We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven”
Review of Lopstick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lopstick
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Lopstick. We loved it!! Cabins are immaculate! every imentity that you could possibly need. 'the location of Riffles was perfect. Cannot wait to return soon. Working in a fast paced job, I just loved the peace and quiet, The foliage was at its peak. Best vacation in years..

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr84me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us in Riffles. It is definitely taken as a compliment that you refer to us a a small piece of heaven. Heaven, I assume is a great place, and just as you mentioned so is Riffles. I am also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation and forget about the the every day grind of life and truly enjoy your vacation, this is our ultimate goal in the services we provide for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you again for your recent stay.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    68
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
146
211
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Pittsburg area of New Hampshire. Nice small town atmosphere, for a larger town. We stayed in a mid-range priced cabin, and it was a great experience. I work in a fast paced job, and I look for peace and quiet to relax. This was it. Trails to hike on, Dirt side roads leading to beautiful lakes, and wildlife. Grouse, along with other birds, deer, red fox, turkeys, eagles, all within an easy drive. Locals say moose are in short supply this time of year, with hunting season open for game birds sending the moose into hiding. But we did see a LARGE cow, along with her two calves crossing Rt 3, the main drag running by the Cabins and up to Canada. They were beautiful! If you go the dirt roads, a high percentage are rolled out, compacted, so most cars can drive them. Just use caution for some pot holes and high rocks. There was some awesome food at Murphy's Steak House and Rainbow Grill at reasonable prices. Bring groceries with you to make breakfast. Not much good breakfast choices, and nearest grocery store is about half hour away. There are general stores and plenty of gas available, within minutes of the cabins, to purchase from also. We will do it again. Not alot for kids could be found. But we went without our teenage kids also. Plates, glassware, silverware and pots and pans were provided for in the cabin, so you won't need these supplies. Bring your food and clothes and you will be good!

Room Tip: If your there to fish or hunt or sled, and are on a tight budget, go lesser priced. The lesser price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The beauty of mother nature draws many guests to the Pittsburg area. It is reassuring to hear that you were able to enjoy every natural feature the area has to offer. I am also glad to hear that your stay with us met your expectations, and that you are planning on returning to see us in the future. It is because of repeat guests that we are able to expand our "Lopstick Family." I wish you the best until we meet again.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was beautiful up there. We went on October 4th, 2012. The leaves were perfect. We stayed in the Bear's Den. It was nice, but you get what you pay for. It was a quite, quaint place. Moose Alley was bust for us. We did not see a single moose. Be on the lookout for the covered bridges too. Beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This year the foliage has been spectacular, and it is nice to know that you enjoyed it. Bear's Den is a nice well equipped little cabin, and is ideal for anyone looking to get away for a reasonable rate. It is unfortunate to hear that you were unable to see moose, but at the same time able to enjoy the covered bridges. Should you plan another trip to Pittsburg, I will pray to the "Moose Gods" that they work in your favor to deliver a moose, and I also hope that you will plan on staying with us again.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The good: a nice welcome from a very professional smart reception desk. Nice touch adding guest names to the tv PowerPoint display for the day. Really felt like a getaway. Well equipped cabins and cosy. Lovely location. Felt like a very safe place to be despite being out of the way. Nice bathroom. Electric digital clock in bedroom was helpful as could see it easily in the night. Quiet.
The bad: LCD tv would be nice but only a personal preference as the tv worked ok. Rustic. Again a personal preference for something a little more modern but the cabin was ok. Felt a bit dark in some rooms. No wi fi. No cell phone reception which is not their fault but to make people aware.
The ugly: weird smell throughout cabin. Very pungent. Believe it may have been a previously used paraffin lamp. Went to bed with a spray of perfume on the covers near my nose to smell something different!
Would I recommend? Yes.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisdom_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. Several of our guests also enjoy seeing their names on the welcome screen, and compliment us on how much of a welcoming effect this adds to their stay. We aim to provide each guest with a well equipped and comfortable cabin so that they can feel completely at home, but at the same time like they are truly on vacation, during their entire stay. Thank you for your feedback on possible suggestions for improvement. We appreciate all suggestions, as these help provide a guideline for us to use when reviewing and improving on the services we offer. I hope that we will be able to host you again in the future.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the second year that we have spent a long weekend at the Cabins at Lopstick and both times it has been outstanding! The cabins are clean and equipped with everything needed to prepare meals if you choose to. The view is beautiful overlooking the 1st Connecticut Lake. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. We have already made a reservation for another long weekend next fall and are planning to cross the border into Canada (a short drive up the road). Because there is no cell phone service, they offer phone service at the office free of charge. If you want a relaxing weekend away from cell phones and internet, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min122464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your words of encouragement. I am glad to see that consistency in our services has been one of the primary reasons you return to us. Our staff takes great pride in hearing that the work they do is noticed and appreciated so much. You are correct in saying that the view is great, in fact I sometimes joke with guests about how I have the best office view of anyone. Choosing to venture into Canada is always a good idea while visiting the North Country, especially if you have never been. The culture available there is different than that experienced here, and that's what makes each visit unique. I look forward to seeing you again next year, and would like to thank you for your continued dedication to the Cabins at Lopstick.

Andre M. Dionne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent an extended weekend at the lopstick in the anglers roost cabin with my boyfriend and dog, we all loved it! The cabin kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed for our stay which was great. The cabin was clean, cozy, and just the right size for the two of us. The view of the lake from the front porch was great. The staff we spoke too were very friendly and helpful. We had a great time will defintely stay again. Nothing negative to say, I would recommend these cabins to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed Angler's Roost and your stay with us so much. Angler's is a cozy little cabin, I am also glad to hear that you felt at home during your stay. Just as you mentioned, the view from this cabin is spectacular, and has been complimented on many occasions. On behalf of the staff I would also like to thank you for your kind words of encouragement, it is our mission to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay in its entirety, and I am glad we were able to deliver. I look forward to seeing you again soon, and would like to thank you for your recent stay with The Cabins at Lopstick.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I looked for weeks for a place to stay near "Moose Alley" and I stumbled upon Powderhorn. The price was considerably lower than most cabins in the area, so I booked two nights. I'm so glad I did. The cabins are spotless and have EVERYTHING you need. Barbara was so incredibly friendly and helpful. We forgot our flashlight to go searching for moose, so she quickly got us one. She also made sure we had everything we needed for cooking at the cabin, and told us if we forgot something she probably has it in her own pantry. She was beyond helpful, sweet and very accommodating. Moose Alley is a short distance away and we were fortunate enough to see four moose. It was an amazing experience and we can't wait to return! I highly recommend staying at Powderhorn. Ya' won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rungirlsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
17.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
3.5 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
373 reviews
15.2 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#4 of 7 in Colebrook
18 reviews
19.0 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
22.8 mi away
Les Trois Etangs
Les Trois Etangs
#2 of 2 in La Patrie
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopstick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopstick

Property: Lopstick
Address: 45 Stewart Young Rd, First Connecticut Lake, Pittsburg, NH 03592-4153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great cabins, a spectacular view, and warm northern hospitality! Located in New Hampshire's Great North Woods, we offer cozy, housekeeping cabins with a spectacular view of First Connecticut Lake and it's surrounding mountains. Each uniquely different, individual cabin has a fully equipped kitchen, one, two and three bedrooms, satellite television, outdoor grill during the summer months and private porches with great views.Our beautiful area is a favorite of many fishermen, hunters, snowmobilers, moose watchers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Explore the woods and waterways of the Great North Woods. Paddling, hiking, birding, fishing, moose watching and more! Kayak a watery moose meadow or spend the evening listening to the loons call to each over the moonlit lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins At Lopstick Hotel Pittsburg
Lopstick Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing