We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Portsmouth is a midway stop to Maine for us. The Sheraton is a great downtown location and a short drive to Kittery outlets. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The desk personnel were vey helpful and friendly. The only downside was a parking charge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zutaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding we were attending in Portsmouth. Although the location is fine (easily walkable to the center of Portsmouth), the hotel itself is "tired". From the looks on a map it appears that the hotel is across the street from water (which it is), but there are huge salt mountains in between the hotel and the river. In fact, the location has the feeling of being in an industrial area because it is on the outside fringe of the center of Portsmouth. We had breakfast there which was very good. The bedding was very noisy (comforter was very heavy to use on top of you and the "down" blanket made a lot of noise). Very strange. The mattress felt like it had to be replaced. TV was a flat screen. Room and bathroom were small, but clean. We did visit the 2 bedroom condos they offer and they needed to be refurbished. They had a funny smell to them. We did not have any funny smells in the main hotel. We won't stay there again, but we will visit Portsmouth again as it is a great city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel has a terrific location to downtown Portsmouth. Near all shops and restaurants, albeit the hotel restaurant is superb. We stayed on the club floor which was nice, but not worth the extra money. Hotel staff is very accommodating and pleasant. I found it worthwhile to pay for the indoor parking lot and one's room key can be coded so that you can park and lock yourself in that lot without valeting.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iBK33845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I stop in Portsmouth as a halfway point on our annual trip to Maine. If you stay in Portsmouth, you want to be in the downtown area where everything is in walking distance. That leaves you with 3 hotel choices (Hilton Garden, Residence Inn, and the Sheraton). All of them are around the same price and not inexpensive (parking is additional) but the location matters. We have stayed at the Hiltgon Gardens and the Shearton before. We chose the Sheraton again this time because the staff there seems much friendlier and interested in your stay. We stayed on the club floor which is worth the extra $20 since you get free breakfast. The gym has been upgraded since our last visit and is great for a quick workout. Room had a big screen TV, comfortable bed, mini bar. Bottom line, where will I stay next time I am in Portsmouth? Probably the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Club level worth the extra few $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was our second stay. This time we upgraded to "club level" was pleased with the room but didn't see much difference from the prior stay. Safe is always smiling and the hotel has such a fresh clean smell. Downside, we took one soda from the mini fridge. And a few days later my credit card was charge $12. When I called to ask about the charges I was told it was for the mini bar/snacks we had used. I explained we had one soda for $2 . The rep was so nice and took the rest of the charges off. This isn't a dealbreaker we will be back. But it makes u a little leary....

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Splendid in all regards. Location is perfect - we walked everywhere. Our room (two double beds) was wonderful and spotless. The supplied toiletries were excellent which is a departure from many properties these days. I took all of the leftovers home and I never do that. I still have the lotion in my purse. Check-in was warm and welcoming. If I had to find anything that was a bit odd, it has to be the elevators. There are only two so there are times you have to wait quite a bit. Even though we were on the fourth floor, we usually opted for the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie9264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear Lizzie9264,

Many thanks for your glowing review. We certainly appreciate when our guests take the time to share their positive experiences with us. The toiletries are great products from Shine by Bliss. We think they are great too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Portsmouth soon.

Warmly,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We just spent one of our longest trips at the Sheraraton Harborside in Portsmouth, NH - 7 days. This I believe is the 7th year we have been staying at this location, and probably one of the best. When you walk in it is always a welcoming environment at the desk and it always looks so nice. The one constant that makes our day is Vivian who works in the Sheraton Club Room. Vivian feels like family to us, and always makes us feel so at home. The club room breakfast is full of so many options and hours are certainly accomodating to both the the business and casual traveler. We were very lucky with weather during this trip, so we were able to do all the events we intended. Beach (6 miles from hotel); Fireworks in Hampton(12 mles from hotes); Shopping at Kittery, ME Outlets (5 miles) York, ME Zoo (12 miles). We look forward to visiting the Sheraton Harborside again soon and visit our friend Vivian!

Room Tip: The rooms are all comfortable - but if you want a view of the bay / shipyard request a northern expo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $123 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing