We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Common Man Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ashland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Trail Motel(Holderness)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
231
93
14
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
93
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgas fireplaceroom restaurantscreen doornew hampshirepet friendly roomgreat barbreakfast cafeold millrock waterfallwedding weekendtake advantagefranconia notchexceeded my expectationsshine cafeon site restaurantstandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 350 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My family and I have stayed here 4 different times and EACH and EVERYTIME has been OUTSTANDING....the Friendly Service, the Spectacular Rooms, the Warm and Cozy feel of the rooms and the Entire place, not to mention the Spa, that's out of this whole, FABULOUS :-)!!!!!....HIGHLY RECCOMMEND

Room Tip: The "signature" rooms are the BEST!!! As a family, we reserved the signature (lofted) suites. As a couple, we've reserved the "Camp", our favorite :-)!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAIL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn & Spa and continue to come back and see us!
We look forward to your return visit and we will make sure your stay is 'simply outstanding'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently took an impromtu trip back to Plymouth, NH so I could spend the day with my nieces. I called the Common Man Inn & Spa the Wednesday before to see if they had a room available for the weekend, but they only had one room available for Friday night because there was a ski meet that weekend and all the rooms were booked for the weekend. I had the pleasure of staying in the "Lodge" room Friday night and to say it was breathtaking would be an understatement! I fell asleep on the king size bed so quickly that I accused the staff of putting something in the sheets to make me fall asleep the next morning! I haven't slept that well in ages! The next morning I asked if they had any cancellations for Saturday evening, and I was told by the front desk that there was a real possibility there would be because someone was "on the fence". I left to spend the day in Tilton, NH with my nieces at the Tanger Outlets. Within the hour I had a call that there was a room available for me to stay on Saturday! I was delighted! Once again the staff went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and relaxing! When I first started going to the Common Mann Inn and Spa about 6 years ago, I had requested extra pillows. Every visit since I have so many pillows on my bed no matter what room I am in that I am in the lap of luxury! I concluded my trip on Sunday with a "de-stressing" massage at the spa that was simply wonderful. I left there a new person ready to tackle my day to day work responsibilities with a new outlook. Thank you once again Common Mann for going above and beyond for me and for making me feel that I was a VIP!

Room Tip: Ask for the LODGE or any of the specialty rooms. The pet friendly rooms on the first floor are lovely with their own fireplaces and enclosed decks. I have YET to stay in a BAD room!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnsplace1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our Lodge Suite, the Spa and our staff took good care of you.
We strive for all of our guests to feel welcome, remembered, relaxed and pampered when they stay with us. So happy to read you did!
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful in making our stay memorable. Overall the hotel was nice, a tad over cliche', but still great value. The restaurant had great food. The rooms were satisfactory. The lobby was interesting and fun. The location was pretty excellent, Plymouth State College is maybe five minutes down the road. Overall, it had some minor flaws but compensated with great customer service and offered great value. If I found myself back in Plymouth I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.
The staff and I, are so pleased to read that you were 'wowed' by our customer service!
Located between the White Mountains and Lakes Region of NH, the area offers a lot throughout the year and of course the Spa and Salon offer a variety of treatments.
Plenty to do or just relax, come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with our dogs. The pet friendly room location on the first floor was great to take the dogs in and out, it was spacious and very clean, and the bed was comfy. Having the dog beds was really cool. And it was great having the fireplace to relax by after a day of dog sledding with our friends at Barking Brook Dog Sled Adventures in Wakefield. The dining package worked out great - we used it for Foster's and the Italian Farmhouse, the food at both was excellent. We called ahead and were seated right away when we arrived. It did make us feel special. The food in the cafe was very delicious - having the menu items in addition to the continental breakfast items was a bonus. There was a waitress and front desk person that I thought had little "attitude", but they were overshadowed by the warmth and hospitality of everyone else and, overall, everything was truly excellent. I wish I had time to use the pool and spa this trip, but, perhaps next time. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marglark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

The dogs seem to always enjoy their stay. The bone and the bed in the room upon arrival are usually a big hit!
Thank you for the nice review, seems as though you enjoyed not only the Inn and restaurants, but the area as well.
We look froward to your return trip, I know you will be pleased with the Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Good:
This hotel is a great concept, has great history, and is close to Plymouth State College. After coming for lunch one afternoon when we were traveling locally, we decided to book a room at the Inn. The lobby is extremely welcoming with rustic charm and a large fireplace and seating area. They also sell "Common Man" items and some local goods like popcorn, jellies, etc. The main desk staff was very nice, and pointed us to our room on the third floor. The room was clean and again, rustic and charming. The bathroom however had modern style and had plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. Room had a mini fridge and vanity with mirror. Pool and hot tubs were nice. Amazing food at Fosters, great waitstaff and you can add your bill to your room.

The Bad:
The Bedding was very cheap, almost reminding me of bedding used in my grandmothers cape house. I don't know if its part of the theme but the bedding was clean however cheap and uncomfortable. The bed was THE MOST uncomfortable bed that felt like a piece of plywood upon 3000 springs. Very, very low quality bed. We then called down to the main desk to request a "foam mattress cover" which was advertised in the hotel booklet. No luck, no foam covers. We then noticed no microwave in the room to warm up left overs but that was fine. Woke up with a back ache. Next, I woke up in the morning and (tried) to take a shower at around 9:30AM. There was basically no water pressure and water would not come out of shower head after pulling up plunger on bath spigot. So I had to wait for others to stop showering then had a very unpleasurable cool shower. Pressure was slightly better shutting off hot water fully.

Conclusion:
I may stay here again if they addressed the issues above. I would definitely be back for the great food at Fosters. We stay at tons of hotels a year and this one just is not too impressive. They need to put more money into their rooms. This place has potential but again, not impressed. Now I need to rest in my own bed.. :)

Room Tip: Room 301 is separate and private however the bed and shower are horrible. I would have stayed some place else.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sammynels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay.
Our Inn has a rsutic style; however with this said, our amentites are not.
Matresses and bedding are such a personal item. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests. We do offer feather beds and foam matreess covers upon request and availability, I am sorry if they were not available when you called.
Our cafe in the lobby is open 24 hours and provides complimentary coffee, tea, juice and the use of a microwave. Upon availability we can have a microwave in your upon arrival.
Please request these items when making your future reservations and the staff will see to your needs to make your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews