We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Heaven~”
Review of Bear Tree Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Tree Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a little piece of Heaven...."Little Fry" is one adorable little log cabin! We did not want to leave after a week...so we asked to stay an extra night - wanting it to last forever. The cabin is adorable, the location right on the beautiful, cold, clear, First Connecticut Lake. We were sitting outside by the fire enjoying our nightly glass of wine. The full moon was a bright white halo that hovered over the darkness of the lake. As if on cue, the loons decided to sing their nightly melodies that echoed over the lake.Such a rare experience to hear a loon. Nothing more perfect than that. Totally relaxing and soothing. If we could have stuffed it all into our car - we would have! Also a must do....have dinner at Murphy's Steak House! Fantastic food as we sat by the fire on a chilly evening and enjoyed conversation with Georgie Lyons the owner. Such a homey feeling there. A friend came to have dinner with us, he's a hunter; and ordered duck saying it was the best he ever had.
Definitely worth staying at Bear Tree and dining at Murphy's! We'll be back for sure!
Bob & Linda Wickens with Harley the dog who was fascinated watching the ducks on the lake.

Room Tip: Perfect log cabin in the woods on a lake,,,,what more can you ask for?
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linwickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtBearTree, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello and Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, your stay at Little Fry cabin and your dining experience at Murphy's Steakhouse! Also we're happy that you enjoyed all that Pittsburg NH has to offer and the loon welcomed you as well!
We look forward to your next visit! Enjoy the your summer! All the best, Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Bear Tree Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I can't say enough about our experience with Bear Tree cabins. We stayed there last weekend and the experience was fantastic! We stayed in Little Fry. It was spacious, clean, well stocked and well maintained. Plus, it sits on the lake and views are spectacular! We had a fire pit, quite necessary for relaxation! We could ask for nothing more, except to go back. And we are in early spring next year. I cannot wait!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aholba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtBearTree, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us! We are very happy that you enjoyed Little Fry Cabin! And we are also happy that you came to our Lobster Feed! Thank you for the photos of the moose as well! Our Facebook fans loved them! We look forward to your next visit...no need to wait until the spring...we're open year round! Thank you once again and the very best to you and Sandra! Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

At Bear Tree Cabins is the Ultimate Outdoor Experience. My husband and I spent a week at Salmon Leap Lodge, it's a Waterfront Home that is so inviting, spacious, private and felt at home the second I walked in. The views from the front porch are gorgeous. Washer/Dryer, Shower, Grill, Cable, Full Kitchen....Needless to say I didn't want to leave. We also dined at Murphy's Steakhouse and it was SUPERB! I ordered the Maple Seared Scallops and they just melted in my mouth! The staff was knowledgeable, personable and raise the bar of dining experience. My husband and I also took advantage of the Licensed NH Fishing Guides Bear Tree offers. We fly fished on the river, remote beaver ponds, drift boated down the Androscoggin River! It was so much fun and the guides had local knowledge of waters, flies and area. My hat goes off the At Bear Cabins for an all around perfect experience. I highly recommend staying in one of their waterfront properties, dining at Murphy's Steakhouse and taking advantage of their Guide Services. It was the most memorable, delightful vacation ever! You will regret going anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtBearTree, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hello and Thank you! We're so happy that you enjoyed your time At Bear Tree and Salmon Leap Lodge! So glad that you had a chance to go out with our fishing guides while you were in Pittsburg, NH. The guides are a new addition to the Bear Tree family and we hope that our guests will take advantage of their expertise and knowledge. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and we look forward to your next visit with us! Thanks again, Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I loved our visit to Hideaway Cabin. View of the lake was phenomenal, the cabin was cute as a button and lots and lots of privacy. Georgie and Chantal feel like my new best friends. Many thanks for making us feel SO welcome!
BTW, the lobster fest was great and so was my delicious birthday dinner at Murphy's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello! We're so glad that you enjoyed your vacation At Bear Tree's Hide Away cabin! The view is fabulous isn't it?! Thank you also for attending our Lobster Feed and for dining at Murphy's Steakhouse...we hope you'll come and see us again next year and we Thank you for taking the time to review us! Happy Autumn! Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family had a group of 13 at the table (Lobsterfest) and 6 that stayed in Tall Tales Lodge. With a full kitchen and lots of room to sprawl out, we could easily cook meals and talk. There was a lot of laughter in the cabin this past weekend, and lots of conversation on the porch in Adirondack chairs. Just what the doctor ordered: so needed, and so enjoyed! Gopher Broke, the bluegrass band that played during Lobsterfest at Murphy's at Bear Tree, was wonderful, and had us all chair dancing as we were eating. We also timed it just right, as Moosefest was this weekend as well! Swimming in the first CT lake on Sunday with the warm weather was perfect. We had such a wonderful time that we are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nance_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Another fabulous vacation at Bear Tree thanks to our kind hosts, John and Georgie! We started at Salmon Leap where the new addition Great Room came out fabulous ... A large room with a fireplace, leather couches and TV gave us plenty of space to hang and chill after long sunny days playing on the lake!

We were thrilled to have an opportunity to visit Metallak Lodge ... A spectacular home with an amazing view right on First Connecticut Lake ... The expansive lawn gave the kids a place to play wiffle ball while the adults could sit and enjoy the view and the lake ... We spent the day playing in the yard and lazily floating along the lake ... A beautiful place to stay!

Lastly we ended our trip at The Wilderness ... A clean and cozy cabin tucked along the woods .... Another great yard area for the kids to play and parents to sit and chat!

And can't forget to mention our delicious dinner at Murphy's on the outdoor patio overlooking the mountains .... The trout appetizer and callamari were among our favorites ... There were so many great options on the main course menu ... Our group had both fish dishes and filet mignon which were well-prepared and delicious ... And the kids ate well too! And cannot say enough about our attentive wait staff -- thank you Margaret and Paula!

Thanks again John and Georgie for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Hello and Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy that you got to enjoy so many of Bear Tree's options while you were here! We appreciate you comments and I'll be sure to pass them along to Georgie and John as well as all of the staff At Bear Tree! Enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope you'll come and see us again soon! Best wishes, Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a great stay at The Bear Tree Inn en route to the recent auction at The Balsams. Georgie and her husband have done a great job at restoring this 150+ year old Inn into a fantastic 5 room B&B with a terrific restaurant. The setting is very quaint and the food rivals what you would find in "the big city" as far as quality is concerned. Menu variety and quality were both first rate!

I look forward to bringing the family back in the future to enjoy the lake and surrounding trails.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and for your recent stay with us! It was great to meet you and we hope you will return with your family, we're sure you'd enjoy Pittsburg's lakes and hiking trails...both are abundant! Thank you once again and best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
18.2 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
4.7 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
383 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
19 reviews
18.9 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Tree Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Tree Cabins

Address: 118 Glen Rd, Pittsburg, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: $75 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have it for you AT BEAR TREE. We are located in beautiful Pittsburg, NH on the shore of 1st Connecticut Lake with access to some of the best fishing, hunting, snowmobiling and boating. The Glen at Bear Tree is now part of our family and combined we have 11 Lakeside cabins as well as guestrooms in The Glen lodge, The Inn and Woodland cabins that can accommodate over 100 guests. While you're staying with us, we hope you'll dine at Murphy's Steakhouse, located at The Inn. Enjoy fine dining in a comfortable setting. The Inn was once John's Lodge, a popular fishing lodge and a favorite spot for many years. You are sure to enjoy the rustic ambiance, wonderful service and of course...The food! And let's not forget our Weddings at Bear Tree! We love our weddings! Whether your group is small or large, we have various locations and options sure to suit your needs. On-site catering, all inclusive packages and a hands on event planner, make having a wedding AT BEAR TREE all you can imagine and more than you ever dreamed of. We strive to deliver a wonderful experience and lasting memories, we hope you'll come and see us, we'd love to serve you! Your hosts, John & Georgie Lyons ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Tree Cabins Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing