We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrific place to stay!”
Review of Lopstick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lopstick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a terrific cabin above First Connecticut Lake with a great view of the surrounding country to the Northeast. It was high enough off the highway to be quiet, although there isn't that much traffic this far north. My wife was able to spend time with her writing and I fished with a guide, Bill Bernhardt, on the Connecticut River Trophy Section below the dam. Bill was excellent and the first guide I fished with who went through my fly selection and we used them. Most guides use their own stuff, which helps that day, but doesn't help you that much in the long run. We caught several nice Brook Trout and Rainbows and I learned a great deal from Bill. Lopstick is spotless and well-cared for. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_K_05677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

I am glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Bill is a tremendous guide, and certainly is knowledgeable in all aspects of fly fishing. It is nice to hear that both you and your wife were able to completely enjoy your unique forms of relaxation while on vacation with us. This is, after all, the purpose of a vacation. On behalf of the entire staff at Lopstick, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a gorgeous place. We stayed at "the Camp". It is just wonderful. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry room, cozy, and the best porch overlooking the lake that money can buy. We have already booked it for snowmobiling this winter. Love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfinocchiaro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay in "The Camp." As you mentioned this cabin is nothing short of spectacular. As you may, or may not, know; this is one of our property managed cabins, and the owner spared no details in its construction to ensure that everything was done right. On behalf of Lopstick and the owners of the Camp, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again this winter.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at Bear Cabin which is one of the older original cabins on the property. I am very fussy about cleanliness and this place is very clean. The entire. Property is very well maintained and we enjoyed just sitting on our little porch watching the Orvis fishing guide give a young boy and his dad fly fishing lessons in the stocked trout pond. The purpose of our trip was to see moose, however we have not been successful at that. The cabin we stayed in was very completely furnished including a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffee pot, dishes, and even a gas grill on the porch. The view is unbelievable from all over the property overlooking First Connecticut Lake. We were here at the peak of leaf color so it made a stunning site. I would highly recommend these cabins to anyone looking for peace and quiet and relaxation. The cabins are rustic,but very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great-we were in one of the older ones and there are brand new ones, too. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Bear's Den. As you mentioned, this cabin is very unique in that it is one of our original cabins. Despite being built many decades ago, it still remains one of our most popular cabins. It is nice to hear that you too enjoyed it as much as many of our other guests. I also like the fact that you mentioned being able to enjoy the scenery of the fall foliage and of the family getting fly fishing lessons. It is enjoying those simple things that make vacations so special. On behalf of our housekeeping department, thank you for your compliments regarding cabin cleanliness, our housekeepers take great pride in their work, and are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure the cabins are just as clean, if not cleaner, than their own homes. If you plan a return trip to Pittsburg, we would love to host you again.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife, dog, another couple and I spent labor day weekend up in the great north. We spent 3 nights in the lakeview cabin, which turned out to be a good spot. It is about the hill from 1st CT lake, but this cuts down on the loons at night and road noise from rt 3. I've never heard loons before, and found them really amusing. I'd like to note that the proprietor's maintain a large lawn around these cabins, which is really nice touch.

I enjoyed having the comforts of home (reliable wifi, tv), but seldom used them because there are so many other great things to do. We did most sight-seeing excursions recommended by the desk. This included both falls (garfield and beaver brook), 2 of the covered bridges, 4th connecticut lake, stargazing (amazing!), and a failed attempt to find moose.

I had a great time and can't wait to go back. The wifi was reliable and fast, so working from the cabin could be considered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thavwplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay in Lakeview. I am glad your Labor Day experience with us was all you expected it to be, and that you were able to experience the eerie call of the loons at night, and all the other natural beauty that makes Pittsburg such a special place. These are truly unique experiences, which should not be missed by any one. I am also glad you appreciated having Wi-Fi and the ability to connect with the outside world. This amenity was added this spring, and it has been greatly appreciated by all the guests who have stayed at Lakeview. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. See you again soon.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came across the listing for The Cabins at Lopstick on Trip Advisor and were impressed by how positive the feedback was. Now we can add to it. Although we only stayed for one night, we had an excellent experience. Our Magalloway cabin was large enough for 4 people, spacious, and very clean. Every aspect of the accommodation was pleasing. Staff was friendly and helpful. And the view of the Connecticut Lake simply cannot be beat. We recommend The Cabins at Lopstick without reservation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for your last minute stay with us. I am glad to hear that your first experience with us was positive, and that you would recommend us to any of your friends without hesitation. As you said, the Magalloway cabins are very spacious making them very popular units. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to thank you for your kind words and compliments regarding our property and services. These are greatly appreciated and welcomed as we all take great pride in our establishment, and enjoy hearing that our guests were satisfied with all aspects of their stay.

See you again soon!

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked a last minute deal and stayed in the Hillside cabin. It was just up the hill from the office but felt like we were miles away. The cabin was very clean and well equipped.It was was cozy and decorated with a mountain lodge feeling. The upstairs master bedroom had a very comfortable queen size bed. The windows at the foot of the bed gave a view of the lake and mountain and we could hear a loon calling on the lake. The desk staff was very pleasant when we made the reservation and at check in. The website was very informative-giving accurate info about the various cabins and their locations. We would definitely come back to the Cabins at Lopstick on our next trip to Pittsburg,NH

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It is nice to hear that your first experience with us met your expectations, and that you are planning a return trip at some point. I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you. I also thank you for your kind words and compliments, they are always appreciated. Hillside is a cozy cabin and does have that "disconnected" feeling. The fact that you were able to hear the loons calling at night must have made the experience all the better.

Thanks again! See you soon!

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Serenity Cabin at Lopstick with our two grandsons. The waterfront log cabin was even more beautiful than the pictures posted on their site and the view as breathtaking, day and night. The kitchen had everything needed from appliances to utensils and cookware. We used the outside charcoal grill too. We were fortunate to have clear night skies...so many stars, it was hard to identify constellations. The lake itself was calm so boating with the boys was wonderful, even if we didn't catch any fish; cruised Moose Alley, saw a deer but no moose. We used the wood stove to warm the cabin at night instead of the gas heaters and loved it. One of the boys left a game cartridge case with Nintendo games in it and they are mailing them to us. We definitely enjoyed our weekend getaway and hope to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Serenity is away from the main cabins...offers privacy and a stunning waterfront view of First Conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spangler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I hope you received your package safely. On behalf of all of us at Lopstick, thank you for staying with us in Serenity. As you mentioned, the scenery from the cabin during both, day and night, are breath taking. I am also glad to hear that the cabin had everything you needed making you like you were at home, this is very important to us. Perhaps on your next trip the wildlife will be more cooperative, but it is great to hear that you still enjoyed your experience with us.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lopstick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopstick

Address: 45 Stewart Young Rd, First Connecticut Lake, Pittsburg, NH 03592-4153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: $89 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great cabins, a spectacular view, and warm northern hospitality! Located in New Hampshire's Great North Woods, we offer cozy, housekeeping cabins with a spectacular view of First Connecticut Lake and it's surrounding mountains. Each uniquely different, individual cabin has a fully equipped kitchen, one, two and three bedrooms, satellite television, outdoor grill during the summer months and private porches with great views.Our beautiful area is a favorite of many fishermen, hunters, snowmobilers, moose watchers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Explore the woods and waterways of the Great North Woods. Paddling, hiking, birding, fishing, moose watching and more! Kayak a watery moose meadow or spend the evening listening to the loons call to each over the moonlit lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins At Lopstick Hotel Pittsburg
Lopstick Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing