We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel All-Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel All-Around”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hubby & I got away for a romantic weekend in early June. This hotel is conveniently located - easy to find from the highway and also perfect walking distance to Portsmouth shops.
The lobby is absolutely beautiful and has the normal Starwood perks- free lemonade and water. The staff was so kind. We were looking for somewhere to eat and the conceirge pulled out a map and starting drawing all sorts of lines. She let us know where the best seafood, steak, italian, breakfast, and pubs were. She said if we needed anything else to call her and I could tell that she genuinely meant it!
The room was gorgeous- super comfy king sized bed, very large room. The only gripe of the entire hotel was the view. We thought that "harborside" meant some sort of view. Unfortunately all of Portsmouth Harbor has been plagued with gi-normous salt barges that are an eyesore and completely take away from the aesthetics of this normally beautiful city.
Not the hotel's fault though.
Our second day there we walked around Portsmouth and crossed the footbridge into Kittery Maine. We were pooped that evening upon our return so we ordered room service. UNBELIEVABLE! Excellent food at an excellent price. Even with the tip and fee it was a fraction of what we paid the night before in downtown Portsmouth and the food was better!
The room was so comfy that we spent the rest of our stay in it. The best nights sleep in a long time!

We found out from our room service person that the hotel allows dogs- a perk for us. You would never know it as the hotel is sparkling and doesn't smell. It felt like a 5 star hotel.
We really liked the toiletries...not sure what brand they were, but everything was orange-mint.

We did not eat in the restaurant or use the club lounge, but my husband used the gym, sauna, and pool with no complaints.

A great perk- FREE high speed internet. A lot of places charge a daily fee.

Another perk was the fully stocked mini-fridge. We thought the items were reasonablly priced.

You have to pay to park, but it's only $10 per day for self-parking. Your room key acts as a parking lot card and you can come and go as you please. But again, the car is not needed as everything is walking distance.

Looking forward to going back next year with the kids and dog!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exo7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    356
    180
    58
    38
See reviews for
277
418
34
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Portsmouth is a midway stop to Maine for us. The Sheraton is a great downtown location and a short drive to Kittery outlets. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The desk personnel were vey helpful and friendly. The only downside was a parking charge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zutaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding we were attending in Portsmouth. Although the location is fine (easily walkable to the center of Portsmouth), the hotel itself is "tired". From the looks on a map it appears that the hotel is across the street from water (which it is), but there are huge salt mountains in between the hotel and the river. In fact, the location has the feeling of being in an industrial area because it is on the outside fringe of the center of Portsmouth. We had breakfast there which was very good. The bedding was very noisy (comforter was very heavy to use on top of you and the "down" blanket made a lot of noise). Very strange. The mattress felt like it had to be replaced. TV was a flat screen. Room and bathroom were small, but clean. We did visit the 2 bedroom condos they offer and they needed to be refurbished. They had a funny smell to them. We did not have any funny smells in the main hotel. We won't stay there again, but we will visit Portsmouth again as it is a great city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel has a terrific location to downtown Portsmouth. Near all shops and restaurants, albeit the hotel restaurant is superb. We stayed on the club floor which was nice, but not worth the extra money. Hotel staff is very accommodating and pleasant. I found it worthwhile to pay for the indoor parking lot and one's room key can be coded so that you can park and lock yourself in that lot without valeting.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iBK33845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I stop in Portsmouth as a halfway point on our annual trip to Maine. If you stay in Portsmouth, you want to be in the downtown area where everything is in walking distance. That leaves you with 3 hotel choices (Hilton Garden, Residence Inn, and the Sheraton). All of them are around the same price and not inexpensive (parking is additional) but the location matters. We have stayed at the Hiltgon Gardens and the Shearton before. We chose the Sheraton again this time because the staff there seems much friendlier and interested in your stay. We stayed on the club floor which is worth the extra $20 since you get free breakfast. The gym has been upgraded since our last visit and is great for a quick workout. Room had a big screen TV, comfortable bed, mini bar. Bottom line, where will I stay next time I am in Portsmouth? Probably the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Club level worth the extra few $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was our second stay. This time we upgraded to "club level" was pleased with the room but didn't see much difference from the prior stay. Safe is always smiling and the hotel has such a fresh clean smell. Downside, we took one soda from the mini fridge. And a few days later my credit card was charge $12. When I called to ask about the charges I was told it was for the mini bar/snacks we had used. I explained we had one soda for $2 . The rep was so nice and took the rest of the charges off. This isn't a dealbreaker we will be back. But it makes u a little leary....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Splendid in all regards. Location is perfect - we walked everywhere. Our room (two double beds) was wonderful and spotless. The supplied toiletries were excellent which is a departure from many properties these days. I took all of the leftovers home and I never do that. I still have the lotion in my purse. Check-in was warm and welcoming. If I had to find anything that was a bit odd, it has to be the elevators. There are only two so there are times you have to wait quite a bit. Even though we were on the fourth floor, we usually opted for the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie9264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Lizzie9264,

Many thanks for your glowing review. We certainly appreciate when our guests take the time to share their positive experiences with us. The toiletries are great products from Shine by Bliss. We think they are great too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Portsmouth soon.

Warmly,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing