We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - spotty service"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterhouse

The Waterhouse
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food - spotty service"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Imaginative and creative food in a lovely atmosphere. NYC/Boston quality in NH and at NH prices. Was there on a weeknight, however, and there were not enough wait staff for the number of patrons. So service was slow and disorganized. More attention to service and this would be a 5 star

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    40
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Wondeful riverside location. Friendly staff. Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I can't compare to nearby restaurants, however I was very pleased with my experience there. It's winter so the outside patio is closed, but I imagine it must be wonderful in summer and spring, the river runs litterally 3 feet from it! It's a gorgeous setting. The restaurant on the inside is nice too, modern decor but well done and in the main dining room there is a large, large bay window also overlooking (again ON) the river...

Service was nice. We were a party of 12 so hard to judge how it is for individuals.

The food was good. The Game Hen was delicious and the cheeze platter was generous for one or 2 person (it came without bread and when I asked for bread I got some kind of toasted crackers, later they brought the bread which was good with salads!!). The fried calamari were not up to par and the sauce was not great. The chocolate cake seemed the industrial kind to me, it was tasty but nothing you can't get at Trader Joe's.

Overall I will surely go again after a nice hike there in the spring/summer and if you can sit on the patio that would be perfect.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was a memorable Valentine's Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The food and drinks were fabulous, the service was excellent. No problem there. What didn't work for me was the ambiance. I guess, because it's called the Waterhouse, the walls are a pale blue and the only decor are a few black and white photographs of water. Maybe it's just me, but I like to feel warm and a little sexy when I go out to eat with my husband and pale blue just doesn't produce the desired effect. Would I go back? Yeah, I'd go back with another couple, or a girlfriend, but not my husband on Valentine's Day.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RainbowPagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good food, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a great dinner with friends here. There was a variety of menu choices, even wild boar bolognese! The had an "old school" Julia Chid's beef bourguignon that night which was delicious.Our waiter was very friendly and fun.
Even though it was dark when we were there we could see the river rushing right by so I can imagine the daytime view would be lovely.
A great place to eat in Peterborough!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank swimmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unique, well prepared and flavorful dining in a riverside setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

In Peterborough, NH, the Waterhouse Restaurant is located in Acqua Bistro's former location. While we were sad to have Acqua Bistro close, we were both pleased with the menu and atmosphere of Waterhouse Restaurant. We noticed a few simple decor changes and our favorite part continues to be a window table overlooking the river. Service is still impeccable and while some entrees are pricey, the presentation and combination of flavors in the food is very good. The appetizers and desserts are equally delicious! To offset a comment about noisy acoustics made in another review, we prefer to at dine at 5:00, as soon as they open. Not only are you most likely to have seating then with a river view, but it is quieter as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing