We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveler rating
691
411
206
66
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
411
206
66
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelself parkingshops and restaurantshotel staffvalet servicenew hampshiredowntown areaindoor poolchristineinkyharboursidestarwoodtownhouseconferenceloungeelevatorwedding
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

A very comfortable and welcoming hotel. We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay from 8th August. Room service excellent as are reception. Wouldn't hesitate to return.......hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great location. Friendly staff. Perfect for a trip to Portsmouth. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanddogmdAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton Portsmouth NH , Aug 18 th ! The location is excellent but could use a little updating . We were on the club floor level , evening attenant was so sweet and were quite surprised with the breakfast room attendant ( noticed by 2 other couples that mentioned it too ) that she seemed not very friendly & that we were putting her out ! Overall a great stay and we will defiantly stay at this hotel again !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calebaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Portsmouth Sheraton with our friends and family for our recent August wedding. We reserved 3 townhouses and our other guests stayed in the hotel rooms/suites. I am reviewing the townhouses only, as I did not have a chance to see the other rooms.

Overall we were satisfied with our stay. The location of the Sheraton is perfect and allowed our guests to explore Portsmouth (Market Square) on foot.

The townhouses themselves were a bit of a disappointment, especially for the price. Although very spacious and clean, the decor was tired and the kitchenettes old. The appliances in the kitchen were at least 15 years old and the lighting and cabinetry hadn't been updated since the early 90s. The bathrooms also needed updating as well.

Overall, our experience with the staff was pleasant. We had a few room service deliveries (champagne, etc.) which were all well presented and the staff even made adjustments to their cleaning schedule to allow us to check in an hour early.

If you choose to stay in a townhouse, please know that they face a main road which is a truck route for the sand & gravel company nearby. The noise from the trucks is quite loud in the morning and could be disruptive to anyone who wants to sleep in.

Also, if you plan to park at the Sheraton, there is a $20 per car, per night fee that gets added to your bill at the end of your stay. However, the Sheraton wi-fi is complementary and very easy to use!

I would recommend staying at the Sheraton, but encourage the Sheraton Management team to make some much needed updates to the townhouses, as they do not match their $300+ room rates.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Travelkimba,

Please allow us to express our gratitude for the time you took to provide us with valuable feedback. We have heard your comments regarding the townhouses and will take the time to review with our Executive Committee members and ownership. We are sorry that these rooms did not meet your expectations. There is a parking charge at the hotel of $10 per night per car for self parking and $15 per night per car for valet parking. Our apologies if this was not communicated to you until your departure. While the parking information is included on our confirmation emails we will also be sure to review the check in process with our team to ensure they are making this clear at that time.

We are very pleased to hear that our staff was pleasant and went out of their way to make you comfortable.

Thank you for your candid comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a great location. I booked a 2 night stay as a special surprise for my husband. It was very expensive and I had organised a surprise gift in advance to be arranged in the room for our arrival. Upon arrival the staff had no knowledge of these arrangements due to lack of communication. To their credit they managed to arrange something at short notice, but the entire surprise was ruined. Our room was next to the ice and vending machines which were used 24/7 by other guests. This would not have been too bad, but the sound proofing in the room was non- existent. The door may as well have been made of paper and we heard every noise from the corridor. If staying here, make sure you ask for a room located away from any vending areas. Guests have to pay extra if they want to park at the hotel so be aware of this additional cost - I was not aware of this prior to check in although I may have missed this detail when booking. This hotel was tired and they did not even have basic niceties like complimentary hot drinks available in reception. You had to pay extra for breakfast which we did not do as it was expensive on top of what was already an expensive stay. If anyone reading this has stayed at a Hampton Inn lately - they are 10 times nicer than this Sheraton and by far better value for money. If you book this hotel for a special break - lower you expectations before booking in.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the vending areas
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBWooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Brisbane42,

First, please accept our sincere apologies that your recent stay fell short of expectations. We appreciate that you took the time to provide your commentary so that we may work to improve upon the concerns you mentioned.

We are truly sorry that the surprise for your husband was ruined, unfortunately, without knowing the details of your stay we can’t provide an explanation for this miscommunication. We can only offer up our apologies and ask that you contact us directly regarding this issue as we would appreciate the chance to rectify the situation.

In regards to the ice machine noise, please know that we are currently working on all of our ice machine areas to improve the sound proofing and we will continue to try to be creative in ways to resolve this issue. We certainly encourage all of our guests to let us know if for any reason during their stay they are uncomfortable so we can attempt to resolve the issue as soon as possible.

We do offer complimentary tea and coffee in the mornings directly off the main elevators. This service is available every morning from 7am to 9am and until 10am on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Additionally, we do offer complimentary beverages in the afternoon, such as lemonade or infused water from 4pm to 6pm by the registration desk. We are very sorry to hear we must have missed you during your comings and goings in the hotel. We will review these hours closely to ensure we are catching the maximum number of guests possible.

Again, we thank you for the time it took to provide us with feedback. We do hope you contact us to give us more information so that we can make this right and have another opportunity to welcome you to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel.

With Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews