We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bantam Grill

Bantam Grill
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marlborough NH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from our first visit, having really enjoyed an early, light supper. Definitely will return with friends. Although others commented on the loud music, we did not find it intrusive. Food is creative, fresh and well-presented. Our server, Alii, was knowledgable and charming. We love the food at Pearl, but dining here is a calmer, less frenetic experience and the food is equally good. We're eager to go back and try other dishes.

Helpful?
3 Thank phey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Welcomed New Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I went to the Bantam Grill last night and had a very good experience. The Blue Hubbard Bisque was delicious, and the Duck Jam interesting and good. I ordered the shrimp and grits (creamy and scrumptious) and my husband got the cod. He was a bit disappointed in his main dish as it was more like a soup (although the menu does state it is in a "wine broth") and small for his larger appetite. The tiramisu - mouth watering. The staff helpful and enthusiastic. A small suggestion; we wish there had been no music at all (the venue is open and a bit noisy when crowded) or a different type of music besides funk.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linniest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“really enjoyed this new restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very welcome addition to the Peterborough dining scene. I was here last Friday night around 8:45 and there were only a few available tables. The menu is small but includes pasta (which I believe is homemade), seafood and meats. I had pork with cannellini beans and fennel and my husband had shrimp with grits/polenta. We both thought our dishes were well prepared and delicious. Nice but small selection of beer and wine and they have a full bar.

The place was a little open and noisy, but you get accustomed to it quickly -- may not be the most romantic/special occasion restaurant, but that's not what it's meant to be. The decor was pleasing and interesting and the service was friendly and accomodating -- try it! We will return soon and bring our friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DottieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Bantam Grill opened on Friday 10/19/12. A new venture by the chef who owns" The Pearl" just a couple of doors away. We checked it out on Saturday night. Even ay 6:00 the place was hopping. It seats about 80 and has a bar. The food is described as "Mediterranean bistro". The beer list is small but comprehensive. They promise a wider selection in the future, I chose a cider (on draft) from Maine. We shared an appetizer order of arancini, fried balls of risotto and mozzarella served with a red pepper based sauce and a basil pesto. The 6 golf ball sized arancini were, on their own bland, but the texture was interesting. The crispy fried outer coating contrasted well with the satiny risotto interior. Livened by the sauces, however, they were delicious.
We followed the appetizer with the shrimp and grits. A generous serving of grilled marinated shrimp served over a creamy cheesy polenta with a chilli beure blanc and wilted greens. The shrimp were gently spiced, not overcooked and rubbery as they so often can be, The polenta was rich and creamy, to die for!
Service was efficient and friendly, though it was clear that our waitress was still getting used to the menu. Our bill came to $55:00 before the tip, which seemed reasonable, considering the quality of the food.
On the whole the Bantam Grill is an excellent addition to the selection of places to dine in Our Town. I hope they can maintain the quality, something that the owner/chef has manged well at his other venue The Pearl.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bryguy350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantam Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bantam Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing