We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the past”
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were lucky to find other Inns occupied and as a result we found ourselves in a beautiful Federal House Inn where modern comfort is perfectly balanced with the 180 years old style house. The house style is kept as original as it could be and at night it is easy to imagine yourself in the year 1830 when rooms were lit by weak candle light and only creak of floor boards breaks the silence of night. You will be even more dissolve in the atmosphere of the New England during breakfast, which is so much better than fast-food meal we often experience nowadays. And I must mention the down pillows, which make night rest so perfect. It was our best experience!

Mikhail and Lyudmila Slipchenko

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mikhail_Slipchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Federal House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Innkeepers, Cassie and Kevin, spare no amenities! Not only was breakfast a total delight, but we were offered wine and cheese before we went out to dinner and freshly baked cookies when we returned. (Not to mention the port for a nightcap and a small fridge with soft drinks and beer which was also on hand.) The inn is beautifully appointed and provided a perfect spot to rest on our junket. Kevin was a perfect host!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the house are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank BWSiegenthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great location with nearby trails and farmers markets. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Wine and cheese afternoons, evening desserts with tea, gormet breakfast all included. Host Kevin is quite knowledgeable of the area and eager to make the most of your experience. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank cmerrill119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon and we wished it had been the whole time. The owners were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The room was clean and the decorations were lovely. We truly enjoyed are stay and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the Harry and Sally rooms (connecting door) on the second floor with adjoining, nicely appointed private baths. Nicely decorated, very comfortable beds, very clean and and very quiet. A cozy patio at the back of the first floor is an excellent spot for morning coffee. Afternoon and evening snacks and breakfast were as described in other posts and were very enjoyable, and the host was charming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Bill-Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked connecting rooms on the 2nd floor for one night. The beds were quite comfortable, the furnishings were lovely and each room had its own private bathroom with high quality soaps, etc included.

This was a charming B&B. The best part was the superb hospitality of Kevin and his family, who went out of their way. I challenge you to find better hospitality anywhere and we regularly stay at hotels and B&B's all over the world.

Included in the room rate was a wonderful breakfast as well as cheese and good red wine on arrival. There is also a complimentary drinks fridge. Our kids particularly liked playing all of the board games and the large yard with friendly dog.

The town of Plymouth is lovely and had a great feel about it. There is a lot to do nearby including bush walks, mountains, and covered bridges. We used this B&B as part way stop driving between Quebec and Boston and it really was a great choice. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Snitchbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Federal House Inn is a great place to stay. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean, and the owner is very helpful. One of the nice features if this B&B is privacy. The owners live in a connected, but separate home, so you never feel like you are intruding in someone's home. We stayed in the John Adams suite on the third floor. This room has an en suite bathroom. The room was cozy and quiet with a view towards the backyard. In the evening complimentary wine, cheese and fruit was offered, and in the evening port and dessert (we had chocolate covered strawberries!) A small fridge was stocked with complimentary bottled water and soft drinks. Breakfast was yogurt parfaits with fresh berries, and Eggs Benedict (yum!!).

Room Tip: The John Adams Suite has an en suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank c3travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#4 of 10 in Plymouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
44 reviews
8.2 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Address: 27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $89 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing