We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Festival Weekend Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shel-Al

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shel-Al
Greenfield Center, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Seafood Festival Weekend Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here with our 32 ft RV. Site was nice and rates were great. All the staff that I ran into were very nice and helpful. This was our second visit there and would recommend this campground. Area was nicely kept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've been going there for the past 5 years. Bathrooms are very clean (0.25 $ for 6 minutes). Peak time (4ish) You might have no more hot water. Site is nice. 12 minutes from the beach. If you forgot something back home, no prob since home depot is around the corner. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil3440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed this past July, we rented the 5th wheel and fit 5 of us confortably. The grounds are neat and groomed. Great grassy areas for tents, large playground. Plenty of trailers and tenters, but it never felt crowded. Staff very accomodating and full of info or just conversation. This will sound crazy, but the best ice I have ever gotten. Location is great for Maine and Mass daytrips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cacdmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Clean, beautifully landscaped and a great location. We stayed 3 nights and went to Kittery, Portsmouth, Ogunquit, and Jennes Beach. The sites all seem to be grassy with trees for some shade. The office doubles as a store with some basic camping supplies. My only suggestion for them would be to open the office a little earlier. I need coffee before 8:30am. I will definitely will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very nice & clean campground. It only had a few open RV sites. All in all the campground was very nice. Quiet too. No activities for the kids, but had a good size playground. Good location for going out to the beach or a wine tour. great for adults in RV's or tent campers. the staff were very nice too. they did not have a well stocked store. Firewood was delivered to your site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Shel-Al for 8 nights from July 20-28th. I have to say I could not have picked a better place to camp. Our site was great had plenty of room, we had a tent electric site. We set up 2 tents for sleeping and one screen tent around our picnic table. There were 6 of us and we really had a great spot. We requested site 97 due to having 4 teenagers with us and we were right across from the single bathroom. At times there was a line, but the bathrooms were clean and always had toilet paper and soap to wash your hands. The WiFi does not reach the tent site, but again we were camping. They have a nice game room with a few games, pool and ping pong. They also had books to read and comfortable chairs for relaxing. There are two shower houses the one in the back has 3 showers and the one in the front has 2 showers and they both have toilets several in each again very clean! They sell bags of ice in the office for $2 block or cubes. They have complementary coffee in the office in the am we did not try it, but it smelled good! Everyone is friendly and kind. In the morning they drive around and pick up garbage and recycling (bags provided), a little later in the after noon they drive around delivering wood to sites it is $5 for 10 DRY pieces, at night there is someone always driving around the property checking on things (Security) although we never spoke to him I did hear him telling people to quiet down and to put out fires. Quiet time 10PM and Fires out at Midnight. I also have to say there is a police presence in the camp ground I really liked the fact that every night at least one time the police would drive through and one night they stopped and talked to some of the campers that I am assuming we blocking the road with vehicles. You are allowed one car at your site and one that will get a pass for the parking lot. They also have a playground and horseshoe pits at the back of the campground and a small basketball court int he front of the campground. It is a great price and really relaxing. We will be back with out a doubt. You can tell Shel-Al is family owned and they care, Keep up the great job.

Room Tip: Checking the map to choose my site was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, VT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked 3 days at Shel-Al Campround for our Rye Beach 4th of July camping trip. We were tenting it and booked a non-service site. The folks on the phone and on-site were great. The campground was quiet, clean, and neat. There were activities - horse shoes, a playground, rec center, camp store, wood (with delivery), and ice. The sites were decently spaced; but there were no clear delineations between sites and some folks spread out onto other's sites. We requested to move over 1 site and were immediately accomadated. Parking was difficult - along the roads on the grass which was wet from recent rains and muddy. Gravel pads on the sites would be an improvement. We were in the east end of the campground and only had 1 toilet and no showers or wash facilities for over 30 sites while the Service Site area had 2 bathouses with 2-3 stalls and 2-3 showers each for a similar number of sites

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hampton
2.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.5 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
1.1 mi away
Pine Haven Motel
Pine Haven Motel
#1 of 2 in North Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shel-Al? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shel-Al

Property: Shel-Al
Address: 115 Lafayette Road, US Route 1, North Hampton, NH 03862
Location: United States > New Hampshire > North Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Hampton
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Shel-Al Hotel North Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing