We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in history - great stop on our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS Albacore Museum

USS Albacore Museum
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kids will love exploring this retired 1953 U.S. Navy submarine which served as a test bed for other submarine systems and now gives visitors a feel for the tight quarters, tiny berths and general submarine lifestyle.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Step back in history - great stop on our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to visit. Museum has interesting, and educational, materials. Watch the video before you tour the submarine. Very hands self-tour of sub. Make sure to look through the periscope. You can sit in the various places the crew would have been while operating and listen to what was going on. At various points there are buttons and when you press great audio explaining what you are seeing but also with oral history / little interviews with men who served on her. Even the cook's 'secret ingredient' to the newburg sauce is explained! I'd suggest that you watch the video in the museum before you go onto the submarine. We'd driven past many times on our way into Portsmouth but today we stopped and it was well worth it. Note - unlike many museum ships this one is set up to encourage you to touch and really become a part of what you are seeing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chimneysweep1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    125
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are a history or maritime buff, this attraction is for you. Touring the actual submarine is not for those with mobility impairments, claustrophobia, or who have trouble fitting through relatively diminutive openings. We visited on a nice, breezy, warm day but the inside of the submarine was still rather hot. My spouse being a huge military enthusiast relished in our visit to the Albacore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great piece of history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a former Submariner I figured I would take a nostalgic walk through this old boat. To be honest what I was most amazed at was just how small this boat is. It gave me a new appreciation for how nice I had it and that was on an old boomer from the 60's! (I served on the USS Lewis & Clark, SSBN-644 back in the late 80's up through her last patrol.) This is a very moving testament to life on board a submarine. You HAVE to take the time to listen to the stories that are recorded and played back at different locations throughout the boat. This are told by the original crew members and are poignant and moving. Some things brought back a flood of memories, especially moving through the water tight doors and seeing the "christmas tree panel" showing the positions of the hull valves. Take the time to visit with the volunteers in the shop and sit through the film and look at the exhibits in the gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing that a crew of 55 men fit in this sub. The control room, the small bunks, the countless dials, and more. Very hands on! The recorded stories about the sub were great too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
“Very interesting!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very cool! You get to tour the inside of a submarine (it's very cramped in there!) Excellent value for money, $12 for the family was a steal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Albacore Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Albacore Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing