We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's everything the website says and more...”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2009

If you want to escape to the great North Woods wilderness and still have comfort and fabulous food, this is the place. The pictures posted on the Tall Timber website were very accurate, so there were no surprises except pleasant surprises. The staff was helpful and very friendly, made suggestions to see local sights and gave great directions (some of the sights were off the beaten track, miles off main roads). We enjoyed moose watching, and yes we saw dozens of the huge animals, fishing, hiking and sight seeing. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooseWatcher09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

Great place, great foood, awesome wildlife.
Our 5 trip in 18 months.
Just an incredible place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webclickusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had a great stay at Tall Timber. We were looking for a peaceful few days away from it all, and found it there. We greatly enjoyed the lake!! Our cabin was exactly what we expected, very clean and comfortable. The staff at Tall Timber could not be friendlier, more efficient or helpful. The food in the tavern and in the Rainbow Grille was excellent. Again, the service was outstanding,

We look forward to next summer and hopefully another visit to Tall Timber.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilysnonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We enjoyed our stay but thought the location would be more remote. The Lodge is situated on a small lake or pond ringed with residences and is situated not in a woods location but in a more suburban feeling neighborhood due to the number of cottages. We were also disappointed in the swimming situation (or lack of) not only at the resort but the area as a whole. There is no beach at the resort, so we went in at the canoe launch with water shoes(a must). There is a town beach a half mile away but rather mucky. The lakes in the area are not big on swimming access.
The lake is shallow so trout fishing in August is not exactly gangbusters. We did get a few small bass.
The restaurant is probably the best in the area. We did have a major flop with a steak that was so covered with pepper seasoning it was difficult to eat even with it all scraped off. I had a fried haddock that seemed to have a lot of pepper in the coating also but was still ok to eat and was definitely a huge portion. The prime rib was one of the best I have ever eaten, and I eat a lot of it. Lobster pie was also good.
This would be a perfect terminus for a foliage trip in the cooler months when swimming is not an issue. Or a spring fishing trip. We heard winter was very popular with snowmobilers.
We looked for moose but had no luck. Nightime was reccommended but we were usually not in the mood after a big meal and a couple of drinks.
The staff was very helpful and freindly. The lodge would be much improved with the addition of a small beach or swimming dock.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We went to Pittsburg to visit Moose Alley and hopefully (futile) see moose. The Tall Timber Lodge was a great location for this purpose, with the cabins facing onto Back Lake. Not luxurious, but clean and met all the necessities comfortably.

The restaurant that goes with the hotel - the Rainbow Grill - was a true gem, with wonderfully prepared food, a diverse menu, and exxtremely reasonable prices - comparing more than favorably for both quality and value than anything here in the Boston area.

The Pittsburg, NH area is remote - but if you are there and want a clean relaxing place, with good food, I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The service at Tall Timber was top notch and sets them apart from other similar establishments. They accomodated our every need, going above and beyond to ensure that our total experience exceeded our expectations. Bess (where we stayed) was beautiful - well stocked with linens and kitchen utensils/appliances, clean, and private. There were six of us staying there for a week, and we found that there was plenty of room for everyone to have their space. The large deck overlooking the lake was well stocked with plenty of chairs, lounge chairs, and a gas grill. We also had a motorized boat for our own use at our own private dock. The restaurant at the Main Lodge (Rainbow Grille) was fabulous, with excellent food and service. Back Lake is a beautiful, quiet lake with good fishing. There are lots of opportunities to get out and hike, fish, bike, boat, and do other outdoor activities. It was a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maple431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

What can I say, a relaxing atmosphere, unbelievable food in the grill, constant friendly service... this is a get-a-way that you should not miss! We love coming to Pittsburg and this is the only place that has it all!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontGirlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: $182 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing