect for a girls weekend. Plenty of restaurants, bars and clubs within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and i stayed at this hotel over the Columbus day weekend. The hotel and rooms are clean and well maintained, but, even though we are gold members and we stayed at the club floor, the rooms are very small. It was called a "suite" but it it smaller than your regular "Hamptons in". Also, the breakfast at the club level, is nothing to brag about. They have the basics, but, nothing more than any free breakfast ant any chain motor in. The hotel is old, the elevators are old and it shows its age. The Concierge doubles as the valet parking person and its was not easy locating him for either getting my car, or inquiring about the area attractions.
The bed is very comfortable, but, over all, in either service or anemities, nothing stands out in my mind

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobkarpNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear bobkarpNewJersey,
Thank you very much for your time in consideration in reviewing your recent stay at our property. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to share your experience and it is through these reviews and other feedback tools that we are able to improve our guest satisfaction level.

Many apologies that you did not receive the outstanding impression that we strive to provide to each and every guest. Our club level is designed to give guests a more private room along with the amenities such as deluxe continental breakfast and the personalized service the club attendant provides and we are disappointed to hear this fell short for you. We will certainly review how we can improve this experience moving forward.

Primarily, we are disappointed that the service you experienced did not prove exceptional during your stay and we would appreciate another opportunity to show you what a dedicated and caring staff we have. Please do give us another opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Again, we thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We came to NH from Florida for a family wedding. We had reserved a 2 bedroom suite and it did not disappoint. Other family members had also reserved the same and we got to see several others. They were all very similar. Large, well decorated and clean. Check in was easy. Reagan at the desk was awesome. She had worked with us to secure hair and makeup options for family members and great places to see and eat in downtown Portsmouth. We got there early to take a family tour of the Red Hook Brewery and she called us when our room was ready.
The condo (that is what it felt like) was completely furnished with a complete kitchen and we were able to have a sibling family meal with kids (while the wedding party was at a nearby place for the rehearsal dinner). We really enjoyed this. The 12 noon checkout the morning after the wedding was great for those who do not rise early after the fun.
Other family stayed at the Marriott (which is next door), but they agreed that we got a great deal.
Finally, some family stayed in the main building and all agreed that the Sheraton lived up to its brand........A great stay overall.

Room Tip: You will not see the water due to the huge salt mountains, but downtown Portsmouth makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed for three days for a sales meeting. Nice property, elevators worked fine and the front desk people were helpful. You can either park in an underground garage for a daily charge or park free across the street in a gated lot.
I felt that $185.00 per nite during the week along with the State of NH 9% tax makes this property too expensive for what you get. You are paying for location and if lucky, a view. If you do not mind the cost and want a great location then you will enjoy this property.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you like Starwoods properties, I suggest you get an American Express Starwoods card, the points add up fast and you get free rooms.
Front entrance is difficult to find, looks like a parking lot and it not well marked.
I asked if any upgrades were available and was not told about Club rooms, maybe they were full. Did not eat at hotel.
This location was fine, yes a little dated, but clean and attractive. One of my pet peeves is no fan in bathroom. Charging for parking is low class, especially when you have to park across the street. The check in clerk was kind enough to ask me if I had AAA, which did reduce my parking fee. But otherwise, for free, it was terrific. The bedding is luxurious and white, the mattresses are very comfortable and it was quiet.

Room Tip: There are only 5 floors, upper 2 floors are the Club rooms, NICE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhatchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night in September. Our room and bathroom were clean and fine for our purposes, but definitely dated. Bed was comfy. As mentioned in previous posts, the view is nothing to write home about although that is not the fault of the hotel. Staff were very friendly. If I could give the hotel 3 and 1/2 stars I would. I can't give 4 stars because of the cost (almost $300 per night) which is pretty steep for what I considered to be average accommodations. The real draw of this hotel is the location; you can walk to all the fun shops, restaurants, and bars that downtown Portsmouth has to offer. Would I stay here again? If I got a better deal, yes. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $120 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing