We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Lobster Roll”
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in North Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning lobster rolls & 78 ice creams and frozen yogurts bring customers here from miles away! We also offer foot long hot dogs with your favorite toppings, overstuffed jumbo rolls & wraps, delicious salads, our famous award winning chunky lobster bisque and lobster seafood chowder. Clam chowder, fish chowder and other chowders and soups also compliment our lobster rolls and other entrees. Dine outside at shaded picnic tables across from the beach or order take-out to eat on the seawall or sandy beach. Our lobster rolls feature 3 sizes: 6oz, 8oz or a bulging overstuffed 10oz roll. Or try foot long lobster rolls weighing in at 12oz, 16oz or a whopping 20oz. Our lobster rolls have been honored as New England's best by NECN, Best in NH 8 years, Best of Taste 6 years and Best of The Hampton Beach Seafood Festival 8 times! Looking for great fried seafood? Travel just 10 minutes to our Portsmouth location at 2800 Lafayette Rd for award winning fried clams & other fried seafoods!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Lobster Roll”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beach Plum can do the lobster roll RIGHT! light mayo, light butter, EXTRA lobster!!! Absolute must stop in New Hampshire

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    69
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best spot on the coast for ice cream!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I love to grab an ice cream and head across the street to sit on the sea wall and enjoy the ocean view. The kiddie size is a generous portion. The small is almost too much! This time I took my girlfriends and they loved it, too!

They recently upgraded the bathhouse at the state park so the facilities are MUCH nicer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5LunchingLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scrumptious stuffed scallops!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

On our way out of Hampton before heading back home to Massachusetts, my boyfriend and I made it a point to stop by The Beach Plum for a lobster roll! This was one of our best decisions of the trip. We ordered the footlong 16 ounce lobster roll and a stuffed scallop. YUM! The stuffed scallop was plenty flavorful and the lobster roll was oozing with lobster goodness. I could probably have used a bit more mayo, but all in all it was scrumptious. The only downfall is the lack of parking space and no bathroom. However, the bathroom for the North Hampton State Park Beach is directly across the street and is a 15-second walk - so not awful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is right across the street from the North Hampton State Park Beach. The food is always great. The lobster roll is huge which makes the price of it, which is somewhat expensive, worth it. The lobster salad has just the right amount of mayonnaise and spices. The onion rings are the best around. The only bad thing I can say about it is that it is always crowded and parking is difficult. However the extra effort is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank magagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll I Have Had To Date”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

For the past several years, I have been on a mission to find the best lobster roll. The Beach Plum in North Hampton ( not the Portsmouth BP) may have it. Fresh, sweet, great mayo and good size portions may have done it. We topped off the meal with an amazing coffee Oreo ice cream cone (70-something favors?)
The food and fun ambiance make this stop with the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AttyAJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing