We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Common Man Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
232
93
15
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
93
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgas fireplaceroom restaurantscreen doornew hampshirepet friendly roomgreat barbreakfast cafeold millrock waterfallwedding weekendtake advantagefranconia notchexceeded my expectationsshine cafeon site restaurantstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 352 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been to several Common Man restraurants and so were not surprised by the quality of the food - excellent. It was the Inn that took us by surprise. What a gem! This builiding is a renovated mill and has retained some of the old characteristics. It has been rebuilt with a rustic log cabin feel. The rooms are tucked into varous places along the winding halls. The halls are decorated with pictures taken around the time that the mill would have been in full swing. It is a real treat to walk through the inn, look at the pictures, and to see the antiques as you walk around. - The rooms are generous and well maintained. The pool area has a small pool and 2 whirlpools - one with a stone waterfall - not to be missed. This is one of my favorite hotels by far!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

While the Inn was renovated in 2002; the owner worked with local historians to locate and display the photographs throughout the Inn. They transform you back in time.
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you at the Inn in the near futrue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a night away before a new baby arrived. Common Man was perfect. We got a great - spacious - room with a fireplace. The spa was wonderfull - facial and massage - and the pool area was perfect. We had a fantasic - and very affordable - dinner at the affiliated Italian Farmhouse. Breakfast in the Cafe was a great way to start the morning. We will be back, hopefully for more than one night.

Another note - my husband left his hat in our room - just a few days upon returning they had sent it along. Great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjen2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are so pelased to read that you selected the Inn for your getaway.
We hope you return with your 'new addition' and we do our best to return items left behind, thank you for noticing.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Inn is unique--a huge converted old building with a spa, restaurant, gift shop... and the big rooms worlds to themselves. This was a very quick work trip and we didn't sample much of what it's like to be there, but I wanted to say particularly how impressed both my husband and I were with the staff, from check in right through past our departure. He needed a quiet place to work early in the morning, and said the person at the front desk went above and beyond to set him up well. I left something behind, called a few hours later, and was assured it would be on its way to me the next day.

It just seems a place that everyone is happy to be--and about as far from a corporate hotel experience as is possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our Inn and our staff.
Guest service is most important to us, I am so pleased to read that we won you over!
Come again and enjoy the Spa and resturant, a lot under one roof!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Common Man for a mid afternoon snack and drink and wound up spending the night; great decision. Very pleasant staff, clean rooms, good value- definitely worth a return trip when back in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IP3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Stopped in the Inn for a snack and stayed the night-we love that!
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed our Inn.
We look froward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A trip to the Commonman Inn is always a great idea. Coupled with a chance to do a little leaf peeping and a visit to the Fryeburg Fair, a great idea became a chance to relax and rewind. The Inn was hopping with visitors excited to see some good weather. A visit on Thursday to Saturday works best for us to avoid the traffic heading north from the Boston area. A new room for us this trip, it was a loft. The amount of space exceeded our expectations and the phone call from the front desk to be sure all was satisfactory was appreciated. A family of 4 or 5 would fit very comfortably into the loft space, as would two couples sharing the rate. Dined at Fosters on Thursday evening after a soak in the hot tub and pool. Very comfortable, food was outstanding and drinks were ice cold. Up early Friday and off to the fair via the Kangamangus Highway, to check out the sites. Well worth the time and effort. Dinner Friday at the Italian Farm House, a short drive to listen to the poor souls who had to drive north 3-4 hours in traffic. Love being there ahead of all the traffic and watching people begin to relax with great food surrounded by a staff that knows how to make the trip worth it. Again excellent food, drink and service. A night cap back at Fosters and a sound sleep after a lond day. Saturday morning came too early but the drive home was completed by breakfast at the Tilt'n Diner, keeping everything in the "commonman" family. Thanks for everything, see you again very soon

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great for families. Easily accomodates 5 people (or two couples) with extra bathroom and plenty of space
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Fall is so beautiful in New Hampshire; especially in the White Mountains Region, thank you for including the Inn & Spa in your leaf peeping trip.
And of course for visiting our other locations throughout the state, what a fan, thank you!
We look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews