We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in northern NH”
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jewel in northern NH”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Wish we had been able to stay longer at this jewel of a B&B near Plymouth, NH. Warm hosts, Kevin and Cassie, truly cared about our comfort and helped us find a good restaurant and directions to our kayaking destination. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable, and the house has been lovingly maintained and kept in period with integrity. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
85
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
elkmont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at this end Sept. 19th, 2011 and loved it. The bed was amazing, soft, linens so special. The breakfast was so good, Kevin is a great cook. He made us feel special, had all information we needed when we arrived to see the town and where to eat. He also had wine and cheese waiting for us. If you can't climb too many stairs ask for a lower room. My hubby likes tv in the room but I loved that part. They have a great dog that is friendly and won't come out of his area (I would have liked it if he did). We would go back here.
Jana and Terry

Room Tip: we got the John Adams room but too many stairs for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank jazzyjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We chose this first destination because it was convenient to Shakespeare Under the Stars, in Waterville Valley, where a family member was performing.

The inn is a beautifully appointed bed and breakfast, our host a delight to befriend.

Thank you, Kevin and Cassie!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank enidkb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Federal House! The host family was extremely attentive to all details, and the food was delicious and generous. The Inn is meticulousy maintained and the location was ideal for hiking in the White Mountains and other nearby locations. We highly recommend staying there if you are looking for the charm and warmth of a B&B.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor with a beautiful picture window over looking the garden. Bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent an evening at the Federal House Inn based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The Inn is beautiful in every way.
We stayed in the Harry and Sally rooms to accommodate our family. Both rooms were tastefully decorated and spotless. The beds are very comfortable complete with crisp bedding and soft pillows. Each room also had a well appointed bath which was very convenient.
Additionally, the owner Kevin was very friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. He made a wonderful breakfast for my family complete with fresh fruit and wonderful eggs Benedict. Overall, an exceptional B&B. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Kief40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Oved, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We all had a great time at the Federal House Inn - the hospitality was superb, breakfast was delicious, and also relaxing in the Jacuzzi at night was excellent!

We highly recommend it. We were a group of 5 from 3 generations, the youngest being 7 months and the oldest approaching 60... We all had a good time!

The Amir Family, Jerusalem, Israel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank arielindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Federal house inn is a very elegantand beautiful place, with an interesting history. The rooms are very comfortable, the downstairs living and dining rooms give opportunity to meet people and have interesting conversations, the jakuzi very pleasant. The hospitality was very warm, good advice was given, breakfast was superb! For climbers - the location is very near Rumney rock climbing site.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
26 Thank Amir_Family_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Property: Federal House Inn
Address: 27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing