We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of The Waterhouse

The Waterhouse
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Not what I had hoped. I called for a brunch reservation and to assure a table by the windows for a special occasion. No table was reserved and we were seated at an uncomfortable booth in a noisy room with loud music. Impossible for a conversation. I order a dish and asked that the crab be replaced with veggies. Then was served the dish with the crab. Had to ask for a replacement which took forever. Still charged full price. English muffins and 'Canadian Bacon' on my partners dish were tougher than leather. Tasteless Hollandaise. Weak tea and awful coffee (tasted burnt). Listless service at best and a restaurant manager who seemed present but not aware. This is my second experience that was less than worth the price. Won't be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantasic experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is certainly a restaurant for fine dining experience. The waitstaff was exceptional and the food topped off the dining experience

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, wonderful space, okay service”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I live in Peterborough and The Waterhouse had been on my list for a while. For one reason or another, it took me more than a year after they opened to try it.

Aesthetically, the restaurant is wonderful. Situated right on the Nubanusit tucked in Depot Square in downtown Peterborough, it's a wonderful location. The bar and dining room are quiet intimate spaces, with simple wooden floors and the art is mostly local landscape photography. There is also outdoor seating on the patio, which overlooks the river.

I had the wild boar bolognese, which was very good. The other things tried by the small group I was with included their mushroom flatbread pizza and the steak frite, and everyone enjoyed their meal. We split a bottle of a South American merlot. For dessert, it was three scoops of different sorbet: Peach, Strawberry-Basil, and Mocha.

We went on a thursday evening, which happened to be a rather slow night for them. This is where our experience with the Waterhouse faltered a bit. The dining room was less than half full, but everything came very slowly. It was almost like the slow business that evening was a cue to the staff that they didn't have to be on their toes.

At one point, the host came over just to get our drinks poured, which really isn't the host's job. She was obviously a little peeved about that, but she never really addressed it with us or made it a priority to get the waitstaff more responsive.

Everyone was polite, and it wasn't as if this ruined our evening. Just a mark against what was otherwise a great meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TyStrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin Village, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“dinner at a nice location.... but service???”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location is good and outdoor diners enjoy a pleasant river view. Service was not up to par. Had to wait 45 min for appetizer. Food was so so. Not what we expected.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, location, location (and also tasty)”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A friend made us dinner reservations for anniversary, and we were famous with the staff from the moment we walked in. Everyone made sure to wish us a happy anniversary, which was very sweet. The service was very attentive, but not intrusive, and the menu had a lot of interesting dishes (we tried the wild boar and the fresh pea risotto, which were both very tasty). We had a table right next to a full-length window overlooking the river, which was a really pretty view and made it feel like more of an "occasion" than the usual dinner out. I also had a really tasty basil-lime gimlet off their fun-looking cocktail list.

A couple constructive nitpicks: the windows are really gorgeous, but the fact that the outside was covered in cobwebs was kind of unappetizing (I heard the folks at the table next to us noticing it as well). Also, we asked to leave the gorgonzola off a salad, and the waitress suggested mozzarella in its place - it was definitely melting-quality cheese, not the fresh stuff, which wasn't really worthy of the otherwise very tasty salad.

But I don't want to end on a down note. The layout of the place was lovely, the service was very good (sincerely cheerful, which is refreshing to a Bostonian), and the menu gave me the pleasure of trying something I'd never had before. We wished we'd had time to stick around and try dessert!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katiegumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing