We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal Fishing Trip”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Unreal Fishing Trip”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Tall Timbers and Back Lake are everything we could have hoped for a couple great days of fishing. My dad, brother and I each caught Rainbow and Brook trout in the double digits over just two days. The cabin we stayed in was comfortable and clean. The kitchen and bathroom made it easy to forget we were in a fishing cabin. The staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area and pointed us in the right direction on both the lake and local rivers. Great trip, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    34
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
108
156
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Tall Timber is an honest-to-goodness Northwoods lodge. The lodge is located on Back Lake, a prisitine little water that is heavily stocked with trout by NH Fish and Game.
They pride themselves on a relaxed, accomodating atmosphere. Cabins and rooms are meticulosly clean and well maintained. The lodge is heavily sprinkled with Northwoods decor, including fish, moose and bears...Everything is family friendly, but also ideal for a couple looking to get away.

The Rainbow Lodge is a true suprise. Food quaility and presentation are really terrific and beyond expectation. The lodge has a nice wine and beer selection and an excellent bartender. Dinners are a lovely cap to each day. Breakfasts are outstanding.

Fishing, hunting, snowmobiling, biking and moosewatching are all great. Don't go to Pittsburg looking for excitement, but if one is seeking quiet, solitude and reflection then Tall Timbers cannot be bested.

Dogs and children are welcome

Room Tip: call and ask. Most rooms are on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_marc_pipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

All around wonderful time. Too short. Friendly, helpful staff...they even found some much needed coffee for us even though the restaurant was closed!
can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_2_of_us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed in a beautiful 2 story house right on the lake. It had a total of 4 bedrooms, 3 upstairs and one downstairs. It was a little dusty but the beds were really comfortable and the kitchen/living room were a great space to cook and relax in.

The best thing about Tall Timbers was the location, beautiful views and just a 1 minute walk to the restaurant. Highly recommend making reservations for breakfast and dinner or you will be disappointed. We were snowmobiling so we were also about to ride right out front from the house.

Riding was great

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshiresGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We went up there for a snowmobile vacation. We decided to rent one of the houses Tall Timbers has to offer. Right on the lake, easy access to the trails and very nicely appointed. When they say bring your toothbrush, they are not kidding! If you need something and can't find it, you probably really didn't need it.
Dinner over at the Tall Timbers was excellent! We will be returning there again next year about the same time. The trails were fantastic as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripvisorfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

a great lodge in the way north of n.h. we stayed in one of their roadside cabins and ate at their 5star restaurant every night (m,t,w,t,f) and had breakfast twice. we also rented 2011 polaris snowmobiles for 2 days. i must say everything was a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perazzi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

For the past two years, during the annual winter getaway with longtime friends to go snowmobiling, I have stayed at Tall Timbers Lodge . Last year we went in mid-February, this year March 6-8, 2011. Last year we started going Sunday through Tuesday. With most people heading out of town on Sunday, we have had the trails to ourselves Sunday afternoon and all day Monday.

In general, we gave encountered about a foot or more of snow on nicely groomed trails. This year we lucked out as 2+ ft. of snow fell mid-day Sunday through Monday evening.

Depending on the size of our group, we have rented one or multiple cabins at Tall Timbers, which they have had no problems accommodating.

The location on Back Lake is perfect, with easy access across the street to trails leading wherever riders choose to venture, be it Canada, Maine, Vermont, or around the lakes. The Rainbow Grille has excellent choices for food and bar is a nice place to have some drinks after coming off the trails and warming up.

Each year, someone secures the cabins with their credit card, and then each person pays their share individually once getting to the lodge. With a large group that works great so one person isn't on the hook for others who may be slow.

They rent sleds there, however with such a large group we have rented from Trailside Rentals on Rte. 3 and kept the rentals outside the cabin overnight.

When riding, be sure someone in your group wears a backpack with the essentials, including a camera for some great pictures along the way.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frap028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.7 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#3 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
19.3 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Property: Tall Timber Lodge
Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing