We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining and amusing”

Strawbery Banke Museum
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Museum houses open in December only for Candlelight Stroll: Saturdays Dec 12 and 19, 5-9 pm and Sundays, December 13 and 20, 4-8 pm. Guided Holiday House Tours offered Dec 26-31, 10 am to 2 pm with last tour starting at 2 pm. Labrie Family Skate outdoor ice rink at the museum is open daily 9 am to 9 pm (except for occasional private rentals).
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Entertaining and amusing”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Quite expensive for what it is, but plenty of great photo opportunities, and much fun can be had trying to get the "actors" to break character...good luck though, they're very good at it. Particularly enjoyed the un-restored house.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank blowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    236
    59
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A treasure for history lovers”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I volunteer frequently at a living history museum in Dallas, TX. so I was excited to go to another one. There are several restored homes and shops and on the day we were there, several costumed interpreters. Of special interest is the 1942 Country Store.which shows what it was like to live with ration coupons during the war. Also of interest was the Jewish immigrant house where an interpreter was cooking and explaining the meals and the home.

I would highly recommend this. There are grounds for picnicing as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Windsweptphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a gem! Great living history”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Husband and I are from England and thoroughly enjoyed this museum. Great setting good value and pretty gardens. Loved the role play of the guides. Allow 2 hours for this and liked the fact the tickets gave us two days for entry.

Helpful?
Thank Rosettastone57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great living museum. Well worth a visit. Enjoyed the history of the place through different ages and how the village started and how it got to how it is today.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely educational!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We weren't able to take the extended tour because of our time contraint, but the walk-around was educational and fun to do. What a heritage we Americans have!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawbery Banke Museum also viewed

 

Been to Strawbery Banke Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing