We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Common Man Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a review of the restaurant only, where I stopped for breakfast. The setup is a little different, you order in what looks like a little diner within the inn, and then there are spare tables to eat in what looks something like a function room. But, the food was terrific! I had a Western omelette with perhaps the best home fries I've ever had. Coffee is included with the breakfast, and was all served with a smile. If this is the care the kitchen takes with breakfast, I would expect this to augur well for the rest of the restaurant operation. Nice free wifi signal as well, and overall a very friendly operation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mclib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We are so pleased to read that you stopped at the Inn for breakfast. Our little Lobby café is open to the public and Jenny, the chef, does a wonderful job.
Try a night with us, I know you will enjoy the rooms, the Spa and the restaurant and lounge.
We look forward to your return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 344 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed in the Common man twice, and have booked to more visits for September and October. This is very convenient to Plymouth State University. My son will be attending in the Fall. It is like staying in a cabin. Room decor is quaint. Everything is clean. They give you a continental breakfast, but the cooked to order breakfast is wonderfu. The restaurant is also very good. I cannot wait to return in September.

Room Tip: If you cannot get the room you want online, call. The themed rooms book up fast, especially when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to seeing you at the Inn & Spa during your son's duration at Plymouth State University.
To most parent's, the Inn & Spa is a home away from home!
See you in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

it seems they have done some freshening up of the property. Our room had a new carpet, bed spread and pillows. The bathroom had safety additions for older travelers.....a big plus for us! The lighting is still very poor especially for older folks. Our dog was in heaven ...the main reason we chose the Common Man; however, $600.00+ for a few nights stay was to high for what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, so nice to read comments from returning guests.
We are pleased you enjoyed the changes we have made to the property.
The pet friendly rooms do have fireplaces and outside decks; amenities that make the room a little more expensive. However our pet friendly clients, seem to enjoy the extra touches.
We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have stayed here several times. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The least expensive third floor room is is bargain if you don't mind stairs. The continual breakfast is Ok but you can order a hot breakfast instead for a nominal cost. Great omelette!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

The third floor rooms are great; nice and quiet, as long as you don't mind some stairs.
Thank you for your comments concerning the staff, customer service is most important to us.
We look forward to seeing you soon and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Always a pleasure staying at the Common Man Inn in Plymouth NH. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, even Fletcher the cat. I just find it very relaxing and welcoming. We come to Plymouth every July for a conference. The only complaint that I have, is that my colleagues and I miss Foster's Steakhouse SO MUCH. It always had the best meat and I never had a bad meal there. And yes, I have eaten at almost ALL of the Common Man Restaurants and enjoy them totally, But the Steakhouse was in a class by itself!!!! Kim

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Kim, thank you for your kind review.
Always nice seeing you at the Inn.
Foster's Boiler Restaurant; our on site restaurant and lounge, offers a variety of menu options, to suite all appetites. I am sure you will be pleased with your dining experience during your next stay at the Inn & Spa.
We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This inn is built on the remnants of a defunct wood mill. Much effort was made to preserve as much of the old mill as possible in the construction. There are many historical artifacts and photos throughout the common areas making the inn somewhat of a museum. As for the rooms, we stayed in Lodge which was a very large suite with its own screen door entrance, sleeping and sitting areas, and a porch. The room was rather dark and the decor was a mix of log cabin and beaver dam with lots of antlers. I doubt there is a room anywhere else quite like this. Since there is not much in Plymouth beside Plymouth State University, nor is the immediate area interesting or picturesque, the attraction here is the inn itself.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites for an interesting experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

It is so nice to read comments from guests that have not only noticed, but enjoy and appreciate the history of our building. This is very important to the owner, to preserve the history of his facilities and the area, while adding the modern amenities we all enjoy.
The signature suites are unique and I also recommend our off property Cabin in the Woods, also 'one of a kind'!
We look forward to your return visit, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Property is fantastic.
The service and amenities provided are above and beyond.
If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with GREAT service,
amazing "themed" rooms(we were in "The Camp"!) and delicious food and comfort, this is the place to visit.
We had dinner in the restaurant with "Devin" who was amazing, Breakfast prepared fresh for us in the Café by the phenomenal gal who greets you in the morning and got THE best manicure in the ever so tranquil spa downstairs.
The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly and gave us great insight on the nearby hiking trails and walking downtown is also an easy trek to do from the Inn.
The icing on the cake however is the Inns Personal Greeter; FLETCHER!!!!
I have stayed at the other Common Man Resort & Spa (multiple times)which is also fantastic and
I would highly recommend this one as well.
Thank you Again to All,
Can't wait to come up Again!

Room Tip: I did not see all of the rooms but we were in "The Camp" which is one of the featured room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaJane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your VERY kind review!
So pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities of the Inn and Spa and our staff.
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
12.1 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
380 reviews
12.3 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
137 reviews
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Man Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Man Inn & Spa

Address: 231 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264-1524
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $130 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Man Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Common Man Inn is a cozy 37 room inn offering spacious yet cozy rooms, available with fireplaces, decks, jacuzzis and cable TV. High speed internet available in all rooms and Wi-Fi access in our lobby. Full service Foster's Boiler Room restaurant on site as well as a full service spa. Event rooms for weddings and meetings, up to 200 guests. Come on Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Common Man Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Common Man Inn And Spa
Common Man Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing