We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Kevin and Cassie have a great New Hampshire B&B--historic and charming, but with all the comforts of home. Excellent breakfasts (must try the English muffins with strawberry jam), comfortable room, great location for seeing the NH fall colors (must hike The Flume). Kevin had wonderful recommendations for local restaurants, too. Definitely a place to visit again!

Room Tip: Wonderful view from the 3rd floor (room 6).
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Federal House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for Kevin who already provides everything a traveller could need - a warm welcome, comfortable and charming room, delicious food (mostly local produce), useful information about the area, complimentary refreshments, plus a gorgeous dog, Bailey to pat. Federal House Inn really is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JSC2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Kevin and his wife work hard to provide the best of everything, from beds to pillows. Breakfasts to snacks, suggestions on what to see and do. We came without a reservation (unusual - says Kevin) but we're treated as if they were waiting for us

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 958Nancy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a relaxing 3 day stay at the Federal House. The accommodations were so comfortable and the home is beautifully decorated and so welcoming. Our host Kevin seems to enjoy his guests as much as we enjoyed being there. Breakfast was made from local ingredients and was delicious. Bailey, the Labradoodle is so well mannered and knows to stay out of the guest area, but welcomes a pat on the head if you go to him. I hope to go back for another stay!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has a room with attached bath. The other rooms had spacious private baths next to them...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our stay at the Federal Inn was superb. We arrived a bit late, but were greeted by Kevin (who is probably the most gracious Inn Keeper we have experienced), who proceeded to direct us to the fresh baked cookies, complimentary wine and port, a refigerator stocked with complimentary water and soft drinks- we had a quick chat - he could see we were tired, but told us to make ourselves comfortable and he would see us in the morning for breakfast. The Inn was built by John Adams and I could not have been more impressed by the integrety in which it was decorated reflecting the grandure of its first inhabitants, We almost felt as though we could have been guests of the once president himself. This is a beautiful establishment, offering all of the amenties, in a wonderful setting, topped off with delightful proprietors -- we highly recommend! Kat and Chal, Southampton, NY

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank enclaveskihome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderful get-a way to see a concert at the Flying Monkey in Plymouth. Very comfortable, well maintained and quiet bed and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was marvelous, I hope they serve eggs benedict the morning you are there, all local ingredients. Wine, home made cookies, water, wine cheese, coffee in the AM. Just really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Loved this place, it's really comfortable and welcoming with fresh baked cookies, coffee, wine and cheese, rooms are very comfortable, spacious and clean, and the owners are incredibly friendly. Delicious whipped blueberry butter on pancakes and fresh fruit at breakfast....mmmm. Already booked our rooms again for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ALGChevyChaseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#4 of 10 in Plymouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
44 reviews
8.2 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Address: 27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $89 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing