We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gardens”

Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden
Ranked #10 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally built for a wealthy merchant family, and later the residence of one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, this splendid home features an elegant 18th-century garden, interesting carvings and much of the original furniture.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

House seemed a teeny bit dark; was first tour of the season, maybe they need to open the blinds more? Great tour guide as at John Langdon House, also, gardens in back are very pretty. Wish I had a house with a beautiful harbor view like this one! Tip: You may only want to set one at most two house tours a day for yourself, is harder than it looks!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbara2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
254 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“If you like history and old houses see this one”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a private tour for about an hour in this splendid house. The guide who provided the information about the history of the house and it'ts former inhabitants knew a lot off background. Garden is worth visiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historic House and Gardens”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was happy to present a pigeon demonstration at the Annual celebration tour. I was so impressed with the property and gardens. The warehouse is really spectacular. I can't wait to go back with my family. I wish I had time to enjoy all the presentations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historic house visit”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love going inside historic homes and this one was a treat, inside and out. Great location. The staff was very helpful with stories of the town and the neighborhood. Just one of many homes you can tour in downtown Portsmouth.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you like history, go here”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The history in this one building was very impressive. Our tour guide, Sandy, gave us a great tour, and knew just about everything that had ever happened there. Original house was build 250 years ago, but has had many extensive additions, changes, and remodels since. Furniture and woodworking detail were fabulous. Allow an hour for this site - tour (she did a full tour for just the two of us) was a bit over 45 minutes, and then we toured the garden. Even in October they had nice flowers. Would really like to see this in late spring/early summer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank driving_vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden also viewed

 

Been to Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing