We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical experience”

Strawbery Banke Museum
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Museum houses open in December only for Candlelight Stroll: Saturdays Dec 12 and 19, 5-9 pm and Sundays, December 13 and 20, 4-8 pm. Guided Holiday House Tours offered Dec 26-31, 10 am to 2 pm with last tour starting at 2 pm. Labrie Family Skate outdoor ice rink at the museum is open daily 9 am to 9 pm (except for occasional private rentals).
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great historical experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent about 2 hours visiting this site. A great combination of walking around outside, visiting inside the houses and costumed narrators. We learned a lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    236
    59
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, MA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun history with great gardens”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

A great way to learn about history. The docents are wonderful. Some in costume. The gardens are very special. You can leave, walk into Portsmouth, have lunch and go back. Really enjoyed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LAFSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable piece of history!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent a few hours walking around the old homes in Stawberry Banke Museum... it was like stepping back in time! What an excellent piece of history!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nice Quick Visit”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was very hot when we visited and empty at the museum. It is nice for a quick morning visit, but do not expect to spend all day here.

Something to do with kids maybe, my daughter would have loved the fairy garden but I would not return unless she was with me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stroll Through History”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Incredibly restored and preserved houses are in Strawbery Banke. The gardens are pretty and educational. We learned so much about this oldest area of Portsmouth and also learned why it is called Strawbery Banke! Some docents are dressed in clothes of the period they represent. All are extremely knowledgeable. The history in this area dates back to the 1700's through to the 1950's. It is quite an eye opener to see how people restored and reused the buildings over the centuries. It was interesting to learn that, again, some homes/apartments are being rented to assure income to the museum and a people presence during the off hours when the museum is closed, to discourage vandals from destroying the properties. Four adults enjoyed Strawbery Banke for about 4 hours and we did not go into all of the opened buildings! If you enjoy history, you'll love this museum!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawbery Banke Museum also viewed

 

Been to Strawbery Banke Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing