We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, very homey and clean-friendly staff”
Review of Lopstick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lopstick
Certificate of Excellence
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, very homey and clean-friendly staff”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed in Magalloway cabin on the hillside overlooking First Connecticut lake-very beautiful and quiet. Cabin was very clean, comfortable, fully equipped to cook and felt homey. The cabin has internet so that was a nice bonus. everyone i talked to on staff was very helpful and friendly. Great location for all activities and access to trails and lakes. i will most definitely always stay at Lopstick cabins when i return to the area! when i got home i had received a coupon for a discounted stay too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHGirl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the cabin you chose met your expectations. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the staff for the kind compliments. It is always great to hear that a guest appreciates our services as this makes doing our job much easier. The Magalloway Cabins are truly a great value, and are very popular among our guests, as they seem to suit the needs of almost any one. I am also glad to hear that you received your coupon for a future stay, and that you are considering another stay with us. It is by having repeat guests that we are able to build upon and expand the "Lopstick Family," and so I would like to conclude by thanking you for your stay, and hope that we get to see you again soon.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    69
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
151
217
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in Mallogaway 2 for two nights. The view is beautiful First Connecticut Lake and sunrises and sunsets are delightful. The cabin is more rustic than our taste although clean and spacious. It is a trip back in time to the 70's with Formica counters and pine cabinets, yard sale mismatched furniture and worn pine floors, but hey, it is a cabin (actually a duplex with log siding). It has been smoked in and there is a lingering odor but is was not obvious until the second day. There are many choices for cabin styles and we made "last minute" reservations online and would recommend calling for better details and cabin choices. We were disappointed as it was not what we were expecting and almost all the Tripadvisor reviews we read were positive. In all fairness, we did not approach the desk after checking in as we were just handed a key and told where the cabin was when we checked in, no "welcome" or "let us know if there is anything we can do" type of greeting. We felt stuck with this reservation. This is a great cabin for a hunting/fishing/snowmobiling trip - just not for a couple, in our case.

Room Tip: call first and ask lots of questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHYankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us, and hope that this experience will not discourage you from a future stay. While the cabin you chose did not meet your expectations, I am sure we do have one that would. We offer 43 cabins, and they all vary in amenities, and features, which gives each one its own unique character. Our staff is very knowledgeable and familiar with each cabin. We are always more than willing to go out of our way to work with any guest to ensure that they are matched with the best cabin to suit their needs. It is unfortunate that you were unable to experience this, and I hope you will give us another chance, so that you too can experience the customer service other Trip Advisor guests have complimented us on. If we can help you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our first visit to these cozy cabins was over Labor Day Weekend for the Moose Festival. We looked over the brochure and chose a cabin that suited our needs best. We needed a 2 bedroom. What a wonderful surprise to find that our cabin was exactly as explained in the brochure: cozy, comfortable, clean with gas fireplace, deck with a wonderful view, living room, and full kitchen. We loved the idea of cooking breakfast in the morning before venturing out looking for "moose". Our cabin was Hillside. This time we only went with our brother and sister in law, but after such a great experience, we plan to return with children and grandchildren and rent one of the larger rooms. Snowmobiling, fishing, canoeing are few of the activities available. The First Connecticult Lake is a very easy walk from the property along with a great ice cream shop for dessert in the early evening. You can always bring a passport and drive into Canada which I was told was only about 13 miles up the road. Thanks Lopstick for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patricia438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Patricia,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your first of many stays with us. We take a great deal of time in producing all our advertising material so that they are as accurate and informative as possible. It is nice to know that you were able to make a well informed decision based on these materials and that everything met your expectations. I am also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the activities the area has to offer, as these are the experiences that make a Great North Woods visit memorable. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were looking for one night to end our early summer vacation in the Great North Woods. The folks were very helpful, suggesting a top notch one bedroom cabin named "Moose". It is located on the top of hill with a breath-taking vista of First Connecticut Lake. We enjoyed the brief visit of a fancy red fox and the call of loons at dusk. The cabin was decorated with quality mountain and lake art and craft pieces. The bed and chairs were comfortable. The staff was hospitable and highly informed. Good coffee in the morning and a nice gift and tackle shop. When we arrived home a warm letter of appreciation and discount coupon for a future stay was in the mail. Great place, great people, and great memories.

Room Tip: The staff will custom fit you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear John,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your night with us. Moose is a nice little cabin for two people who want to get away for any period of time. Just as you said the view of the lake is spectacular from this cabin, and being able to hear the loons must make the experience all the more enjoyable. On behalf of the entire staff at Lopstick I would like to thank you for your kind words in regards to our service to our guests. It is always appreciated to know that our guests truly appreciate all that we do. I am also glad to hear that you received your thank you card with the coupon for a return stay, and hope that we will be able to see you again if not this year, in the future.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed the two days before the Labor Day weekend. The property was nice. The view was great though somewhat marred by the power lines. This property is not on the lake but the lake is across the street. For swimming you need to go to the park just down the road.

We stayed in the Bears Den cabin. It was rustic but with all the modern amenities. It had character and the sloping floor of the front room added to the charm. This cabin is not fancy but considering the price it was a very good value. If you want fancy check out their other cabins. Though for a higher price I would look at some of the businesses that are right on the water.

The cabin was very clean and really does has everything. Just bring clothes and food. The mattress on the bed was a challenge for two people as it sagged quite a bit in the middle. Sort of hammock like. But as I said it was a rustic cabin and very fairly priced.

Very peaceful and quiet place. It has it all. Good for those on a budget or someone that wants a more upscale experience.

Room Tip: Bear's Den is rustic and basic. Good for those on a budget. Plenty big enough for up tp 5 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAR845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were able to find all the characteristics that make the Bear's Den unique. One characteristic we were not aware of that I would like to thank you for is bringing the mattress to our attention. We were unaware of its condition, and as a result of this, we will be replacing it in the near future. As you also mentioned in your review, there is something here for everyone, which makes us all the more attractive to all types of vacationers. If you plan a return visit to Pittsburg in the future, we hope to see you again.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I adored Lopstick, as did my mother! We had not been away from home in years and we were a little apprehensive. There was no reason to be. The staff was extremely helpful and was able to advise us on all of the best things to do in the area. The view of the Connecticut Lake was perfect and I could see the Milky Way at night, so definitely do some stargazing if you go! We had a smoking cabin but we honestly could not tell that anyone had ever smoked in there. I would have felt comfortable eating off the floor but they gave us dishes and everything needed for an extended stay- we should have brought food so we could cook. We will next time. We only planned to stay one night but ended up there for two, not that we minded. Honestly the worst part of our trip was a brusque border guard on our way back from one of our forays in to Canada- only 16 miles away, and they were able to give us advice on Canada too because they know all about what is over the border and how to cross. They even let us have our dog with us- the owners are obviously dog people. The property is beautiful, well run, and we look forward to going again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky33823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. It is nice to hear that we were able to surpass your expectations. Everyone on our staff from the front office to the housekeepers take great pride in our work and appreciate any feedback we get on it. If stargazing is something you enjoy, you should consider a stay on a Saturday night, as on clear nights, Jim, our evening front office attendant does a segment on this after his shift ends. Just as you look forward to coming back, we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lopstick is our favorite vacation place. This is our 4th year going. We absolutely love it. The cabins are so clean and the staff is so so nice! We love the cabins. We have stayed in Riffles, Morning View, Gray Jay and this time we will be staying in Kiley! I can't wait! We look forward to coming here every year! We look forward to making this a tradition. :) HIGHLY recommend it there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Carrieann,

It's great to hear that you can not get enough of us at Lopstick! You are correct in saying that one thing that make us unique is that we have something for everyone. Each cabin is unique in its own way and they all have a special charm and character about them. I think its great that you want to make it a tradition of trying new cabins each time, this will help you to remember each stay for its uniqueness. We can't wait to see you next year and look forward to seeing which cabin you'll choose to stay in.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
17.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
15.3 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
57 reviews
19.2 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
18 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopstick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopstick

Property: Lopstick
Address: 45 Stewart Young Rd, First Connecticut Lake, Pittsburg, NH 03592-4153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great cabins, a spectacular view, and warm northern hospitality! Located in New Hampshire's Great North Woods, we offer cozy, housekeeping cabins with a spectacular view of First Connecticut Lake and it's surrounding mountains. Each uniquely different, individual cabin has a fully equipped kitchen, one, two and three bedrooms, satellite television, outdoor grill during the summer months and private porches with great views.Our beautiful area is a favorite of many fishermen, hunters, snowmobilers, moose watchers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Explore the woods and waterways of the Great North Woods. Paddling, hiking, birding, fishing, moose watching and more! Kayak a watery moose meadow or spend the evening listening to the loons call to each over the moonlit lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins At Lopstick Hotel Pittsburg
Lopstick Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing