We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God's Country Retreat”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The family has spent many a time at Tall Timber Lodge to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and just to unwind from the the every day lives the family lives. From the oldest member of the family to the youngest, there are offerings to keep all the family involved that make for cherished family memories. No matter the season, we have engaged the family in daily trips or longer to Montreal, fishing lessons, boating, swimming, skiing at the local ski areas, snowshoeing, skating, hiking, around-the-table board games and favorite family card games.
The Rainbow Grille stands out with all the food fare offerings from seafood to elk and ostrich and more. The family's palette is tempted with many choices and we have never been disappointed with the service, friendly wait staff and especially the ambience that keeps the younger family members entertained. I am pleased to see that the present owners have added to the uniqueness of the setting since it was my great uncle and aunt along with their sons that built the original lodge and surrounding cabins.

Room Tip: Be it the cabins, across the lake accommodations or in the lodge, they all have their positives and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarmouthite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our lodge. Tall Timber and this area have many activities to offer family members of all ages. In fact, your story about how your family enjoys this area, in different seasons, is very similar to how our own family grew to love this part of New Hampshire and all of the attractions that make it so special. in the end, we loved it so much that we had to live up here!

We hope to have you and your family return to stay with us again someday.

Thanks again,

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 386 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

For the past few years we have been staying at Tall Timber Lodge for our February vacation. We have stayed at a few different places in Pittsburg but Tall Timber is the best and our favorite. It gives you the feel through the warm decor and the casual, comforting ambiance of a true North Country lodge. The people who work here are very nice and professional but not overbearing. I love that. They help you if you ask but otherwise leave you alone. We have stayed in Cubs for the past 3 years, one of the Woodside cabins. Wonderful cabin with direct snowmobile trail access. We don't drive too much when we are in Pittsburg; the snowmobile trails offer access to the main lodge as well as the town. We even snowmobile to dinner at the Rainbow Grill. The cabin has a full kitchen and we make most of our meals at the cabin but we always enjoy at least one dinner at The Rainbow Grill in the main lodge. Go. You won't be disappointed. Sad that our "Winter Wonderland" vacation is over - see you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSP392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you again for staying with us this winter and we're glad that your family had such a good time on your getaway to Pittsburg. The snowmobile trails have been great this year, due in large part to mother nature and the hard work of our local snowmobile club, the Pittsburg Ridge Runners.

We'll hope for similar conditions next year and look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've come up to fly fish just about every summer since 2007. The service, cleanliness and good cheer at Tall Timber is consistently there. Dinners at the Rainbow Grille are an ideal way to end the day, and there's just tremendous peace at looking out on Back Lake and hearing the loons early or late in the day.

Fly fishing tends to be pretty good, although some summers the dam flows are either too high or too low. Nymphing is the best way to catch fish consistently. Last June, Fish & Game did not stock the waters until July, due to budget cuts. Hopefully, they'll understand that they're affecting the region's economy when they do don't stock.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you again for booking with us for this upcoming summer, and thank you for your kind comments about our lodge and staff.

Yes, the fishing / river conditions were very challenging last year, but we hope that better weather will be on the way for this summer. Unfortunately, it rained for nearly six weeks straight at the beginning of last summer, making for some high water and tough wading for the river fishermen.

Let's hope for better weather this year!

Regards,
Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had another great vacation at Talltimber have been coming up here for about 20 years and have never had a bad stay this place has it all awesome staff and a 5 star restaurant my family can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catxf800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you again for coming to stay with us over the school vacation week. You hit it right for sure with the snowmobiling - conditions were nearly perfect last week and we hope you enjoyed The Pittsburg Ridge Runners great trail system.

Thanks again for your kind comments and we hope to have your family back again very soon!

Regards,

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've stayed at Tall Timber several times, though not in a couple of years, but will be booking another stay soon. Unless it's changed ownership, I don't expect any less than our previous stays. We live quite far away but make the long trek to the area for it's remoteness and fly fishing. Other than a few nights camping at Lake Francis, we have always stayed at Tall Timber in one of the small rooms in the lodge and it has always been spot on for our style of living and attitude. The rooms are simple and cozy and share a bath with the room next door, but that has never bothered us. The room and bathroom are clean and more than functional, and I think a real bargain for the price. Summertime is quiet on the lake, and we enjoy going out in one of the small rental boats or just sitting by the lake in one of the Adirondack chairs. The water is a little cold for this Southerner, but my Yankee husband will usually take a dip. We usually eat dinner at least once at the restaurant and really enjoy the food and atmosphere. After a day of fishing on the CT River, the bar in the lodge is a great place to hang out to play some darts and have a few beers. If I recall correctly, there is a bar menu and the food is very good. Service at the front desk has always been friendly but low-key, and I enjoy seeing the owner's German short-haired pointer with him in the lodge. We are looking forward to another trip up there this summer and hope things have not changed much.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on your stays with us over the years. We certainly hope that we can have you here with us again soon and while we try not to make any radical changes, we do try to make improvements where we can.

Unfortunately, the dart board in our Tavern is no more, but it has been replaced with a few taps for some excellent draft micro brews, so that may be change for the better. We also now have four german shorthaired pointers to greet our guests that return year to year, though thankfully not all at the same time: Greta (11), Rudy (7), Monty (3) and Bode (7 months) share mascot duties, which they take very seriously.

Once again, thank you for staying with us over the years and we hope you're able to visit our neck of the woods again very soon.

Regards,

Tom Caron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary here in December 2013 and had an amazing time. We stayed in the Aspen cabin which was perfect for just the two of us. We loved having the in-room jacuzzi, gas fireplace, and fully equipped kitchen so we could make our own meals. We received amazing massages from Amber, and we snowshoed the Cohos Trail (north on route 3). Already talking about a return trip, perhaps in the summer so we can experience the Tall Timber Lodge in another season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have been to Tall Timbers 4 times so far, and I'm sure we'll be returning! We go in the Fall, and stay in the beautiful Aspen Cabin. The Cabin itself - I can't say enough good things about it! It is rustic, yet elegant. Everything you could possibly need or want is there. I have thought many times, I could live there in that cabin very easily! Full kitchen, flat screen TV, gas fireplace, jacuzzi, open floor plan surrounded by woods, who could want more? We love it! The Rainbow Grille has the absolute best food I've ever had in a restaurant! Make sure you go for there for dinner at least once (or more) during your stay. You'll be glad you did! It's a great place to go to have a quiet, serene getaway. Enjoy the beautiful scenery on Rt. 3 between Back Lake and Canada. Miles upon miles of wilderness and lakes. We don't see as many Moose as we used to - but if you do spot one, it's quite a humbling experience. All in all, it's a beautiful place. Great place to get away from the hustle and hassle of civilization.

Room Tip: I suggest a cabin over the Lodge for more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoniG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.5 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
20 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: $152 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing