We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lopstick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lopstick
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“As usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed in our favorite Overlook . Same reviews as before , which is very nice but a few little misses. No refresh on shampoo . Also kitchen plates are few and light on quality. One large miss was house cleaning leaving the door unlocked even though a $3000 dollar shotgun was laying on the dining room table. One big win, hot tub was out , but they fixed in before we arrived and all was very well. Unbelievable sunrises and great bird hunting. Love pittsburg....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycnyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again this year. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the hunting was favorable. I would also like to thank you for your feedback. Your concerns have been addressed and our staff is already making efforts to improve on the points mentioned. We look forward to seeing you again next year, and thank you for your dedication to the Cabins at Lopstick.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    67
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
144
209
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

First off Pitsburg, NH had no cell service which is amazing. It is forced relaxation. We stayed in the osprey cabin. It has everything you need for even an extended stay, including a big ol jacuzzi tub at the foot of the bed. We brought all our own food and enjoyed grilling on the porch with a view of the lake. $50 gets you a motor boat for the whole day. Not the best fishing but great for a leisurely day. My only regret is only staying two nights. We'll definitely be back in the winter for some snow mobiling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks22885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
It is great to hear that you were able to relax and fully enjoy your stay with us. I am also glad to hear that Osprey met your expectations as well. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you this winter as you look to take on one of the greatest endeavors the North Country is known for; snowmobiling!

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York State
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed staying at the Cabins at Lopstick. Our cabin was comfortable and nicely furnished, the surrounding area is beautiful, and the restaurants and shops were pleasant. The staff at Lopstick is very pleasant and very helpful.

However, we specifically came to hunt for woodcock and grouse. The guide, Dave, was very nice and very capable, but there just isn't much game, and what there is is under a lot of pressure from numerous hunters.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyFromUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad your overall experience with us was all that you expected it would be. It is unfortunate that the hunting was not quite up to the standard you were looking for. We did have a rather rainy spring, which may have caused several of the grouse nests to wash out. Should you plan a return trip to Pittsburg, we would be glad to host you again.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I was not expecting to find the type of cabin we were given after booking the package on living social...it was a full 3 bdrm. house! It was somewhat dated but VERY clean. The view was spectacular. We were happy with our stay and have talked about how fun it would be to book the same cabin but bring our sons with their families next time. Wish we didn't live so far away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking advantage of the Living Social promotion, and for choosing to stay with us. On behalf of our staff, I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding the services you received. We are quite proud of the work we do, and appreciate it when a guest takes the time to comment on it. Should you plan a return trip all the way back to Pittsburg, we would love to host you again, and would be just as excited to host your family as well.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a terrific cabin above First Connecticut Lake with a great view of the surrounding country to the Northeast. It was high enough off the highway to be quiet, although there isn't that much traffic this far north. My wife was able to spend time with her writing and I fished with a guide, Bill Bernhardt, on the Connecticut River Trophy Section below the dam. Bill was excellent and the first guide I fished with who went through my fly selection and we used them. Most guides use their own stuff, which helps that day, but doesn't help you that much in the long run. We caught several nice Brook Trout and Rainbows and I learned a great deal from Bill. Lopstick is spotless and well-cared for. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_K_05677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I am glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Bill is a tremendous guide, and certainly is knowledgeable in all aspects of fly fishing. It is nice to hear that both you and your wife were able to completely enjoy your unique forms of relaxation while on vacation with us. This is, after all, the purpose of a vacation. On behalf of the entire staff at Lopstick, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a gorgeous place. We stayed at "the Camp". It is just wonderful. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry room, cozy, and the best porch overlooking the lake that money can buy. We have already booked it for snowmobiling this winter. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfinocchiaro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay in "The Camp." As you mentioned this cabin is nothing short of spectacular. As you may, or may not, know; this is one of our property managed cabins, and the owner spared no details in its construction to ensure that everything was done right. On behalf of Lopstick and the owners of the Camp, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again this winter.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at Bear Cabin which is one of the older original cabins on the property. I am very fussy about cleanliness and this place is very clean. The entire. Property is very well maintained and we enjoyed just sitting on our little porch watching the Orvis fishing guide give a young boy and his dad fly fishing lessons in the stocked trout pond. The purpose of our trip was to see moose, however we have not been successful at that. The cabin we stayed in was very completely furnished including a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffee pot, dishes, and even a gas grill on the porch. The view is unbelievable from all over the property overlooking First Connecticut Lake. We were here at the peak of leaf color so it made a stunning site. I would highly recommend these cabins to anyone looking for peace and quiet and relaxation. The cabins are rustic,but very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great-we were in one of the older ones and there are brand new ones, too. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Bear's Den. As you mentioned, this cabin is very unique in that it is one of our original cabins. Despite being built many decades ago, it still remains one of our most popular cabins. It is nice to hear that you too enjoyed it as much as many of our other guests. I also like the fact that you mentioned being able to enjoy the scenery of the fall foliage and of the family getting fly fishing lessons. It is enjoying those simple things that make vacations so special. On behalf of our housekeeping department, thank you for your compliments regarding cabin cleanliness, our housekeepers take great pride in their work, and are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure the cabins are just as clean, if not cleaner, than their own homes. If you plan a return trip to Pittsburg, we would love to host you again.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
17.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
3.5 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
16.1 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#3 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
20.1 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopstick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopstick

Property: Lopstick
Address: 45 Stewart Young Rd, First Connecticut Lake, Pittsburg, NH 03592-4153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great cabins, a spectacular view, and warm northern hospitality! Located in New Hampshire's Great North Woods, we offer cozy, housekeeping cabins with a spectacular view of First Connecticut Lake and it's surrounding mountains. Each uniquely different, individual cabin has a fully equipped kitchen, one, two and three bedrooms, satellite television, outdoor grill during the summer months and private porches with great views.Our beautiful area is a favorite of many fishermen, hunters, snowmobilers, moose watchers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Explore the woods and waterways of the Great North Woods. Paddling, hiking, birding, fishing, moose watching and more! Kayak a watery moose meadow or spend the evening listening to the loons call to each over the moonlit lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins At Lopstick Hotel Pittsburg
Lopstick Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing