We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to relax, leave the rat race behind, and enjoy the beauty of nature! We were only here for 1 night, but it was delightful. We stayed in a lakeside cabin next to the lodge. It was nice sitting on the porch reading while the ducks strutted by. An afternoon boat ride was very relaxing followed by a scrumptious dinner at the Rainbow Grill. We then enjoyed a wonderful fire in a firepit by our cabin. A great evening at a great resort!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Guest Relations Manager at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Travelhappy527

Thank you for your kind comments. Sometimes, all it takes is a little getaway to relax the soul. I'm glad you found that Tall Timber and our area did that for you. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Thanks again

Corinne Howland
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    34
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
108
156
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were thrilled with the peaceful nature of this lodge. We could hear the cry of loons in the distance as we sat on our Adirondack chairs at the edge of Back Lake. No jet skis or speedboats; just tranquility. The lodge and rooms are clean and updated. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge have air conditioning, which was much appreciated. Even in the northernmost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank risingtide17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Guest Relations Manager at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. You got it right when you said you have tranquility while staying here. Nothing beats hearing a loon's call and watching the ducks on the shoreline. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again in the future.

Corinne Howland
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visit was very relaxing. The location is remote and the trip was a gift. We weren't sure what to expect but enjoyed a relaxing visit. Some of the dogs were a little to big but the owners did seem responsible. We would visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks again for visiting us recently and we're glad that you had a good time relaxing in our area. We do allow pets in most of our cabins, and we will continue this policy as long as our guests responsibly abide by our pet policy. Take it from me (a dog owner x 3) that it's nice to be able to take your best friends along with you sometimes.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Tall Timber Lodge to get away from the world. This is a nice gem in the middle of nature so you don't have to rough it. From the time we arrived to the time we left we had a very positive experience. Staff was very friendly, place was clean and totally unexpected in a good way. Even though we seen pictures,we were very surprised at the accommodations, they beat our expectations. We stayed in Silver Birch 2 which is connected to the lodge. Being right next door to the Taven we were worried about noise but didn't hear a thing.

It was nice waking up walking out the door and having the lake view. They have boats that you can rent, but we were up there to seek out Moose, which we were not disappointed. Along with the 5 moose we seen some deer, turkeys, fox, Porcupines, Osprey, and a chicken. We also seen a Black bear on the way up to the lodge, so the weekend was a smashing success for us. Next year we plan on going up a little earlier to see better run off of the rivers and waterfalls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaPa_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks once again for staying with us recently, and we're glad that our lodge was able to meet your expectations. We're also very happy that our local wildlife cooperated for you to make your getaway special - we hope to have you return to visit us soon!

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was my first stay at Tall Timbers, but my husband and his brothers stayed several winters ago. My husband kept after me to spend a vacation there and I kept putting him off...big mistake. We had a wonderful 5 days in clean, comfortable cabins (we stayed in 2 different ones on our trip), that were right on beautiful and scenic Back Lake. We hiked, fished, canoed, kayaked, and simply relaxed on the beautiful grounds of the lodge. Even though we had a very functional, equipped kitchen in our cabins, we ate our breakfasts and dinners at the Rainbow Grille on the premises of the lodge. We thought we died and went to heaven! Not only was the food excellent, they gave you great proportions for the money. I wish we could have brought the restaurant and its staff back home with us. Everyone at the lodge and restaurant were kind and helpful and ready to please. Even though Tall Timbers is a good distance from our home, what are miles when you can have a "little bit of heaven"? We highly recommend Tall Timbers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks again for coming to stay with us last week and we're glad you had such a good time taking in all of the activities that our area offers. We're also glad that you finally were able to experience Pittsburg with your husband - see, he was right!

We hope to host you again soon here at Tall Timber!

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just returned from our first stay at Tall Timber. This proved to be an excellent spot for the varied ages of our children. The lake was fairly shallow for quite a ways out so we didn't worry about our youngest one who is a fish. We used the kayaks and toured the lake and also rented a fishing boat for a little more live action. For our die-hard fishing family members, there were numerous streams and rivers nearby as well. Tall Timber was a peaceful place that takes you back to a more peaceful pace. Our cabin was very clean and was equipped with a full kitchen so it was nice that everyone could grab their breakfast and lunch whenever they were hungry. At dinner we went to the Rainbow Grille which had fantastic food and service. We will definitely consider Tall Timber again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLDNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Public Relations Manager at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear BLDNH
Thank you choosing Tall Timber for your family vacation. I'm glad the kids found our outdoor activities fun. We appreciate your kind comments. We like to think that at Tall timber you build traditions and make memories. Thanks again

Corinne Howland
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just came back from Tall Timber Lodge, this was our 4th trip and as usual was great. The Lodge is a Hunting/fishing lodge so the rooms are small, nothing fancy but very clean, cabins are nice also. My husband likes to fish and I love looking for moose and we both love the restaurant. The Rainbow Grill is one of the best places we have ever eaten, and we have traveled to many 4 & 5 star resorts and the food here is as good if not better. The staff at the lodge and restaurant are wonderful, very helpful with whatever you need. If you want a low key getaway to relax try Tall Timber Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishtheworld, Owner at Tall Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks again for your kind comments and for choosing us for your summer getaway. We're glad you were able to to do that thing that it seems we all have trouble doing nowadays: relax!

Thanks for visiting us and we hope to be able to host you again soon,

Tom Caron
Tall Timber Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.7 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#3 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Property: Tall Timber Lodge
Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing