We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a romantic or family getaway!”
Review of Bear Tree Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Tree Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a getaway back in February. It was clean, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Loved it so much, we rented a cabin with friends and went back up for school vacation with the kids! We had stayed in Pittsburg before, and were pleasantly surprised by our accommodations here! The cabins were so clean and well stocked for a long visit! And the access to the trails was great! Wi-fi would definitely be a plus here instead of driving down to the Inn for access, but we will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Most cabins appear to have twin beds that you'd have to push together for a couple. Beds are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GetawayWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visits with us this past season! And we are happy that you'll be coming back to see us! Stop in this summer...we have some great events happening at The Hill Top Pavilion! We'll keep you posted. Thank you once again and enjoy the rest of the winter! Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

everything you would want for a snowmobile weekend. great cabin for a family, freinds or couples. cozy,with a gas fireplace.the owners were so welcoming,dinner at the inn was outstanding. everyone was so friendly. thanks to all staff at Bear Tree.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Hello! And Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so glad that you had a great time snowmobiling...we are luck, we have snow and the trails are great! We are also glad that you enjoyed Salmon Leap Lodge and Murphy's Steakhouse! We hope to see you again soon...you still have time to get some great riding in! Thank you once again, Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our 14th year for girls weekend away in Pittsburg and this lodge is the best!! Our views of First Conn Lake and the Mts...wow is all I can say!! We have already booked for next year!! Highly recommend this beautiful place for a big bunch of people! Could not have asked for better service! Loved it!! -- Wanda and the girls!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I have been vacationing in Pittsburg for years. We have had the opportunity to experience most of the lodging options in the area and The Bear Tree is by far the best for so many reasons. Our first stay with The Bear Tree was all about location. What we quickly discovered was the location was just a small piece of the overall experience. Beyond the cozy clean cabins and the food at Murphy’s is the hospitality. I can’t say enough about the entire staff at the Bear Tree. They have gone above and beyond to personalize our experiences and have created a warm and friendly environment that we look forward to. They know our boys by name and always take the time to find out how they are doing which means a lot to us to know that we are not just another vacationer. To the entire staff at the Bear Tree: Thank you for the great memories and warm hospitality you have shown us. We will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words! We love having you stay with us and seeing the kids grow up is an added bonus! We look forward to your visits throughout the year and to being part of your families vacation memories.
Thank you once again and see you soon!
Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Margie and I stayed at Bear Tree's "Little Fry" on First Connecticut Lake for the first time Sept 23-28, 2011. We expected temperatures in the 40s and 50s with perhaps a frosty night or two. We had some rain and mist on Fri & Sat, but by noon Sunday, the sky cleared and the next few days were weather-perfect: clear skies, dry air, temps in the upper 60s and lower 70s. We expected to stay in and read, and we did, but we also drove 14 miles down the Magalloway Rd. We stopped to see the Garfield Falls (worth the trip), and we jumped a small cow moose that was grazing in a wetlands area along the road. She didn't stay long enough for pictures. We also saw a male pheasant run across the road. At the Second Connecticut Lake, we heard and then saw a flock of canada geese and a loon. Did I forget to mention that the fall colors were awesome? They were just about at peak. At the camp, we saw ducks and loons every day. The camp had everything we needed and it was very clean and well maintained. To top the whole experience off, we sat in adirondack chairs on the shore of the lake in front of the cabin, listened to the water lap the rocks on the shore, and looked up into the clearest sky we've seen since we were children in northern Maine and Alaska. It was the perfect fall weekend. Oh, and no cell phone service. Great!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardFalardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Pittsburg, NH and at Bear Tree's Little Fry cabin. It's wonderful that you got to enjoy some wonderful weather and wildlife...hearing the loons in the morning is the best isn't it!?! We hope you'll come and see us again soon...winter time in Pittsburg is stunning! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and best to you both!
Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I fell in love with Bear Tree! We had our first stay in July of 2011 and plan to come back again and again. We fell in love with everything - the view of the lake from our front porch, the coziness of our cabin, the ducks and wildlife that came to greet us as we stepped out in the morning to name just a few of the highlights.

We have stayed many places over the years, and other places in Pittsburgh, NH, but plan to make this our home away from home for years to come. I simply cannot say enough good things about the Bear Tree cabins and the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Ask about the many cabins Bear Tree has available. Some are smaller than others but they all seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott92257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

We are thrilled the Bear Tree will be your home away from home! Little Fry seems to have that effect on people! We hope to see you again soon...maybe over the winter, do a little snowshoeing, snowmobiling?! Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate it! Best to you both, and Happy Autumn! Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have been going to bear tree cabins well over 10 years now and we love it there and never want to come home little fry on the lake and angler's rest are my favorites waking up to the loons on the lake is awesome and the food at murphy's steak house is good food and good hospitality.All 4 seasons are great in pittsburg,NH go and enjoy and you'll feel the same way.

Room Tip: LiitleFry and Angler's are my favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Hello! And Thank you for your kind comments! We've enjoyed having you stay with us over the years, like old friends coming to visit! We look forward to your stay's with us this coming winter and we can't wait for you to see all the changes that we've made at Murphy's Steakhouse! Thank you once again, Chantal Carney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Tree Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Tree Cabins

Address: 118 Glen Rd, Pittsburg, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: $75 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have it for you AT BEAR TREE. We are located in beautiful Pittsburg, NH on the shore of 1st Connecticut Lake with access to some of the best fishing, hunting, snowmobiling and boating. The Glen at Bear Tree is now part of our family and combined we have 11 Lakeside cabins as well as guestrooms in The Glen lodge, The Inn and Woodland cabins that can accommodate over 100 guests. While you're staying with us, we hope you'll dine at Murphy's Steakhouse, located at The Inn. Enjoy fine dining in a comfortable setting. The Inn was once John's Lodge, a popular fishing lodge and a favorite spot for many years. You are sure to enjoy the rustic ambiance, wonderful service and of course...The food! And let's not forget our Weddings at Bear Tree! We love our weddings! Whether your group is small or large, we have various locations and options sure to suit your needs. On-site catering, all inclusive packages and a hands on event planner, make having a wedding AT BEAR TREE all you can imagine and more than you ever dreamed of. We strive to deliver a wonderful experience and lasting memories, we hope you'll come and see us, we'd love to serve you! Your hosts, John & Georgie Lyons ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Tree Cabins Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing