We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable, and pet friendly too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Common Man Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“very comfortable, and pet friendly too”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed for one night, during a quick trip to NH. Wish I could have stayed another, the room was so comfortable, quiet and convenient. I had my dog with me, and they provided a water bowl, and even a custom decorated dog biscuit, with her name on it. The bed and bedding were excellent quality, and there was a fireplace in the room. The spa was lovely as well.
I definitely loved this hotel... only down side is that it is not real close to much, it's a bit of a walk into town, and no great place to walk to, or around, without getting into a car.
They do a great breakfast, which is cooked to order at a little kitchen/diner area, off of the lobby. A sweet young lady works there, solo, making food for people, and it was like visiting someone in their home and having them cook for you. Very happy with this place, hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The pet friendly rooms were wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodeygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast in our cafe.
We try to make guests feel at home.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    87
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
96
113
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a rustic but very comfortable inn, kind of funky. Our room was comfortable. The restaurant was very good. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Overall, a fun place to stay and a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEcm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We love 'funky'!
Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i stayed at the common man inn in plymouth for one night in october, and had a delightful experience. the decor is wonderful -- they've refurbished a mill of some kind and incorporated a lot of the old rooms into the inn in the form of a wonderful quirky bar and lounge area, a great cozy lobby with a fire, coffee 24/7 in a little bake shop, which also sells brekkers the next morning, and they've added on perfectly country-gorgeous meeting rooms onto the property. the hotel rooms are typical in size, but with a lovely country-woods feeling to them, lots of natural wood, and artwork. it was like a spa in the forest, i loved it! i felt very at home, and absolutely adequately pampered here, though i didn't partake of any of the spa services. i was there for an awards banquet, and the food was *delish*! i recommend it highly, and i'd def go back for a romantic getaway, a girls getaway, or a personal spa getaway :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our rustic Inn!
Thank you for noticing some of the unique features and our history.
I definitely recommend visiting our Spa & Salon during your next visit, that will complete the stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been to several Common Man restraurants and so were not surprised by the quality of the food - excellent. It was the Inn that took us by surprise. What a gem! This builiding is a renovated mill and has retained some of the old characteristics. It has been rebuilt with a rustic log cabin feel. The rooms are tucked into varous places along the winding halls. The halls are decorated with pictures taken around the time that the mill would have been in full swing. It is a real treat to walk through the inn, look at the pictures, and to see the antiques as you walk around. - The rooms are generous and well maintained. The pool area has a small pool and 2 whirlpools - one with a stone waterfall - not to be missed. This is one of my favorite hotels by far!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
While the Inn was renovated in 2002; the owner worked with local historians to locate and display the photographs throughout the Inn. They transform you back in time.
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you at the Inn in the near futrue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a night away before a new baby arrived. Common Man was perfect. We got a great - spacious - room with a fireplace. The spa was wonderfull - facial and massage - and the pool area was perfect. We had a fantasic - and very affordable - dinner at the affiliated Italian Farmhouse. Breakfast in the Cafe was a great way to start the morning. We will be back, hopefully for more than one night.

Another note - my husband left his hat in our room - just a few days upon returning they had sent it along. Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjen2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are so pelased to read that you selected the Inn for your getaway.
We hope you return with your 'new addition' and we do our best to return items left behind, thank you for noticing.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Inn is unique--a huge converted old building with a spa, restaurant, gift shop... and the big rooms worlds to themselves. This was a very quick work trip and we didn't sample much of what it's like to be there, but I wanted to say particularly how impressed both my husband and I were with the staff, from check in right through past our departure. He needed a quiet place to work early in the morning, and said the person at the front desk went above and beyond to set him up well. I left something behind, called a few hours later, and was assured it would be on its way to me the next day.

It just seems a place that everyone is happy to be--and about as far from a corporate hotel experience as is possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our Inn and our staff.
Guest service is most important to us, I am so pleased to read that we won you over!
Come again and enjoy the Spa and resturant, a lot under one roof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Common Man for a mid afternoon snack and drink and wound up spending the night; great decision. Very pleasant staff, clean rooms, good value- definitely worth a return trip when back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IP3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Stopped in the Inn for a snack and stayed the night-we love that!
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed our Inn.
We look froward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
0.4 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
12.3 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Man Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Man Inn & Spa

Property: Common Man Inn & Spa
Address: 231 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264-1524
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Man Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Common Man Inn is a cozy 37 room inn offering spacious yet cozy rooms, available with fireplaces, decks, jacuzzis and cable TV. High speed internet available in all rooms and Wi-Fi access in our lobby. Full service Foster's Boiler Room restaurant on site as well as a full service spa. Event rooms for weddings and meetings, up to 200 guests. Come on Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Common Man Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Common Man Inn And Spa
Common Man Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing