We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-A Way”
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Auburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Get-A Way”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderful get-a way to see a concert at the Flying Monkey in Plymouth. Very comfortable, well maintained and quiet bed and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was marvelous, I hope they serve eggs benedict the morning you are there, all local ingredients. Wine, home made cookies, water, wine cheese, coffee in the AM. Just really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
78
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Loved this place, it's really comfortable and welcoming with fresh baked cookies, coffee, wine and cheese, rooms are very comfortable, spacious and clean, and the owners are incredibly friendly. Delicious whipped blueberry butter on pancakes and fresh fruit at breakfast....mmmm. Already booked our rooms again for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ALGChevyChaseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Federal House Inn is a great little jewel nestled in the mountains around Plymouth, NH. The scenery in every direction is beautiful and driving to the FHI and exploring around there on our motorcycle was a constant source of joy. The road conditions are excellent no matter which direction you go. And there are lots of things to do in the area if you wish.

But the real find is the Inn itself. Kevin is such a great host, so personable and attentive to your every need. Although the FHI is quite old it is in great conditions with all the needed amenities. The rooms are quaint yet beautiful, each one different with enough room to stretch out and relax. The beds were super-comfortable and we slept very well.

We ate dinner at the fabulous Six Burner Bistro just a few miles up the road. They had the best homemade lobster bisque and key lime pie we've ever had. The entrees were also terrific. Breakfast at the Inn was great as well. Fresh juice, a fresh fruit and yogurt and granola parfait, and then probably the best eggs Benedict I've ever had! Kevin is not only a great host, but is killer in the kitchen as well!

We made our reservations online and encountered no problems with any part of our stay. We highly recommend the Federal House Inn and we will definitely be staying there again and again. Thank you, Kevin, for a wonderful stay! Great job!!

Scott and Donn Martin

Room Tip: We had the Doris Cummings suite, which was large, had it's own bathroom and was very bright. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our second stay, and we truly love it here... for some reason I sleep better here than anywhere. Must be the luxury linens! Gourmet breakfast is generous and delicious. Took our family on a local hike suggested by the owner and it was just as he described--scenic and peaceful. We also followed his advice for dinner and ate at the Six Burner Bistro nearby and it was awesome. This B&B is definitely a step above without seeming pretentious which is nice. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 4inthefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were attracted to this property because of the great reviews- and I personally love a crisp comfortable bed. The Federal House truly delivered- above and beyond our expectations. Kevin, the Inn keeper was extremely welcoming, understanding our late arrival- and leaving the most beautiful arrangement of fresh chocolate dipped fruit, and a warm welcoming note-

The room was extremely cozy clean. The bed was everything that they had professed. Crisp cotton sheets, pillows like clouds, and the perfect weight comforter.
They have thought of all the small touches that add up to a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Our breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Absolutely the best eggs Benedict I have ever had. Delicious fruit and yogurt parfait, delicious coffee and juice. Kevin was such a friendly kind host.

It is a no brainier that we shall return.

I loved this place.

MM

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claverack, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was in the area looking at housing and stayed at the Federal House Inn. Kevin had some great tips about places in the area. He's very gracious and serves a wonderful breakfast.
The room was very comfortable and quiet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Federal House is run by a very cheerful and helpful innkeeper, Kevin, who goes out of his way to make guests feel at home. From wine and cheese in the afternoon, cookies and port offered in the evenings, chocolates on the pillow, friendly conversation and local restaurant recommendations, Kevin is clearly in the right business. We requested Grandpa Cumming's room on the 3rd floor, and it was a light-filled bedroom with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The bathroom is next door to the bedroom, so we did have to step out into the hallway, but since it was private we didn't mind. The room and bath were absolutely spotless. Breakfast was a treat, too. We were quickly served two lovely plates of fruit that had just been sliced. My husband enjoyed the buttermilk pancakes, homemade blueberry butter and a side of bacon while I opted for the granola with coconut milk. We felt very looked-after. Thanks to Kevin and his family for opening their home. If we find ourselves back in Plymouth, this is the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank DJS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
3.8 mi away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
40 reviews
9.5 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Property: Federal House Inn
Address: 27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing