We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter vacation with our dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Common Man Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great winter vacation with our dogs!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with our dogs. The pet friendly room location on the first floor was great to take the dogs in and out, it was spacious and very clean, and the bed was comfy. Having the dog beds was really cool. And it was great having the fireplace to relax by after a day of dog sledding with our friends at Barking Brook Dog Sled Adventures in Wakefield. The dining package worked out great - we used it for Foster's and the Italian Farmhouse, the food at both was excellent. We called ahead and were seated right away when we arrived. It did make us feel special. The food in the cafe was very delicious - having the menu items in addition to the continental breakfast items was a bonus. There was a waitress and front desk person that I thought had little "attitude", but they were overshadowed by the warmth and hospitality of everyone else and, overall, everything was truly excellent. I wish I had time to use the pool and spa this trip, but, perhaps next time. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marglark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
The dogs seem to always enjoy their stay. The bone and the bed in the room upon arrival are usually a big hit!
Thank you for the nice review, seems as though you enjoyed not only the Inn and restaurants, but the area as well.
We look froward to your return trip, I know you will be pleased with the Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    87
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
96
113
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Good:
This hotel is a great concept, has great history, and is close to Plymouth State College. After coming for lunch one afternoon when we were traveling locally, we decided to book a room at the Inn. The lobby is extremely welcoming with rustic charm and a large fireplace and seating area. They also sell "Common Man" items and some local goods like popcorn, jellies, etc. The main desk staff was very nice, and pointed us to our room on the third floor. The room was clean and again, rustic and charming. The bathroom however had modern style and had plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. Room had a mini fridge and vanity with mirror. Pool and hot tubs were nice. Amazing food at Fosters, great waitstaff and you can add your bill to your room.

The Bad:
The Bedding was very cheap, almost reminding me of bedding used in my grandmothers cape house. I don't know if its part of the theme but the bedding was clean however cheap and uncomfortable. The bed was THE MOST uncomfortable bed that felt like a piece of plywood upon 3000 springs. Very, very low quality bed. We then called down to the main desk to request a "foam mattress cover" which was advertised in the hotel booklet. No luck, no foam covers. We then noticed no microwave in the room to warm up left overs but that was fine. Woke up with a back ache. Next, I woke up in the morning and (tried) to take a shower at around 9:30AM. There was basically no water pressure and water would not come out of shower head after pulling up plunger on bath spigot. So I had to wait for others to stop showering then had a very unpleasurable cool shower. Pressure was slightly better shutting off hot water fully.

Conclusion:
I may stay here again if they addressed the issues above. I would definitely be back for the great food at Fosters. We stay at tons of hotels a year and this one just is not too impressive. They need to put more money into their rooms. This place has potential but again, not impressed. Now I need to rest in my own bed.. :)

Room Tip: Room 301 is separate and private however the bed and shower are horrible. I would have stayed some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sammynels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay.
Our Inn has a rsutic style; however with this said, our amentites are not.
Matresses and bedding are such a personal item. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests. We do offer feather beds and foam matreess covers upon request and availability, I am sorry if they were not available when you called.
Our cafe in the lobby is open 24 hours and provides complimentary coffee, tea, juice and the use of a microwave. Upon availability we can have a microwave in your upon arrival.
Please request these items when making your future reservations and the staff will see to your needs to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed for one night, during a quick trip to NH. Wish I could have stayed another, the room was so comfortable, quiet and convenient. I had my dog with me, and they provided a water bowl, and even a custom decorated dog biscuit, with her name on it. The bed and bedding were excellent quality, and there was a fireplace in the room. The spa was lovely as well.
I definitely loved this hotel... only down side is that it is not real close to much, it's a bit of a walk into town, and no great place to walk to, or around, without getting into a car.
They do a great breakfast, which is cooked to order at a little kitchen/diner area, off of the lobby. A sweet young lady works there, solo, making food for people, and it was like visiting someone in their home and having them cook for you. Very happy with this place, hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The pet friendly rooms were wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodeygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast in our cafe.
We try to make guests feel at home.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a rustic but very comfortable inn, kind of funky. Our room was comfortable. The restaurant was very good. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Overall, a fun place to stay and a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEcm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We love 'funky'!
Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i stayed at the common man inn in plymouth for one night in october, and had a delightful experience. the decor is wonderful -- they've refurbished a mill of some kind and incorporated a lot of the old rooms into the inn in the form of a wonderful quirky bar and lounge area, a great cozy lobby with a fire, coffee 24/7 in a little bake shop, which also sells brekkers the next morning, and they've added on perfectly country-gorgeous meeting rooms onto the property. the hotel rooms are typical in size, but with a lovely country-woods feeling to them, lots of natural wood, and artwork. it was like a spa in the forest, i loved it! i felt very at home, and absolutely adequately pampered here, though i didn't partake of any of the spa services. i was there for an awards banquet, and the food was *delish*! i recommend it highly, and i'd def go back for a romantic getaway, a girls getaway, or a personal spa getaway :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our rustic Inn!
Thank you for noticing some of the unique features and our history.
I definitely recommend visiting our Spa & Salon during your next visit, that will complete the stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been to several Common Man restraurants and so were not surprised by the quality of the food - excellent. It was the Inn that took us by surprise. What a gem! This builiding is a renovated mill and has retained some of the old characteristics. It has been rebuilt with a rustic log cabin feel. The rooms are tucked into varous places along the winding halls. The halls are decorated with pictures taken around the time that the mill would have been in full swing. It is a real treat to walk through the inn, look at the pictures, and to see the antiques as you walk around. - The rooms are generous and well maintained. The pool area has a small pool and 2 whirlpools - one with a stone waterfall - not to be missed. This is one of my favorite hotels by far!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
While the Inn was renovated in 2002; the owner worked with local historians to locate and display the photographs throughout the Inn. They transform you back in time.
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you at the Inn in the near futrue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a night away before a new baby arrived. Common Man was perfect. We got a great - spacious - room with a fireplace. The spa was wonderfull - facial and massage - and the pool area was perfect. We had a fantasic - and very affordable - dinner at the affiliated Italian Farmhouse. Breakfast in the Cafe was a great way to start the morning. We will be back, hopefully for more than one night.

Another note - my husband left his hat in our room - just a few days upon returning they had sent it along. Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjen2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are so pelased to read that you selected the Inn for your getaway.
We hope you return with your 'new addition' and we do our best to return items left behind, thank you for noticing.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
0.4 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
12.3 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Man Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Man Inn & Spa

Property: Common Man Inn & Spa
Address: 231 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264-1524
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Man Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Common Man Inn is a cozy 37 room inn offering spacious yet cozy rooms, available with fireplaces, decks, jacuzzis and cable TV. High speed internet available in all rooms and Wi-Fi access in our lobby. Full service Foster's Boiler Room restaurant on site as well as a full service spa. Event rooms for weddings and meetings, up to 200 guests. Come on Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Common Man Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Common Man Inn And Spa
Common Man Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing