We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST IN THE GREAT NORTH WOODS”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We've been going to Tall Timber Lodge several times a year for over ten years. The trout fishing throughout the area could be the best in New England, but Tall Timber is definitely the best place to stay. They have a variety of accommodations and a great restaurant on site. TT has managed to provide all the creature comforts yet still maintain the feel of a north woods lodge. Friendly staff, great food, clean and comfortable accommodations , what more could one want?
Tom from CT

Room Tip: Eat in the tavern and watch the sports on tv.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hockeypuck04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Tall Timber Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 383 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at Tall Timber over Memorial Day weekend with our two children ages 16 & 11. They both loved it & cannot stop talking about it! We had a cabin (Gramps) on the lake & it was very quaint & quiet. The highlight of the weekend were the 7 moose sightings, the reason we came in the first place. There was something for everyone & my husband & I also enjoyed the spa services & the delicious food at the Rainbow Grill. We had both dinner & breakfast there & the prices were reasonable & did I say the food was DELICIOUS?! There is a wonderful laid-back vibe at Tall Timber. No cell service but that was actually a welcome advantage. We already made our reservations for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueh33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Family run, great location, awesome food, they make sure their customers are well taken care. This is a great place for a vacation. Great fishing guides and fishing.
Ask for John.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Tall Timbers and Back Lake are everything we could have hoped for a couple great days of fishing. My dad, brother and I each caught Rainbow and Brook trout in the double digits over just two days. The cabin we stayed in was comfortable and clean. The kitchen and bathroom made it easy to forget we were in a fishing cabin. The staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area and pointed us in the right direction on both the lake and local rivers. Great trip, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Tall Timber is an honest-to-goodness Northwoods lodge. The lodge is located on Back Lake, a prisitine little water that is heavily stocked with trout by NH Fish and Game.
They pride themselves on a relaxed, accomodating atmosphere. Cabins and rooms are meticulosly clean and well maintained. The lodge is heavily sprinkled with Northwoods decor, including fish, moose and bears...Everything is family friendly, but also ideal for a couple looking to get away.

The Rainbow Lodge is a true suprise. Food quaility and presentation are really terrific and beyond expectation. The lodge has a nice wine and beer selection and an excellent bartender. Dinners are a lovely cap to each day. Breakfasts are outstanding.

Fishing, hunting, snowmobiling, biking and moosewatching are all great. Don't go to Pittsburg looking for excitement, but if one is seeking quiet, solitude and reflection then Tall Timbers cannot be bested.

Dogs and children are welcome

Room Tip: call and ask. Most rooms are on the water.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_marc_pipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

All around wonderful time. Too short. Friendly, helpful staff...they even found some much needed coffee for us even though the restaurant was closed!
can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just_2_of_us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed in a beautiful 2 story house right on the lake. It had a total of 4 bedrooms, 3 upstairs and one downstairs. It was a little dusty but the beds were really comfortable and the kitchen/living room were a great space to cook and relax in.

The best thing about Tall Timbers was the location, beautiful views and just a 1 minute walk to the restaurant. Highly recommend making reservations for breakfast and dinner or you will be disappointed. We were snowmobiling so we were also about to ride right out front from the house.

Riding was great

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshiresGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.6 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
19 reviews
18.2 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: $186 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing