We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B”
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the Harry and Sally rooms (connecting door) on the second floor with adjoining, nicely appointed private baths. Nicely decorated, very comfortable beds, very clean and and very quiet. A cozy patio at the back of the first floor is an excellent spot for morning coffee. Afternoon and evening snacks and breakfast were as described in other posts and were very enjoyable, and the host was charming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Bill-Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Federal House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 151 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked connecting rooms on the 2nd floor for one night. The beds were quite comfortable, the furnishings were lovely and each room had its own private bathroom with high quality soaps, etc included.

This was a charming B&B. The best part was the superb hospitality of Kevin and his family, who went out of their way. I challenge you to find better hospitality anywhere and we regularly stay at hotels and B&B's all over the world.

Included in the room rate was a wonderful breakfast as well as cheese and good red wine on arrival. There is also a complimentary drinks fridge. Our kids particularly liked playing all of the board games and the large yard with friendly dog.

The town of Plymouth is lovely and had a great feel about it. There is a lot to do nearby including bush walks, mountains, and covered bridges. We used this B&B as part way stop driving between Quebec and Boston and it really was a great choice. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Snitchbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Federal House Inn is a great place to stay. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean, and the owner is very helpful. One of the nice features if this B&B is privacy. The owners live in a connected, but separate home, so you never feel like you are intruding in someone's home. We stayed in the John Adams suite on the third floor. This room has an en suite bathroom. The room was cozy and quiet with a view towards the backyard. In the evening complimentary wine, cheese and fruit was offered, and in the evening port and dessert (we had chocolate covered strawberries!) A small fridge was stocked with complimentary bottled water and soft drinks. Breakfast was yogurt parfaits with fresh berries, and Eggs Benedict (yum!!).

Room Tip: The John Adams Suite has an en suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank c3travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Apparently advance reservations are the norm for the Federal House Inn, so when we turned up out of the blue (having just spotted the rather small sign on the road) Kevin was taken aback, telling us we were only the third "walk-ups" he'd ever had. Our luck was in though, and he had room for us, so we enjoyed one of the most fantastic stays ever.

The Federal House is a real gem, a fabulous building with a fantastic history that you can read about on their website www.federalhouseinnnh.com or when you visit. It is superbly maintained and its standards of comfort are of the very highest. The rooms and beds are wonderful - beautifully furnished, amazing mattresses, top-quality bed-linen and towels.

It's not cheap, with room rates around $150 per night, but you get a heck of a lot for your money: fantastic home-cooked breakfasts, help-yourself-any-time drinks (beer, soft drinks, bottled water), mid-afternoon snacks and port, late-night home-made chocolate-covered strawberries, outdoor hot tub, use of the nearby fitness centre, fast wi-fi, top-of-the-range toiletries - they're all complimentary. You could spend twice as much to stay in a big chain hotel with far less to offer.

And what can I say about Kevin? Everything other reviewers here have said, and more. He is the most friendly, welcoming, accommodating, interesting guy you could hope to meet. The Inn is obviously a labour of love for him - he is surely far more concerned with his guests' comfort and enjoyment than with making money.

This place is an absolute must-stay, and we'll definitely book for longer next time we visit New England. I'd strongly recommend anyone travelling to northern New Hampshire to spend a night or three there - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank rogerbilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We drove up from New York to see a Ricky Skaggs concert in Plymouth, had dinner at the Six Burner Bistro, and stayed overnight at the Federal House Inn. With the temperature outside at 19 degrees it was delightful to come "home" to a cozy and warm house. Had a glass of port before retiring, then into one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. Next morning Kevin fixed apple cider, granola/yogurt/fruit parfait, coffee, and eggs benedict. He is one of the nicest, friendliest people you will ever meet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank mikeandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My family felt so comfortable at the Federal House Inn--as my fourteen year old son said "it's the best place I've ever stayed." We had lovely adjoining rooms, and were spoiled by Kevin's attentiveness. The chocolate covered strawberries the first evening had us hooked, but the breakfasts, with tons of fresh fruit, were out of this world. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Federal House Inn. We went with our kids and the owners were so accommodating! Despite the freezing weather we had an activity filled weekend. Kevin recommended we try Zip-lining with Alpine Adventures and we were NOT disappointed! It was a great experience.
The following day we woke to yummy pancakes, bacon, hot coffee, juice and fruit to prepare us for a day of skiing at Loon Mountain.
We felt incredibly spoiled coming back to the Inn after skiing with the wood stoves burning and the hot tub bubbling.
It was truly perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank wbbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#4 of 10 in Plymouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
44 reviews
8.2 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Address: 27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $89 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing